Do dealers always give you the best recommendations??

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 14th, 2012, 8:56 pm

saw an install done by the "recommended" installer from a dealer in order to maintain the warranty on said equipment

installation cost $500....

sometimes we look at the "cheapest" price but there's an old saying, you get what you pay for...

enjoy...

Work done by a "professional shop" as recomended by an authorised dealor

door panel gap

2 drywall screws holding the speaker

Xover screwed down with one screw and cigarette packaging used as a "filler" to prevent rattle as the double sided tape did not conform to the shape of tha panel

Sound damping that never got installed

Rca's remote wire speaker wire run along the side of the car with the oem harness

Power wire thru firewall no grommet for protection

speaker wires joined under the back seat

Electrical tape used to insulate the door panel from the terminals of the speaker

Re: Do dealers always give you the best recommendations??

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2012, 9:06 pm

this gonna be good.

dtp

Postby dtp » November 14th, 2012, 9:11 pm

their got some skillz

Postby pioneer » November 14th, 2012, 9:18 pm

looks like continuous improvement

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 14th, 2012, 9:38 pm

nah boi dan boi dah installer hah real skill he out the crossover outside the door for display
and no gromet for an tighter fit

but seriously how can you give warranty to this with so many hazzards

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 14th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Heyyyy my install ain't that bad :/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 14th, 2012, 11:09 pm

the cigarette pack take win,call names nuh op.it starting with ah T or wa

Postby 3stagevtec » November 14th, 2012, 11:20 pm

What the hell I seeing here! I've seen some VERY poor installs done already but this one takes the cake. The power wire through the firewall without the grommet is unforgivable..

Give a hint as to the installer's location so men can avoid this happening to them..

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 14th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Cool tuner.
Pity he got screwed by his installer.
Iirc he also is getting some alternator noise in the system.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 14th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Call name! That is a serious fire hazard on wheels.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2012, 12:02 am

paying $500 for a $50 install yes

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 15th, 2012, 1:00 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:paying $500 for a $50 install yes

that isnt even $50, its like they put some gettho installer to practise on the man vehicle. a freaking ciggarette pack :? besides that being wrong its sorta offensive to some people. and the fire hazzard on the power wire is serious. maybe they shouldve installed some LEDs around the passive xovers as well

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » November 15th, 2012, 10:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the cigarette pack take win,call names nuh op.it starting with ah T or wa

My name starts with T ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 10:53 am

Mobile-Authority wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the cigarette pack take win,call names nuh op.it starting with ah T or wa

My name starts with T ?

You did that install Orr?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 15th, 2012, 11:11 am

well ppl already mentioned d other stuff but personally i dont like to see any install with d passives in d door pocket since it looks so unsightly , must find a space behind d door upholstery , kick panel , under d seat or locate it in d trunk if its not possible to fit it in d other spaces & obviously d door pocket now becomes less useable too

never saw that cigarette pack trick b4 ... :lol:

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » November 15th, 2012, 11:28 am

interesting.And yet these installers have work round the clock.

dsstt

Postby dsstt » November 15th, 2012, 12:27 pm

call name of installer! this ched is interesting, thats the cheapest line of RCA`s used as well.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 15th, 2012, 1:00 pm

that is unacceptable, no pride in their work!!!

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 15th, 2012, 1:06 pm

pioneer wrote:looks like continuous improvement

*looks at pio sig*

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 1:31 pm

dsstt wrote:call name of installer! this ched is interesting, thats the cheapest line of RCA`s used as well.

Those look like stinger 8000 (the blue one)

Pretty expensive.

I feel pretty bad for the dude yes, spend all that $$ on proper equipment and got screwed.

Lance

Postby Lance » November 15th, 2012, 1:57 pm

The power wire through the firewall is MOST Worrying.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 15th, 2012, 3:53 pm

okayyyyy thennnnnn

jblCROWN

Postby jblCROWN » November 15th, 2012, 4:18 pm

d man set a trap for your car to bun down watch how he run that power wire

neckto

Postby neckto » November 15th, 2012, 6:47 pm

wheyy........."tradesmen" again!!

Postby SR » November 15th, 2012, 7:03 pm

entire system was uninstalled all wiring were removed

power wire was rerouted correctly and properly protected and installed in the engine bay
hole for the power wire seems to have been a hole drilled for the alarm wire which was properly protected with loom which seem to fit the hole diameter properly so it seems the loom was pulled away to make room for the 4 gauge wire which was just pushed tru
power cable was run on the right side of the car seemd to have just been shoved under the carpet
ground for amp was done on a 10 bolt under the seat however bolt area was not sanded to ensure a proper grounding pt

speaker wires from the amp were joined under the back seat i will assume that it was either measured incorectly or used from a wiring kit and wasnt long enough to reach the amp
note customer had more than enough 12 gauge wire for all the speakers
speakers were halfway installed on the doors with dual rings

note speaker depth was the wrong size for the vehicle this is probably due to either the customer not knowing or whoever sold the customer the speakers not properly advising on what would fit hence the door panel not able to go back on properly
xover were just halfway screwed on to the door panel with one screw and some doublesided tape and wiring was jsut shoved in

xovers were properly installed behind the door panel and wiring was re routed and secured
speakers were re installed properly with the rings
doors were also properly sound dampened with the damping material the customer had

note there was evidence that the previous installer realised the door panels were not fitting back on properly and he/she took a jigsaw and tried to "shave" the edges of the rings while mounted on the door as there were scrapes on the metal of the door frame which looked like the edge of a blade sliding on it
oem speaker hole was opened up a bit to acomodate the bigger diameter magnet however the installer used electrical tape over the edges in an attempt to insulate the metal from the speaker terminals.

system had engine noise and sounded like crap amplifier was bridged incorrectly and gain setups were horribly wrong

everything was corrected with the exception of the door panels due to the depth of the door speakers
system was tuned correclty and engine noise is no longer there

its unfortunate that this is the work from an installer recomended by a reputable dealer of car audio equipment

not because you can connect 2 pieces of wire means you are a capapable installer and dealers need to check on the work of thier"installers" if they are sending work to them to ensure warranty on the equipment

and customers need to do thier homework before purchasing equipment to make sure it will fit in the vehicle

once again people giving bad advice just to get a sale and in the end the customer is the one losing out

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » November 15th, 2012, 7:25 pm

seeing we ont he topic who has a good price on loom for sale for 0guage wire?

Postby SR » November 15th, 2012, 9:42 pm

how much you need? i may have some leftover from another project

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » November 15th, 2012, 9:46 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:seeing we ont he topic who has a good price on loom for sale for 0guage wire?

Why Split loom tho ?
i got sum tech flex coming next 2 weeks

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 15th, 2012, 9:58 pm

how can a person actually accept money knowing they did such a horrid job

dg216

Postby dg216 » November 15th, 2012, 11:34 pm

THx Sr for the fix up :)