review on audio que HDC3 12 inch

smaharaj

review on audio que HDC3 12 inch

Postby smaharaj » October 20th, 2011, 9:10 pm

ok i hear people talking bout audio que,so i guess i can giv a little input on dis cause i have,HDC3 copper coil,

dis sub is underated first off,with the correct box dis sub can take 2000 rms daily,sub is 44 puonds,magnet is bigger dan the DDs 3500 but smaller than the 9500,the bl factor is higher on the DDs,the sub came very stiff,it was more stiff than a jugg,there is no terminals on the sub,just like a DDs wires come straight from the leads,i did alot of research on dis sub,the soft parts are not like DDs,the DDs are higher grade compared 2 these,compared to the 3500 the HDC3 are louder,the HDC3 will be louder dan the 9500 under 2000rms,but over that the 9500 will be louder,thses sub loves big ports,so dont go putting dem lil ports,on sound qulity,the sub did not sound as clean as other subs,on a tunning of 40,it hit all the lows,had no problem,i had dis playing on a soundstream 2000 picaso the sub was jus warm after hours of playing,the subs hits the higher tone alot better than oder subs,downfall is as i said before is sound quality,if u not into to much sound qulity and looking for dutty bass,audio que HDC3 will do d job

p.s-------the guys who owns and design audio que is the father of the guy who owns DDs
2222222222222DSC02407.JPG
33333333333DSC02406.JPG
rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrDSC03946.JPG
Last edited by smaharaj on October 21st, 2011, 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Anthony624

Re: review on audio que HDC3 12 inch

Postby Anthony624 » October 20th, 2011, 9:15 pm

where did u purchase it ?

Postby nervewrecker » October 20th, 2011, 10:13 pm

RRR

smaharaj wrote:ok i hear people talking bout audio que,so i guess i can giv a little input on dis cause i have,HDC3 copper coil,

dis sub is underated first off,with the correct box dis sub can take 2000 rms daily,sub is 44 puonds,magnet is bigger dan the DDs 3500 but smaller than the 9500 (what does magnet size mean?),the bl factor is higher on the DDs,the sub came very stiff,it was more stiff than a jugg,there is no terminals on the sub,just like a DDs wires come straight from the leads,i did alot of research on dis sub,the soft parts are not like DDs,the DDs are higher grade compared 2 these,compared to the 3500 the HDC3 are louder,the HDC3 will be louder dan the 9500 under 2000rms,but over that the 9500 will be louder,thses sub loves big ports,so dont go putting dem lil ports (tell me more),on sound qulity,the sub did not sound as clean as other subs,on a tunning of 40,it hit all the lows,had no problem (sound quality, lows @ a 40hz tuning freq?),i had dis playing on a soundstream 2000 picaso the sub was jus warm after hours of playing,the subs hits the higher tone alot better than oder subs,downfall is as i said before is sound quality,if u not into to much sound qulity and looking for dutty bass,audio que HDC3 will do d job

p.s-------the guys who owns and design audio que is the father of the guy who owns DDs

lol @ lows btw. Anthony624, tell him nah 8-)

Anthony624

Postby Anthony624 » October 20th, 2011, 10:32 pm

he doh know was lows 40hz tuning lol ..........

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 20th, 2011, 10:37 pm

1 - OP good intention for a review but posted wrong section

2 - its hard to understand ur post : also use fullstops , paragraphs , spell check , just press 1 more letter instead of typing "2" so that its : "to"

3 - what do u mean by "on sound quality the sub did not sound as clean as other subs " yet "it hit all the lows" ?

not trying to fack u up or anything but just trying to understand what u mean ... :|

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 21st, 2011, 1:13 am

so OP was it worth buying?

Postby 3stagevtec » October 21st, 2011, 2:06 am

Could you provide some pics, dimensions of the magnet etc.. and what type / size / tuning box did you use for the review. It will help with the review..

The thing about 'sound quality' in this case is that will will be quite closely related to the enclosure and tuning you use. I had a 3500DD and it sounded great in a 36Hz tuned enclosure. I eventually changed that to a 34Hz tuned enclosure (with a different internal volume) and the response changed quite a bit.. Sounded smoother with some extra emphasis around the 30 - 35Hz region..

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 21st, 2011, 7:26 pm

im trying to upload d pics,buy pics 2 big,so ill decrease d size and see if i can get dem up

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 21st, 2011, 7:27 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:1 - OP good intention for a review but posted wrong section

2 - its hard to understand ur post : also use fullstops , paragraphs , spell check , just press 1 more letter instead of typing "2" so that its : "to"

3 - what do u mean by "on sound quality the sub did not sound as clean as other subs " yet "it hit all the lows" ?

not trying to fack u up or anything but just trying to understand what u mean ... :|

jus cause a sub hit all the lows,dats wont mean it guna be clean and smooth compare to ah re mx,dats wat i meant

massacre

Postby massacre » October 21st, 2011, 10:01 pm

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2011, 10:12 pm

try imageshack, they automatically resize the pics.

Give us a little on your settings (hpf, lpf, any bass boost, loud on or off etc), the enclosure you have it in, port area, length etc.

Give us a little on how it performs with some of the songs you tested it with.
Judging from the specs on the sub i'd say its more of the streetbeater type.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » October 21st, 2011, 11:34 pm

have used both the 10" and 15" model in these subs and sound quality and bass reproduction is not bad at all.I will play very smoothly in the right box so i guess your box wasnt best suited if you found it played rough..

The only problem i have with them is that the coil can not handle too much stress it overheats and burns once its being overpowered.If you remain within rec power handling its well worth the money.The soft parts are preety good for the price of the sub i love the suspension and cone.

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 21st, 2011, 11:52 pm

audio is owned by DDs father,the son owns DDs,i saw in the mk forum a guy said its the son that owned audio que,he also said dat the 10 HDc cant handle anything over 1500,i tend 2 disagree,the subsonic was set to around 35 and low pass at around 80,i have a 6XS so no bass boost or gain is used,songs like shot call played realy well cause i tuned the box for those songs,was not tuned for rap so wont be getting any lows from dis tunning,the sub loves those upper bass notes,dis is the second box i bulit for dis sub,the first box was tuned to 40,which played the low notes pretty good,i took out peice of the port,tunning is now at 46,box is 3.66 ft3 port area of 72,see that i have a 2000 Picasso,which as we know is realy around 1500-1700 rms,so im guna change the mono and see what performance i can get from dis sub

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 21st, 2011, 11:55 pm

viking1705 wrote:have used both the 10" and 15" model in these subs and sound quality and bass reproduction is not bad at all.I will play very smoothly in the right box so i guess your box wasnt best suited if you found it played rough..

The only problem i have with them is that the coil can not handle too much stress it overheats and burns once its being overpowered.If you remain within rec power handling its well worth the money.The soft parts are preety good for the price of the sub i love the suspension and cone.

im realy guna disagree on dat!the sub is rated at 1000rms,the sub will handle 2000 daily in a correct box,thses subs likes port area,so if u guna put it in a tiny box with a tiny port,well,?

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2011, 12:09 am

ok pallie, first off these 'lows' that you speak off are non existent with that 35hz hpf.

secondly a port area of approx 14 square inches is usually recommended for each cubic foot. 72 square inches seems a bit too much for that 3.6 cubic foot enclosure.

have you had that picasso clamped to see what its power output really is?
No amp will put out full power with music as its output will be constantly fluctuating. Even if it was 1800watts it will only be putting out a fraction of that power so that sub was not even seeing anything close to that 1000 watt rating.

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 22nd, 2011, 1:44 am

ok y wud a mono have a high pass?and if u read good u will see i said dat i cut port dat y d subsonic is on 35,the box i had b4 subsonic was on 25,even if u research it online u will see the sun will do 2000 daily,the power acustic db an picaso carry the same bored,and yes,sum1 did do a bench test and came out with close to 1700rms,u d first who said dat u cant over power the sub?if dats d case it should be classes with the dds 1500,in terms of loudess and power handling its class above the 3500 and below the 9500,u tink 72 inches is 2 much for dat sub??u must be joking,

massacre

Postby massacre » October 22nd, 2011, 1:46 am

how that looking like ah incriminator audio next to the AQ...lol

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2011, 11:37 pm

smaharaj wrote:ok y wud a mono have a high pass? its called a sub sonic filter and if u read good u will see i said dat i cut port dat y d subsonic is on 35,the box i had b4 subsonic was on 25,even if u research it online u will see the sun will do 2000 daily I thought this is your review? ,the power acustic db an picaso carry the same bored that dont say squat, a lot of amps have the same board but the components are different making the amps different,and yes,sum1 did do a bench test and came out with close to 1700rms with music or a test tone?,u d first who said dat u cant over power the sub? I never said that if dats d case it should be classes with the dds 1500,in terms of loudess and power handling its class above the 3500 and below the 9500,u tink 72 inches is 2 much for dat sub??u must be joking, I said for the enclosure it is. tell me, whats the length like?

:?

give me the dimensions of the enclosure (external & internal) & thickness of mdf leme see if I can model your enclosure & plot the response curve.

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 23rd, 2011, 2:10 am

where you tested it?
Is a totally different response in a room to a car.
You can experiment with port area it doesn't have to follow 12-16Square inches per cubic foot.

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 23rd, 2011, 7:14 pm

mongo wrote:where you tested it?
Is a totally different response in a room to a car.
You can experiment with port area it doesn't have to follow 12-16Square inches per cubic foot.

its in d car,i jus took d pic in d room,

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 23rd, 2011, 7:17 pm

give me the dimensions of the enclosure (external & internal) & thickness of mdf leme see if I can model your enclosure & plot the response curve.[/quote]

amm,even if u do model d curve,its in a car,so its guna sound different,ill message u d specs i used

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2011, 7:21 pm

ok, do that.

but tell us how it sounds on some songs like, ying yang twins - saltshaker, danity kane - showstopper, young jeezy - I put on, young jeezy - hypnotise & other similar tunes to give us an idea of how it handles.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 23rd, 2011, 7:56 pm

46hz u say :shock: u sure that bass eh sounding like beatin ah crix pan ? , better u put back d AI sub in ur car & listen to some actual lows ... :mrgreen:

even when i used to compete in gallery i never tuned so high ... :|

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 23rd, 2011, 8:19 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:46hz u say :shock: u sure that bass eh sounding like beatin ah crix pan ? , better u put back d AI sub in ur car & listen to some actual lows ... :mrgreen:

even when i used to compete in gallery i never tuned so high ... :|

i jus tuned high just 2 hear d difference,planning to extend the port,so ill be hitting bout 40 hz

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 23rd, 2011, 8:20 pm

wen u got dat 153db,was it tuned for spl?wat tunning u had,and what power,if u doh mind ah asking

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » October 23rd, 2011, 8:27 pm

where/wat is RRR ??>?>??
i new in all this music stuff

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2011, 8:31 pm

RRR is Triple R, they are loacated at the top of Cipero st. San Fernando by republic bank. They are the dealers for DD, Rockford & a few other brands.

lol. a lot of the dudes tuning closer to 50hz this rounds.

I think he means street beater lows rovin, lows for those guys is in the mid to high 30's. I still show them respect, to each his own.

40hz tuning is a little better, at 46 there isnt much you can play (not suitable for daily use).

I dont think rovin will reveal his secrets man but I dont think it was not tuned too high as it did pretty well in playing music too.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 23rd, 2011, 8:47 pm

no scene man OP

if u listen to alot of dub that high tune 46hz might be ok for d kind of high notes that type of music has in it

when i had comps cut at 50hz in my front doors & playing some of that type of music all d bass actually coming out from d comps & d sub\s which playing from 50hz silent as though it turned off .... :lol:

smaharaj

Postby smaharaj » October 23rd, 2011, 8:56 pm

well i tuned it for dat type of music,but i can even hit a 35 good in dem raps,lolkinda fed up ah d same old dub now,if i go down to 41 i dont tink it guna impact the loudness 2 much,

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » October 23rd, 2011, 11:13 pm

lol obviously Op you dont know me well anyone here who knows me knows i dont use small boxes.I probably have the largest 10" box in the country(including largest port area) lol..the 15" played preety well actually but it didnt tickle my fancy.I've used better but as you say its good for price.