SUBWOOFER ENCLOSURE

jack hammer

SUBWOOFER ENCLOSURE

Postby jack hammer » August 4th, 2010, 9:54 pm

MY QUESTIONS TO YOUR'LL ARE. IN DESIGNING A BASS REFLEX ENCLOSURE, HOW WOULD ONE GO ABOUT FIGURING OUT THE RESPONSE AT A PARTICULAR LOCATION WITH IN THE LISTENING ENVIRONMENT?

AND HOW DO YOU DETERMINE IN THE DESIGN OF THE ENCLOSURE IF IT SHOULD BE ON AXIS OR OFF AXIS TO ACHIEVE THE REQUIRED REPSONSE AT A PARTICULAR LISTENING POSITION?
Last edited by jack hammer on August 4th, 2010, 10:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: SUBWOOFER ENCLOSURE

Postby meccalli » August 4th, 2010, 10:32 pm

Firstly, lets push that Caps Lock key and run a spell check.

Postby crazybalhead » August 5th, 2010, 8:53 am

LOL...

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 9th, 2010, 2:07 pm

MY QUESTIONS TO YOUR'LL ARE. IN DESIGNING A BASS REFLEX ENCLOSURE, HOW WOULD ONE GO ABOUT FIGURING OUT THE RESPONSE AT A PARTICULAR LOCATION WITH IN THE LISTENING ENVIRONMENT?

build a test enclosure that gives a flat response in an anechoic chamber, then put it in the room and use the rta to see what frequencies are boosted/cancelled at the preferred listening point.

then either re-design your sub or use an eq to compensate and give you the kind of sound you require.

ay doh study me eh i talking shite!