WTK: Why Chevrolet has low resale?

silversub

Postby silversub » October 19th, 2019, 7:22 am

I'm considering buying a Chevrolet Cruze but noticed that Chevrolet's have a very low resale value. Is it just lack of popularity in the TT market or are they low quality cars? Does anyone own a Chevrolet and think it's worth the buy? Any views would be helpful....

Re: WTK: Why Chevrolet has low resale?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 19th, 2019, 7:25 am

We have a chevy captiva. It works good, but i had had a “do-over” i would have bought something else.

Resale sucks.
Parts suck.
Lifestyle motors suck.
Simpson finance sucks.

Meh....

Postby wagonrunner » October 19th, 2019, 8:12 pm

relative has a 1.8 chevy cruz..
I got a chevy source in miami.
doesn't help wrt the engine / transmission as the car is south.korean.
verify what you are buying.

https://en.vindecoder.pl/KLY2B41YDAC546044

silversub

Postby silversub » October 20th, 2019, 9:21 am

thanks for the responses. it seems that this is more of an after sales issue than a problem with the cars themselves

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 20th, 2019, 9:44 am

I had the Cruze 1.8 and the weak point in that car was the 6T30 transmission. All warranty issues were handled by LSM without question and 99% of the parts I ever wanted were always in stock including a few weird parts that you would never think they would have had. I used gmpartsauthority.com to source a valve cover gasket because the 1.8 engine was also sold in North America. Owners with the 1.6 will require more in-depth searches.

I understand the 6T35 and 6T40 transmissions were better built than the 6T30 I had before so I think these newer Chevys like most non Jap brands would fear better and they continue to improve.

The Captiva’s major problem was the Diesel engine (both the 2.0 and 2.2 CRDi). Our diesel sold in TT is the worst and is known for causing issues on several major brands including BMW, Audi, VW, Mercedes Benz etc...that’s why regular servicing is required and you would never get me to buy a used diesel vehicle locally.

If anyone wishes to purchase a new vehicle that doesn’t have a Toyota badge on it then make sure and keep it for several years because resale will always be a problem and selling any vehicle within 3 yrs of purchase will still incur depreciation further exacerbated by the ‘crash’ of the used vehicle market.

Postby wagonrunner » October 21st, 2019, 12:26 pm

Yes there is a US 1.8, but so far have not had a match on the parts / sensors we checked for.
I did a few, but never that gasket.

for example.
the MAF sensor for US 1.8 {in hand) vs the "local" 1.8
ImageImage

Postby MG Man » November 1st, 2019, 8:59 am

silversub wrote:I'm considering buying a Chevrolet Cruze but noticed that Chevrolet's have a very low resale value. Is it just lack of popularity in the TT market or are they low quality cars? Does anyone own a Chevrolet and think it's worth the buy? Any views would be helpful....

anything that has no Bamboo support will have lower resale
If a man hits you and breaks a headlight, you can't run in the Bamboo and get a cheap chinee one
There is a fear that 'odd' cars require specialist mechanics so that's another perception-driven problem
The transmission issue tarnished the rep of that model Cruz, so those who know, are wary
The Cruz was discontinued in the US...not sure for the rest of the world, so that's worth investigating

Long and short is if resale is a big deciding factor for you, buy something JDM

Postby MG Man » November 1st, 2019, 9:00 am

wagonrunner wrote:relative has a 1.8 chevy cruz..
I got a chevy source in miami.
doesn't help wrt the engine / transmission as the car is south.korean.
verify what you are buying.

https://en.vindecoder.pl/KLY2B41YDAC546044

Continental Parts in Aranjuez brings in Cruz parts....I buy parts from them for the MINI and their prices are often cheaper than if I were to skybox the parts myself

Postby wagonrunner » November 1st, 2019, 6:23 pm

MG Man wrote:Continental Parts in Aranjuez brings in Cruz parts....I buy parts from them for the MINI and their prices are often cheaper than if I were to skybox the parts myself

will try to remember that, next time the're looking for something

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 1st, 2019, 7:34 pm

It's a Daewoo with a different badge.

Also general motors doesn't really care much for the customer. Lack of aftermarket parts. All lead to low desirability which means that demand is also low

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 2nd, 2019, 5:55 pm

^^Exactly.
So story time.....at one point in time, GM owned a plethora of brands and Daewoo Motor of South Korea was one of them. But it goes deeper than that, Daewoo was more of a paper brand because their platforms, suspensions, braking systems, electricals, engines and transmissions were sourced from the Opel parts bin (at least most of it). Opel also supplied all these parts to Vauxhall for certain models and then most recently to Holden again for certain models.

It was only a matter of time until all these brands with products competing with each other becomes an undesirable business model. Over the years, GM shut several brands down (Geo, Oldsmobile, Pontiac, Saturn, Hummer and of course Daewoo) which was escalated due to the 2008 global financial crisis. The Cruze started life as the Daewoo Lacetti Premier (the successor to the Chevy Optra aka Daewoo Lacetti) but was then named as Chevrolet Cruze so that buyers will forget that Korean brand.

GM made a hit with that Chevy as they sold, (I think it’s around 4 million units globally within a decade IIRC). Things started to slide again for GM for 2 reasons: firstly, reliability and secondly, car sales are sliding worldwide in favor for crossovers, suvs and pickups.

The 2nd gen Cruze will remain selling in Latin American and other countries until it will eventually meet its demise as GM will focus on where the money is.

It should be noted, GM even realized sourcing technology from Opel was not a profitable venture so they sold those 2 brands (Opel and Vauxhall) to Peugeot-Citroen (PSA).

Now that the excess fat is cut, would GM focus on improving their lineup? The answer to that question is, sure they will. Will we then see a truly American engineered car to compete with the likes of the Corolla, Sentra, Civic, Mazda3, Elantra and Cerato? I don’t think so.

Once a product is finished for good, resale will tank. Get rid of your Cruze now. It doesn’t stop there, the Sonic, Malibu and Impala’s days are also numbered. Ford is doing a similar thing by axing the Fiesta, Focus, Fusion and Taurus etc.

You want a compact car to buy, your best bet is a Mazda 3. You studying resale, then it’s a Corolla. You want speed then it’s a Civic 1.5 turbo. You want lots of glitz and glam at a reasonable price then Elantra/Cerato. Your life is boring and you feel like you want some trouble then Ford Focus and VW Jetta is for you.

Choose wisely.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 18th, 2019, 8:52 pm

agent007 wrote:^^Exactly.
Your life is boring and you feel like you want some trouble then Ford Focus and VW Jetta is for you.

Choose wisely.

Ah ha ha ha ha ha :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

boxy

Postby boxy » December 22nd, 2019, 3:10 am

*KRONIK* wrote:We have a chevy captiva. It works good, but i had had a “do-over” i would have bought something else.

Resale sucks.
Parts suck.
Lifestyle motors suck.
Simpson finance sucks.

Meh....
Out of curiosity why do all of them suck?