RCF n850 vs RCF nd850 help (dont know which 1 to buy)

RAJIE

RCF n850 vs RCF nd850 help (dont know which 1 to buy)

Postby RAJIE » November 8th, 2012, 3:56 pm

good day
i am in need of some help for a RCF driver decision
not sure if the nd850 or n850 RCF driver is better for my application

i got 2 RCF L10 750yk and would like to get a pair of drivers to sound really good with these

got a powerbass 800.2 and a powerbass 300.2 for mids
800.2 for 10s and 300.2 for the drivers

i know that the nd850 has a higher power rating therefore i know its louder than the n850 but would the nd850 overpower the RCF 10??

or would the n850 would be the better match

looking for a more or less a good match between the 10s and the drivers, I dont want it sound annoying and like crap.. but more balance, very loud and yet still very clean

1 10" and 1 driver in a box btw therefore there would be a pair of boxes

the only thing i does use for tuning is my pioneer 80prs deck

please help me make my decision from your experience

thanks

Re: RCF n850 vs RCF nd850 help (dont know which 1 to buy)

Postby 3stagevtec » November 8th, 2012, 11:09 pm

Wouldn't adjusting the gains between the amps help give you the match you are looking for? If not the gain, then the output levels on your crossovers etc..

ward one

Postby ward one » November 9th, 2012, 9:44 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Wouldn't adjusting the output levels on your crossover help give you the match you are looking for

the way hw i look at it with these 2 drivers is dat the nd850 is a upgraded version to the n850. as it is smaller and lighter (neodymium), has a higher power handling (which means u can cross it lower if using the same power as a pair of n850 etc.

once u have the cash go with the nd850

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 11th, 2012, 3:39 am

i have the nd850 & hf64 horns with the rcf 10.....great combo!!! go for it....just tune properly
the 10z crossed at 90 -100hz and the drivers crossed at 800hz iirc...

the drivers sound really clean!! im using rf amps tho

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 11th, 2012, 8:20 am

both of them should be more or less the same,

but if i had the option to buy id go the n850,

theres no mistake here with whichever you choose so go for it,

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » November 13th, 2012, 8:28 pm

^^I share the same sentiment Personal choice is the n850. To my ear i find they sound very different.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 14th, 2012, 4:33 pm

Dude, any of those drivers WILL over shadow that 10" if not used properly. I use the ND850 in my EAW KF850 tops. Each top has a L10750YK 10" and an RCF 15" (CANT REMEMBER THE MODEL). The ND850 more than keeps up with the 10" and 15" together. You will be suprised to know that even the n450 can keep up with an RCF 10" with the right tuning.

The approximate cost of the N850 is $1900 and ND850 is round $2200. You can make ur decision.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 14th, 2012, 4:39 pm

Kasey wrote:Dude, any of those drivers WILL over shadow that 10" if not used properly. I use the ND850 in my EAW KF850 tops. Each top has a L10750YK 10" and an RCF 15" (CANT REMEMBER THE MODEL). The ND850 more than keeps up with the 10" and 15" together. You will be suprised to know that even the n450 can keep up with an RCF 10" with the right tuning.

The approximate cost of the N850 is $1900 and ND850 is round $2200. You can make ur decision.

thanks for the advise all
it was really appreciated

:D

dsstt

Postby dsstt » November 15th, 2012, 12:33 pm

A word of advice, buy the N850, reason: RCF is phasing out the ND850. If, somehow u burn the coils in ur ND gd luck finding replacements. whereas the N850, u can get them from $450 +

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 15th, 2012, 9:38 pm

dsstt wrote:A word of advice, buy the N850, reason: RCF is phasing out the ND850. If, somehow u burn the coils in ur ND gd luck finding replacements. whereas the N850, u can get them from $450 +

where did u get this information?

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 15th, 2012, 11:54 pm

Kasey wrote:
dsstt wrote:A word of advice, buy the N850, reason: RCF is phasing out the ND850. If, somehow u burn the coils in ur ND gd luck finding replacements. whereas the N850, u can get them from $450 +

where did u get this information?

kasey do u kno where i can get coils??....just asking....

the nd850 i bought from u are really worth it :D

wanted

Postby wanted » November 16th, 2012, 8:26 am

You can get the coils at Pharmacy Plus in Montrose, I was there yesterday and they have the n850 and n850 coils in stock. The n850 drivers are $1900.00 each and the nd850 are $2500.00 each, just thought you guys would like to know!

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 16th, 2012, 9:47 am

hey OP aer you just using the 2 10's and 2 drivers in your system.
if so u should tryusing the deck in network mode.
you will have more control over where you cross both components

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 16th, 2012, 10:36 am

What sized horn the n450 requires?

I never liked the 850 for car use because of the size of the 60x40 (iirc) it requires.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 16th, 2012, 1:44 pm

kavaninho wrote:hey OP aer you just using the 2 10's and 2 drivers in your system.

yeah just 2 10s and 2 drivers.. was thinking about doing the 3 way network but the only thing is the heights was crossing from 1500k i tink and wanted to use the driver from about 800 so not sure

the pharmacy by montrose really have some grt prices.. cheaper than goupauls.. when i went it was 2400 for the nd850 and 1800 for the n850.. goupauls was 2200 for the n850 :shock:

car get in accident yesterday so money for the drivers gone to fix car now :( sigh

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 16th, 2012, 2:25 pm

RAJIE wrote:
kavaninho wrote:hey OP aer you just using the 2 10's and 2 drivers in your system.

yeah just 2 10s and 2 drivers.. was thinking about doing the 3 way network but the only thing is the heights was crossing from 1500k i tink and wanted to use the driver from about 800 so not sure

the pharmacy by montrose really have some grt prices.. cheaper than goupauls.. when i went it was 2400 for the nd850 and 1800 for the n850.. goupauls was 2200 for the n850 :shock:

car get in accident yesterday so money for the drivers gone to fix car now :( sigh

oh sorry to hear that man....

if u dwld the spec sheet it says 500 - 20k....the graph also show it
for sure at 800 u safe cuz thats where i use them

been hearing about this montrose pharmacy any one wanna tel me where it is or a contact number?

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 16th, 2012, 2:40 pm

smr_fingers wrote:
RAJIE wrote:

oh sorry to hear that man....

if u dwld the spec sheet it says 500 - 20k....the graph also show it
for sure at 800 u safe cuz thats where i use them

been hearing about this montrose pharmacy any one wanna tel me where it is or a contact number?

yeah wanted to cross them at 800 but if i set my deck at 3 way network. it would cross the drivers at 1.5k so idk wat to do

the pharmacy is literally opposite goupauls. like about 2 building away from goupauls on the opposite side of the road when going toward chagunas flyover

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 17th, 2012, 4:35 pm

OP look at the graph of the RCF, it gives a significant amount of output above 1000hz so no need to cross your driver too low to distort it. I also see a peak in the high mid area on the graph that is kinda harsh so using network mode will get rid of it.

http://www.google.tt/imgres?imgurl=http ... Q&dur=1071

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » November 18th, 2012, 2:59 am

kavaninho wrote:OP look at the graph of the RCF, it gives a significant amount of output above 1000hz so no need to cross your driver too low to distort it. I also see a peak in the high mid area on the graph that is kinda harsh so using network mode will get rid of it.

dawgie das de wrong graph u looking at....lol and i believe ur reading it wrong also

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » November 18th, 2012, 7:12 am

smr_fingers wrote:
kavaninho wrote:OP look at the graph of the RCF, it gives a significant amount of output above 1000hz so no need to cross your driver too low to distort it. I also see a peak in the high mid area on the graph that is kinda harsh so using network mode will get rid of it.

dawgie das de wrong graph u looking at....lol and i believe ur reading it wrong also

it suppose to be the n850 graph but small thing.. right now i doh really wana hear about rcf drivers.. it rel hurting me to see i had money to buy 2 rcf n850 drivers and that went to fix car, and now to save back up go take time and with the money i save up i couldha have 4 n850 drivers :(
sigh

hopefully one day i would continue to fulfill my music dream on having a incredible system. sigh one day :(

but thanks for the help and advise. it was really appreciated :D