Help with subwoofer box? Thx

Abraham2nd

Help with subwoofer box? Thx

Postby Abraham2nd » June 7th, 2016, 7:11 pm

Hi guys i wanted to build a good box that can play really low bass that you can Feel and not hear. the kind that makes your heart cramp lol.
Anyways i have this box in the pic, could you guys tell me what frequency is this build? and whats the volume? im getting 2.092 cu ft and about 36ish as the hertz???
NB: the port length is from extension to port opening added.

i want to build something a little more deeper like maybe 30htz? or your opinion idk.
And this is how i wanna build it:\
Image not the measurements of course. lol but smaller :D

Re: Help with subwoofer box? Thx

Postby nervewrecker » June 7th, 2016, 8:33 pm

t line?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 7th, 2016, 9:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:t line?

yea transmission line ported

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 8th, 2016, 10:56 am

for what sub ? ...

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 8th, 2016, 12:47 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:for what sub ? ...

oh sheit sorry
sub spec;
vas;0.58
qms;6.21
qts; 0.626
qes; 0.696
bl; 20.32
fs; 37hz
splo; 83
1500w 900rms watt 10"

rec port area: 12cu in ft......1.5^3 rec enclosure

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 8th, 2016, 3:24 pm

T-lines are too big unless u have alot of trunk space , try a simple ported box 1st

u will have to work out d specs urself but my 2 cents : from what u saying try a tuning under 30 in d high 20s

make ur cuts accurate & assemble d box without using any wood glue & give it a test in ur ride , that way it will be easy to readjust port & cuft

u wud want d port firing against a solid surface so that it loads & gives a nice roll off ....

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 8th, 2016, 4:16 pm

Dont bother with that t-line monstrosity. A nice ported box tuned low should work out well. Try using aeroports, the roll-off is much more pleasing than the regular "slot" type port.
What sub is that you are using?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 8th, 2016, 7:12 pm

Its everest seaker .
But hey guys I don't know what measurements to use? If I'm using ported I want the wood to be close the back end of the magnet but not too close. So it wouldn't flopp

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 8th, 2016, 7:15 pm

This is what I got in some online thing when I'm plugging my speaker info but It ent give me h w and depth lol
Screenshot_2016-06-05-17-27-01.png

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2016, 10:23 pm

Sealed t-line iymc if you cant do a ported.

Re: RE: Re: Help with subwoofer box? Thx

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2016, 10:50 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:This is what I got in some online thing when I'm plugging my speaker info but It ent give me h w and depth lol

A 4" port sounds a bit too small for 2.5ft3
You will need two of those if anything.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 9th, 2016, 6:47 am

Everyone's mis understanding my original post.
I don't kno squat about tuning so I can't use any measurements.. Ukno?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 9th, 2016, 11:37 am

Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on June 13th, 2016, 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 9th, 2016, 11:39 am

try some 4" pvc pipe ports & experiment ...

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 10th, 2016, 10:35 pm

any1?

TK!

Postby TK! » June 11th, 2016, 1:26 am

I'd go sealed for lows. and plenty plenty power. discuss?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 11th, 2016, 8:26 am

Can anyone calculate the box for me? Just to double check my calculations? Its in my first post. And secondly can you guys tell me how to get the height width and depth from JUST the volume of the subwoofer specs I posted in the last pic?

Postby nervewrecker » June 11th, 2016, 10:46 am

TK! wrote:I'd go sealed for lows. and plenty plenty power. discuss?

Ported can do lows. Coupled with the right subsonic filter and box design, its more efficient than sealed.

Dont get me wrong, sealed is the simplest box design and smallest that can sound great but when it comes to vs ported, there are a lot of factors t consider when choosing the design.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 11th, 2016, 11:29 am

OP u have to help ur self , did u even open d 2 links i posted ?

use it & some basic maths to figure out ur box dimensions , dont forget to account for sub\port displacements & thickness of materials especially if ur using mdf

as for sealed : depends on what i am feeling for but i have used alot in my own systems , does get low depending on sub & airspace u give it , yep it does takes more power to get loud ...

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » June 12th, 2016, 9:42 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:OP u have to help ur self , did u even open d 2 links i posted ?

use it & some basic maths to figure out ur box dimensions , dont forget to account for sub\port displacements & thickness of materials especially if ur using mdf

as for sealed : depends on what i am feeling for but i have used alot in my own systems , does get low depending on sub & airspace u give it , yep it does takes more power to get loud ...

Yeah I checked it out but one page not opening and I don't really understand it too much. I already calculated my current box BUT I wanted someone to double check it for me just in case I'm wrong . and there's another question I need answer on is how can I get a width height and depth from just the volume???

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 12th, 2016, 7:16 pm

Postby rollingstock » June 16th, 2016, 4:58 pm

Those ts parameters for that sub aren't ideal for a t line. Go ported, fire up winisd and play around

radIS300

Postby radIS300 » June 29th, 2016, 5:00 pm

your box program calculated a volume of about 2.5cu. ft. you can play with the overall dimensions to get the desired shape/footprint you want as long as its close to 2.5cu. ft. internal volume, you must subtract the volume of the port also

A 4" round port would be fine anything bigger would need a longer port thus increasing the overall size of the box.

Ported is better for you since you want to go low and maintain some efficiency since you only using one driver, I wouldn't bother tuning below 30hz for music in a car, you should also consider cabin gain, IMO

Postby 3stagevtec » July 7th, 2016, 4:11 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:
- Rovin's car audio - wrote:OP u have to help ur self , did u even open d 2 links i posted ?

Yeah I checked it out but one page not opening and I don't really understand it too much. I already calculated my current box BUT I wanted someone to double check it for me just in case I'm wrong . and there's another question I need answer on is how can I get a width height and depth from just the volume???

You estimate the dimensions of the enclosure, choose a L, H, D most suitable to your trunk space, then work out the volume. If too small or too large, adjust one dimension accordingly and recalculate.

A box tuning program will give you volume and port size. Work out the volume of the port itself and make sure you minus that to the net box volume you obtain. Keep playing with the dimensions until you get it right.

T/S specs does not always give a very realistic idea on how a subwoofer will perform. Don't get carried away too much with them. Sometimes experimentation will yield better results. Use PVC for your ports, so that way you can easily adjust them (length wise) if you are not satisfied.

Efficiency Bandwidth Product (EBP)
http://redspade-audio.blogspot.com/2011/03/efficiency-bandwidth-product-ebp.html

(Your sub EBP is 53).

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 7th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Sealed is better option imo..consider port turbulence, the low frequency ur looking for, and less risk of overpowering. From experience, real low frequency and ported can cause a disaster especially for the inexperienced.