Aftermarket alternators...

musikboyzz

Aftermarket alternators...

Postby musikboyzz » April 21st, 2013, 5:33 pm

Why with these aftermarket alternators when the car is idling at 800rpm(normal idle) the voltage reading: drop to normal battery voltage rate.. is this normal or i need to get the car checked? I am not calling no name of the installer to bash anyone.. Batter voltage +12.5-12.8
Last edited by musikboyzz on April 21st, 2013, 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jblCROWN

Re: Aftermarket alternators...

Postby jblCROWN » April 21st, 2013, 6:51 pm

when u say normal how much u reading

Postby nervewrecker » April 21st, 2013, 7:12 pm

Idle voltage is usually approx 14.4 - 14.6 cold and approx 13.9 hot.

What you getting with yours? If lower maybe you need a smaller pulley.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » April 21st, 2013, 7:32 pm

different alternators are made differently,
rotors are designed differently so the minimum rpm for power output varies

if you are running a ho alt with the stock factory wheel from the stock alt this would make the minimum rpm for power output higher for your application. check and see the alternator wheel diameter.

if you are running a mechman alternator please pm me to rectify the situation.
if its a smaller pulley you need i have original mechman ones

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 21st, 2013, 8:37 pm

most aftermarket alts are designed to run at 1200-1500rpm in order to charge...

correct me if i am wrong

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2013, 8:55 pm

some of them claim 800-1000rpm but it cud be a marketing scheme ...

Postby black start » April 22nd, 2013, 12:10 am

engine rpm is not alt rpm eh...

musikboyzz

Postby musikboyzz » April 22nd, 2013, 8:50 pm

nice views ppl

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 23rd, 2013, 11:07 am

black start wrote:engine rpm is not alt rpm eh...

excellent point

when a alt company say Xamps at Xrpm alot of ppl think they mean d engine rpm but its d alt rpm d company is talking about ....

Postby SR » April 24th, 2013, 7:54 pm

its all about pulley diameter however most high amperage alternators cannot run at normal engine rpms in a daily driver they tend to as we say "bun dong"

many people just drop in high amperage alternators and then wonder why they not getting full current at say 1500 engine rpm

mismatched pully size for the alternator

and then some alts are running at a much higher rmp than that engine rpm of 4000 due to wrong pulley size

many people selling high amp alternators don't understand how to match them to the application

its not just about "boss yuh need ah 400 amp alt with them amps and batteries"

and many complaining about alt brand x is crap cuz I had one and it bun dong....when nothing was wrong with the alt but the application

Postby black start » April 24th, 2013, 8:12 pm

SR wrote:and many complaining about alt brand x is crap cuz I had one and it bun dong....when nothing was wrong with the alt but the application

why blame the application, blame the installer. the alt ain't install itself...

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2013, 9:46 pm

what if the owner sees a sticker on an international competitor in a magazine or online and juss say "i want the biggest and baddest alternator "money is no problem ...Installers just do what the customer requests

i still cringe when i see pple runnig spl type subs for music play

Postby black start » April 27th, 2013, 10:03 pm

Well as a GOOD installer or like a mechanic or even an electrician, you should advise the customer accordingly and inform the customer if they are making a mistake or being misguided.

But if the customer is "ignant" and wants it done their way even if its the wrong way, well the customer is always right.... :lol:

ckrisbrooke

Postby ckrisbrooke » May 12th, 2013, 9:01 am

Man this topic has finally shed some light on my BS installation.. Thanks guys !!

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » May 20th, 2013, 2:50 pm

hey guys i plan to put in a us amp 2000 and a dd c5 amp for mids.. what do u suggest i add for current? i putting it in a b13 with a stock batt and alt......... do i need to change my alt or can i just add 1 extra battery?

Postby black start » May 20th, 2013, 2:53 pm

the b15 90A alt is a direct bolt on upgrade on the b13 ga15ds motor.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » May 20th, 2013, 3:05 pm

black start wrote:the b15 90A alt is a direct bolt on upgrade on the b13 ga15ds motor.

so i should change the alt and add a battery also. or can i use the stock alt and just add a batt?