wtk :if to put 4 soundstream xpro or 2 15 dd 3500??????????

kiranthetriniboy

wtk :if to put 4 soundstream xpro or 2 15 dd 3500??????????

Postby kiranthetriniboy » October 24th, 2011, 8:38 pm

as the topic says !!!! wanna kno if to put 4 12inch xpro soundstream or 2 dd 3515 !! lemme kno alredy hav 2 dd amps @ 1200rms x1

wanted

Re: wtk :if to put 4 soundstream xpro or 2 15 dd 3500???????

Postby wanted » October 24th, 2011, 8:41 pm

I would go with the dd's, but those subs need about 2000w rms a piece so them dd amps yuh have might not cut it...

kiranthetriniboy

Postby kiranthetriniboy » October 24th, 2011, 8:58 pm

wanted

Postby wanted » October 25th, 2011, 6:07 pm

you should hear a single 3515 I did on a 2200w atomic amp and the speaker barely moving and sweet bass.

audiomagicians

Postby audiomagicians » October 26th, 2011, 10:03 am

i am of the the firm belief that the 4 xpros will play louder than the dds with the same power,also the xpros will cost u round 2000 or 2500, and the two dds gonna cost u at least 6500... the xpros themselves dont really excell in the low bass region regaurdless of what box dey in compared to the dds, since their construction was really geared towards assasinating the pioneers dem... which in my view they did with flyin colours... if u want to go carshow and beach an ting d better choice will be the xpros cause is really loudness u want if u rather a more civilized thump instead of a kick with more quality go d dds... the dds will play a lot smoother no doubt..but again look at the price vs performance and decide whether the more than double the price for d dds would justify the difference in quality..

waits for dd men to retaliate and putting on meh bullet proof vest and waiting for d pioneer men dem to leggo bullet in meh arse :agrue:

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2011, 11:39 am

audiomagicians wrote:i am of the the firm belief that the 4 xpros will play louder than the dds with the same power,also the xpros will cost u round 2000 or 2500, and the two dds gonna cost u at least 6500... the xpros themselves dont really excell in the low bass region regaurdless of what box dey in compared to the dds, since their construction was really geared towards assasinating the pioneers dem... which in my view they did with flyin colours... if u want to go carshow and beach an ting d better choice will be the xpros cause is really loudness u want if u rather a more civilized thump instead of a kick with more quality go d dds... the dds will play a lot smoother no doubt..but again look at the price vs performance and decide whether the more than double the price for d dds would justify the difference in quality..

waits for dd men to retaliate and putting on meh bullet proof vest and waiting for d pioneer men dem to leggo bullet in meh arse :agrue:

i beg to differ :|

kiranthetriniboy

Postby kiranthetriniboy » October 26th, 2011, 3:16 pm

dan i still doh kno wah to do ?????????????

kiranthetriniboy

Postby kiranthetriniboy » October 26th, 2011, 3:25 pm

buh i wah both low bass and highs bass !!!

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2011, 3:27 pm

http://www.ddaudio.com/mobile-audio/amp ... s/m1c.aspx

that will be the amp not so?

If it was left up to me i'd save myself some $$$ by going with the SS instead of the DD so I will have a little more head room on the subs, have more $$$ left over for enclosure design (enclosure design will play a major part on how the sub sounds) & get the wow factor of 4 el cheapo subs getting on nasty!

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2011, 3:29 pm

forget this low bass & high bass people talk about, opinions on low & high vary from person to person. Why dont you tell us what will you be listening to.

wanted

Postby wanted » October 26th, 2011, 10:44 pm

the best way to go since you have the dd amps already is the ss xpro's.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 26th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Two 15" Audiopipes TXX Series.. :twisted:

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 26th, 2011, 11:08 pm

Since you have the DD amps why not get the matching subs?
I don't recommend those Soundstream xpro subs again after seeing alot of them failing due to suspension ripping..

audiomagicians

Postby audiomagicians » October 26th, 2011, 11:24 pm

mongo wrote:Since you have the DD amps why not get the matching subs?
I don't recommend those Soundstream xpro subs again after seeing alot of them failing due to suspension ripping..

daz from over excursion due to improper tuning... and i only see one case of this happening and was because of improper use..... as for the low bass thing...... because of the design of the xpro.... the length of the stroke and the materials the cone and spider are made with it cannot perform efficiently in the lower ranges .... it was designed to be loud...note i said compared to the dds it seems people didnt see that part.. and heres a possible reason for the tearing of the suspension... trying to get them to play low....... .. is just like saying your mercedes is fast.... yeah no doubt it was... but how would it stack up against a skyline? moral is... everything has a purpose it was built for by the manufacturer... and trust me ss was not thinkin bout lows when dey make xpro... so the bottom line ... based on the assumption u have a budget .. go with d xpros.

illest144

Postby illest144 » October 26th, 2011, 11:39 pm

i will agree with 3stage 2 15 audio pipe..lol....or why don't u consider 4 DD 1512....power will be kinder tight but with a great enclosure u wont have any prob..

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2011, 11:42 pm

audiomagicians wrote:

daz from over excursion due to improper tuning... and i only see one case of this happening and was because of improper use..... as for the low bass thing...... because of the design of the xpro.... the length of the stroke and the materials the cone and spider are made with it cannot perform efficiently in the lower ranges .... it was designed to be loud...note i said compared to the dds it seems people didnt see that part.. and heres a possible reason for the tearing of the suspension... trying to get them to play low....... .. is just like saying your mercedes is fast.... yeah no doubt it was... but how would it stack up against a skyline? moral is... everything has a purpose it was built for by the manufacturer... and trust me ss was not thinkin bout lows when dey make xpro... so the bottom line ... based on the assumption u have a budget .. go with d xpros.

same reason why they saying RE & Pioneer is crap.

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 27th, 2011, 2:46 am

audiomagicians wrote: daz from over excursion due to improper tuning... and i only see one case of this happening and was because of improper use..... as for the low bass thing...... because of the design of the xpro.... the length of the stroke and the materials the cone and spider are made with it cannot perform efficiently in the lower ranges .... it was designed to be loud...note i said compared to the dds it seems people didnt see that part.. and heres a possible reason for the tearing of the suspension... trying to get them to play low....... .. is just like saying your mercedes is fast.... yeah no doubt it was... but how would it stack up against a skyline? moral is... everything has a purpose it was built for by the manufacturer... and trust me ss was not thinkin bout lows when dey make xpro... so the bottom line ... based on the assumption u have a budget .. go with d xpros.

So you saying the 4 different owners of sounstream xpro's i know have this problem due to improper use..if that's the case then the DD subs are better because you can get both low and loud without suspension ripping..lol

Postby 3stagevtec » October 27th, 2011, 8:41 am

audiomagicians wrote:

I don't like you analogy.. Skylines are slow as hell in stock form and can get out accelerated or out handled by most JDM sports cars within it's class.. BMI has proved this time and time again..

and your average Mercedes these days generally come with enough firepower to roast the Skyline in a straight line.. and possible give.. wait, this is ICE!

ok, ok, back to topic..

1) I am not seeing the SS XPRO subs on their website, is it a discontinued line?
2) Google brought up..
http://www.soundstream.com/manuals/2007/WOOFERS/XPRO%20Manual%20Complete.pdf

Are those 12"s really just 200Wrms.. :shock: and judging by some of it's other specs, the sub seems quite capable to reproduce some of the lower notes.. It's Fs seems quite low at 27Hz..
3) IMO, 4 200Wrms subs will not last long on the amplifiers he's got.. (assuming I have the correct spec sheet)

Postby 3stagevtec » October 27th, 2011, 8:46 am

^ I feel I have the wrong specs there.. If someone can post the correct specs so we can better analyze the sub..

wanted

Postby wanted » October 27th, 2011, 8:59 am

I've been using xpro's for years no problems once you have the right box and they can take power. In one of my installs with 2 12 ss xpro's we replaced a ss tarantula 2000w @1 ohm with a 3000w atomic @ 1 ohm and the speaker still standing, going about 5 months now. The only difference now is that it's not as loud as before with the tarantula but it's way deep and way low. Hope the info helps and buy the way I have the box design for the xpros locked.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 27th, 2011, 9:03 am

wanted wrote:I've been using xpro's for years no problems once you have the right box and they can take power. In one of my installs with 2 12 ss xpro's we replaced a ss tarantula 2000w @1 ohm with a 3000w atomic @ 1 ohm and the speaker still standing, going about 5 months now. The only difference now is that it's not as loud as before with the tarantula but it's way deep and way low. Hope the info helps and buy the way I have the box design for the xpros locked.

Those are 600W rated subs right?

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » October 27th, 2011, 9:04 am

well i hear 4 12" soundstream in a galant an 2 12" DD 35 series playing next to each other (both sound off ppl.. ah surf an a galant)
and i must say the 4 12" sounstream sounded better than the dds
the only ting the surf owner wit the dd said is the dd was redone wit wrong coil configuration(ohms)
honestly i heard the surf played already b4 and this music after sounded nun like b4 meanning b4 the dd rocked
so i dont tink the 4 12" xpro would sound better than 2 orginal 15" 35" series

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 27th, 2011, 9:37 am

when these xpros came out a few yrs ago i experimented with it vs pioneer 307 back then - imho u really cannot hear much of a difference in both , very similar sounding tones whether its in a lowish 35hz tuned box or medium\highish 38hz box they sounded very close (dont ask me about 40hz+ tuning since i very rarely went above that in boxes i built for daily use ) .... i def do not agree with some ppl saying either 1 is better or much better than d other

now if wasnt for d 1200wrms amp power id say given more power d 2 dd3515 wud blow away those 4 12 so on that amt of power it wud be close

d 2 15" audiopipe candy cone suggestion above is actually a very good option for 1200wrms & was about $1250\1300 each last time i checked , great bang for buck ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 27th, 2011, 9:40 am

3stagevtec wrote:
wanted wrote:I've been using xpro's for years no problems once you have the right box and they can take power. In one of my installs with 2 12 ss xpro's we replaced a ss tarantula 2000w @1 ohm with a 3000w atomic @ 1 ohm and the speaker still standing, going about 5 months now. The only difference now is that it's not as loud as before with the tarantula but it's way deep and way low. Hope the info helps and buy the way I have the box design for the xpros locked.

Those are 600W rated subs right?

I may be wrong but the subs being debated here is a limited edition woofer.that is according to the catalogue.

Features:
2'' copper wire voice coil
poly cotton spider
UV coated foam surround
aluminium motor cover
discrete mount basket
vented pole piece

power handling of 600watts

only few shops have them in stock now..

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2011, 11:26 am

Model - XPRO-12
Mounting Depth - 6.375�
Outer Diameter - 12.625�
Cutout Diameter - 11.125�
Driver Displacement - .10 cu. ft.
Impedance - Dual 4 ohm
RMS Power - 600watts
Voice Coil - 2�
Magnet Weight - 60 oz.
Frequency Response - 35 - 500Hz
Resonant Frequency - 27.322Hz
Qts - .337
Qms - 2.488
Qes - .389
Vas - 58.723 ltr
XMAX - 8.5 mm
SPL - 86.8 dB

Soundstream recommend theses specifications which seem about right? Any opinions?

NET Volume 2 cuft / 56.6 ltrs
Vent Design 2 - 3� X 12�
Tuning Freq 36Hz

Diameter: 12"
Impedance: Dual 2 ohm
Power Handling: 400 - 600Wrms
Magnet Weight: 100oz
Frequency Response: 35 - 500Hz
Voice Coil SIze: 2"
Sensitivity: 92dB
Mounting Depth: 6.375"
Poly cotton spider with integrated tinsel leads
UV coated foam surround
Superb tinsel strength
2 layer cone (paper and fiberglass)
Aluminium motor cover
Discrete mount terminals
Cast aluminium basket
Vented pole piece

http://www.steveselectronics.biz/produc ... 2&scid=101

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

The soundstream play very well, i not bashing them, they can play a good bandwidth between low and high..the only thing that got my mind changed about them is the suspension failure i saw on 4 different owners system..
Right now i have a pair packed away that my padna left after seeing others.. these have no suspension failure as yet..

kiranthetriniboy

Postby kiranthetriniboy » October 27th, 2011, 12:35 pm

clearly dan !!! d xpro is better in terms that is cheaper and it plays well!!!rather than d dd which seems to burn really fast !!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » October 27th, 2011, 1:08 pm

kiranthetriniboy wrote:clearly dan !!! d xpro is better in terms that is cheaper and it plays well!!!rather than d dd which seems to burn really fast !!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!

speakers doh bun jus so eh
is due to owner's mistakes
meanin wrong power.. wrong enclosure.. bad tuning all kinda ting so u cah the speaker
i does see rel ppl say boy the sub rated 1000wrms but it takin 2000wrms n feelin nice nice i mean ah company does rate subs for ah gud performance to last long

the soundstream i must say is rel small money compare to the dds eh
an it does perform

audiomagicians

Postby audiomagicians » October 27th, 2011, 3:40 pm

given d power the person has available the xpros will perform louder...than d dds... there is a rather big car show comin up in samar this sunday... go and listen to cars and see what they running... there are quite a few vehicles which use the xpros and there are at least 3 open category vehicles i know about using the xpros.. i know a bread van with 8 that won open mids inside for finals.....and there are many people using 4 and 2 listen to them ask the owners to give u a demo and ask them to comment on the subs since they using them.. then i sure u go find real dd people ask the same... and then u decide what u want to do.. we could all talk we talk here but actual field studies will give u a better idea.. after the show i sure u would have made up your mind.. :D