WTK: ALTERNATOR OR BATTERY

slickrick777

WTK: ALTERNATOR OR BATTERY

Postby slickrick777 » October 16th, 2013, 8:25 am

well i'm in the process of putting together a system...these are the amplifiers being used in the system..

1. Zed Audio Leviathan 3
2. RF T600.4
3. Taramps TA1600.1
4. DB Drive A7 2500.1

...i have a volt meter hooked up, voltage dropping down to 12.2 on volume 15...also at volume 10 bass sounding hard and stiff & at 15 bass gets lighter...have 2 xs power d3100's installed in the vehicle currently, one in the engine bay and one in the back...have a stock 130amp alternator...what would be the best bet to get this system playing properly..battery or alternator?

Re: WTK: ALTERNATOR OR BATTERY

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2013, 10:55 am

Alternator

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » October 16th, 2013, 12:46 pm

size, brand?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Budget?

Postby SR » October 18th, 2013, 5:36 am

slickrick777 wrote:well i'm in the process of putting together a system...these are the amplifiers being used in the system..

1. Zed Audio Leviathan 3
2. RF T600.4
3. Taramps TA1600.1
4. DB Drive A7 2500.1

...i have a volt meter hooked up, voltage dropping down to 12.2 on volume 15...also at volume 10 bass sounding hard and stiff & at 15 bass gets lighter...have 2 xs power d3100's installed in the vehicle currently, one in the engine bay and one in the back...have a stock 130amp alternator...what would be the best bet to get this system playing properly..battery or alternator?

change your tuner he/she does not know what they are doing

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2013, 7:04 am

oh sheit lol

DjScreech

Postby DjScreech » October 18th, 2013, 8:00 am

The lesser bass could be caused by a clipped signal being sent from the deck (at volume 15 I dont think so though)

Check your amp gains, if they are more than half, thats your problem right there
-Change your tuner

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » October 22nd, 2013, 8:32 pm

A good rule of thumb is to use the largest alternator you can fit on the engine and an additional battery for every 500 rms watts of amplification.

CleanAudio

Postby CleanAudio » October 23rd, 2013, 10:16 pm

What are the Fuse Ratings on the amps?

musikboyzz

Postby musikboyzz » October 24th, 2013, 1:06 pm

A 270 Amp Mechman and u inna order