Legally register SUV as 'T'?

feeldavibe

Legally register SUV as 'T'?

Postby feeldavibe » January 30th, 2020, 1:19 pm

Can my company buy a SUV and register it T, just like the Navara's we have? Is it legal? What are the requirements?

superstainless1250

Re: Legally register SUV as 'T'?

Postby superstainless1250 » January 30th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Ah saw ah prado with a T plate recently so I would assume yes the SUV can be bought in a T plate the vehicle has to be new brand or ah think though find out from the firm that ur want to buy from

Postby *KRONIK* » January 30th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Yes
There are plenty company owned SUVs with T plates.

Not sure what it entails, but i have seen some around

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2020, 10:24 pm

There's a white range rover in the Bamboo TCX series. And I have seen a T Tucson in AP Scott compound a few times.

Postby rspann » January 31st, 2020, 1:46 pm

Agricultural.

VII

Postby VII » February 1st, 2020, 7:15 pm

Even station wagons can be T .

Any registered business can,very common not too long ago,buh everybody get dotish and only want P, T does make de vehicle look cheap . :roll:

My dad used to kill T any chance he got,hillman hunter, kingswood etc. all T..

oh btw 'pornstar' dad's company had a T Prado..And many first gen Range Rovers were T,Macfoods founder had a couple...less duties tax etc,loading and unloading parking privileges.. :wink:

Wasnt the lil old combi wagon 'fish van' from wallers T ?

Postby rspann » February 1st, 2020, 8:45 pm

People got permission to import suvs under Agri concessions and had to do it as T . The taxes are a lot less and some of those that are T would have exploited the loophole having only registered for that purpose or bought it on a bona fide farmers badge. (Like how some luxury boats are registered as fishing vessels) . I remember seeing a KIV in POS CID that these vehicles are to be checked to see if their insurance was valid for more than two passengers. It used to be prevalent like P buses until licensing and customs realised what was going on and stopped it. I mean ,anybody could tell that no farmer bringing an expensive SUV to use in the garden.

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » February 4th, 2020, 9:01 am

Thanks for the replies. My issue is this: Why are only vans and trucks considered for commercial use? If I were a small plumbing company for example, I have two AD Wagons with racks on the roof to carry small ladders and myself and my employee use these vehicles for our plumbing work. These vehicles aren't being used commercial? I must register them as private cars and pay tax on them? Doesn't make much sense to me.

I also heard that to register anything other than a van or truck T it needed to be in agriculture. SO according to the government, only agriculture could have company use vehicles that aren't vans? Seems stupid...

Postby Dizzy28 » February 4th, 2020, 9:41 am

feeldavibe wrote:Thanks for the replies. My issue is this: Why are only vans and trucks considered for commercial use? If I were a small plumbing company for example, I have two AD Wagons with racks on the roof to carry small ladders and myself and my employee use these vehicles for our plumbing work. These vehicles aren't being used commercial? I must register them as private cars and pay tax on them? Doesn't make much sense to me.

I also heard that to register anything other than a van or truck T it needed to be in agriculture. SO according to the government, only agriculture could have company use vehicles that aren't vans? Seems stupid...

If you are a small plumbing company even if the vehicles are P you can claim the VAT exemption on them once you are also VAT registered. And once you are completing proper financial statements you can also claim depreciation as an expense reducing your tax as well.

And to be honest once you get the VAT back how much is the remaining tax on the AD that you would get exempted for?

ole whore

Postby ole whore » February 4th, 2020, 10:16 am

i have a subaru forester and its registered 'T' .
This was done because of transporting goods but mainly cause
registered businesses get tax exemption when registering vehicles as 'T'.
After a specific time frame and only change of ownership, can the vehicle be re-classified to private 'P'.

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » February 4th, 2020, 11:56 am

feeldavibe wrote:Thanks for the replies. My issue is this: Why are only vans and trucks considered for commercial use? If I were a small plumbing company for example, I have two AD Wagons with racks on the roof to carry small ladders and myself and my employee use these vehicles for our plumbing work. These vehicles aren't being used commercial? I must register them as private cars and pay tax on them? Doesn't make much sense to me.

If you are a small plumbing company even if the vehicles are P you can claim the VAT exemption on them once you are also VAT registered. And once you are completing proper financial statements you can also claim depreciation as an expense reducing your tax as well.

And to be honest once you get the VAT back how much is the remaining tax on the AD that you would get exempted for?

My scenario was hypothetical. I used AD wagon as an example but there are plenty companies that buy fleets of Creta's or otherwise for employees. Like TSTT.

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » February 4th, 2020, 11:57 am

ole whore wrote:i have a subaru forester and its registered 'T' .
After a specific time frame and only change of ownership, can the vehicle be re-classified to private 'P'.

Are you allowed to have passengers in the back seats?

ole whore

Postby ole whore » February 7th, 2020, 11:43 am

feeldavibe wrote:
ole whore wrote:i have a subaru forester and its registered 'T' .

Are you allowed to have passengers in the back seats?

its registered as "five including driver"

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2020, 10:49 am

I used to drive a T registered Lancer wagon as a company car. They had a couple of Corolla wagons as T as well
This was at WITCO

Postby eliteauto » February 10th, 2020, 8:37 pm

I've seen T registered AD wagons, in fact they were for a plumbing company

Postby A172 » February 15th, 2020, 7:35 pm

you can import any vehicle as a commercial vehicle, from AD to prado
what u need to do is satisfy trade that u using it for commercial so u can get the license

but even after u get the license customs is the next thing
u can have an import license for commercial use and time to clear customs can still tell u hymc go pay the correct tax for private, we not releasing this as commercial

long story short is customs who determines if u gonna gt with T, even with a valid import lic