Opinion on this New 2011 Boss Amp

yudhistre

Opinion on this New 2011 Boss Amp

Postby yudhistre » July 4th, 2011, 11:14 am

I looking at some 4CH amps to buy, and This http://www.bossaudio.com/main/1270 Looks like a Good Buy @ just $120 USD

Not know about Amps Much...

Lemme know on your Opinion Please, Or If you can find a better Amp @ the same price on Amazon, Let me know

Thanks

Re: Opinion on this New 2011 Boss Amp

Postby Ted_v2 » July 4th, 2011, 12:02 pm

basically boss doesnt put out the rated power nor does it put out clean power Imo

look into brands like rockford, kicker and such imo its built quality is alot better and should last longer as well as perform better

http://www.amazon.com/Rockford-Fosgate- ... 993&sr=8-8

http://www.amazon.com/Amplifier-Flexibl ... 46&sr=8-46

http://www.amazon.com/Alpine-MRP-F300-A ... 31&sr=8-41

lil more $ but worth it

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » July 4th, 2011, 1:02 pm

How about this one

http://www.amazon.com/Power-Acoustik-D4-1800-4-Channel-1800-Watt/dp/B004TA75LO/

I see a lot of people having these Power Acoustik Amps..

Opinions???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2011, 1:58 pm

yudhistre wrote:How about this one

Opinions???

once a boss amp always a boss amp,power acoustic :| :| :| , you could probably look into soundstream, there must be a 4ch for that price.

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » July 4th, 2011, 2:02 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Opinions???

once a boss amp always a boss amp,power acoustic :| :| :| , you could probably look into soundstream, there must be a 4ch for that price.

Wha you mean, Once a boss amp always a boss amp, the guy above say that they overrated.. what u saying?

And I wanna move from soundstream since I had a lil wonder 3 and my confidence in them has dropped significantly since it stop working

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2011, 3:08 pm

yudhistre wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Opinions???

Wha you mean, Once a boss amp always a boss amp, the guy above say that they overrated.. what u saying?

And I wanna move from soundstream since I had a lil wonder 3 and my confidence in them has dropped significantly since it stop working

aight what he means by over rated is that when they say 2000 watts you probably get only about 800,the quality out of them rel poor,and I don't think they last long either,hence it so cheap,if i was you I would save and buy something lil better,as for the soundstream only the lil wonder 2 was aight enuf,the 3 was,well you see for yourself as you had one.but what you want to play?? we could probably give you more info if you give the details of your system.

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » July 4th, 2011, 4:02 pm

System: Two audiopipe Ten Inch Both Double coil, Wired in parallel to 2 ohms

and Two 6x9 in boxes ( i eah know the rating of either)

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » July 4th, 2011, 4:50 pm

Ah just looking for some cheap used ting for now yess..

Under $800 tt

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 7:57 pm

orion cobalt 600.4 $800.00

8-)

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 8:13 pm

there are other factors to look into besides power output, what about thd, damping factor & efficiency for starters?

take for example I started off with a quantum audio qsa1800.1d run at 4 ohms. I used to get a slight dimming of the lights with that amp alone.
I upgraded to an mtx mxa 600.1 (still run at 4 ohms) & had no dimming issues. Even the bass was different (some will debate that one cannot hear a difference in amps & thats its all in your mind but thats a whole different discussion by itself). both amps had approx the same power output at 4 ohms & the mtx definatly had a lower current draw.
With no electrical upgrade I began to run the bass amp at 2 ohms (600watts) but still went easy on it as my sub was rated at a mere 250 watts & added in a next amp into the mix (orion cobalt 600.4) & no dimming issues & barely any voltage fluctuation.

I bet if I was using 2 boss amps that made equivilant power to the mtx & orion I would have dimming issues, voltage fluctuations & the sound would never have been similar to what I was getting.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2011, 8:29 pm

a good 4 ch for $800 is going to be hard to find,unless somebody piping out their equipment.

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 8:32 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:a good 4 ch for $800 is going to be hard to find,unless somebody piping out their equipment.

nervewrecker wrote:orion cobalt 600.4 $800.00

8-)

that nervewrecker dude likes his drugs. :drinking:

konartis

Postby konartis » July 4th, 2011, 9:02 pm

while you guys are on this topic, i'm looking for a good 4ch amp to run a small system in my car, like either (1) 10" or 0ne 12" - for bass (2) 6x9 on the dash and (2) 6" on the doors for mids/highs...whats a good amp that could run all these speakers, went to a audio tech and he started up on one topic and ended up wanting me to put all kinda madness in the car(he on making money), i just need some advice for you honest guys, thanks!
Last edited by konartis on July 5th, 2011, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 4th, 2011, 10:29 pm

konartis wrote:while you guys are on this topic, i'm looking for a good 4ch amp to run a small system in my car, like (1) 10"/12" - for bass (2) 6x9 on the dash and (2) 6" on the doors for mids/highs...whats a good amp that could run all these speakers, went to a audio tech and he started up on one topic and ended up wanting me to put all kinda madness in the car(he on making money), i just need some advice for you honest guys, thanks!

I'm guessing you are looking at a sub which giving on an average 400-500 rms so its either pioneer champion series,soundstream x pro,t3 audio t400,rockford punch???? anything else
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2011, 10:47 pm

konartis wrote:while you guys are on this topic, i'm looking for a good 4ch amp to run a small system in my car, like (1) 10"/12" - for bass (2) 6x9 on the dash and (2) 6" on the doors for mids/highs...whats a good amp that could run all these speakers, went to a audio tech and he started up on one topic and ended up wanting me to put all kinda madness in the car(he on making money), i just need some advice for you honest guys, thanks!

I never really liked spamming the tech forum with fs posts but since you asking see here:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=379753

Postby 3stagevtec » July 5th, 2011, 11:48 am

As a cheap amp, those boss amps not that bad.. I had a C800 4CH (rated 600Wrms) once and it performed well enough. Never gave any trouble and sounded good in my small system at the time..

It used to just barely outperform a 300Wrms Pioneer Premier 4CH amp I had.. so I always knew it never made rated power.. but then again, for the price, who's complaining..