Price drop on the 2018 CRV ? Yeah, right !!

ramishrrr

Price drop on the 2018 CRV ? Yeah, right !!

Postby ramishrrr » October 27th, 2017, 7:03 am

Folks,
The new 2018 CRV has a 1498cc engine istead of 2000cc.
It means that instead of 35% Customs Duty on a 2000cc vehicle , ANSA motors will pay 25%.
The MVT will now be TT$7,495 before VAT instead of TT$22,387.
Of course after all these reductions, the VAT also will drop.
Now..........................will there be a drop in price ?
Peace.
RR.

drchaos

Re: Price drop on the 2018 CRV ? Yeah, right !!

Postby drchaos » November 14th, 2017, 12:47 am

Its not badly priced at 359K.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 6th, 2017, 10:23 pm

That's a pretty decent price. I believe a fully equipped Rav4 can reach $400k and that last one I drove had a boring interior. The torque specs from that 1.5T though.. I like them!

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 9th, 2018, 9:33 pm

The special introductory price was $359,000, but that deal has expired. It's currently at $369,000, and I was told that it MAY reach a final price of $379,000 soon.

car

Postby car » January 9th, 2018, 9:36 pm

3stagevtec wrote:That's a pretty decent price. I believe a fully equipped Rav4 can reach $400k and that last one I drove had a boring interior. The torque specs from that 1.5T though.. I like them!

375k fully loaded

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 10th, 2018, 2:25 pm

car wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:That's a pretty decent price. I believe a fully equipped Rav4 can reach $400k and that last one I drove had a boring interior. The torque specs from that 1.5T though.. I like them!

375k fully loaded
So it has increased to 375,000? I was quoted 369,000 a few days before Xmas.

car

Postby car » January 10th, 2018, 3:06 pm

375k they told me on the 2nd of Jan

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 10th, 2018, 8:59 pm

Ok... Interesting.

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 20th, 2018, 10:58 pm

Confirmed... New Price set at 379,000

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 21st, 2018, 12:10 am

A honda is close to half a million....??

What a rip off....best to buy a bmw or someother brand named euro...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 21st, 2018, 11:38 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:A honda is close to half a million....??

The X1 is closer to half a million and is much smaller ... Whats your point?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 21st, 2018, 11:41 am

Also wait till the demand drops off and ANSA normally gives big discounts to move vehicles.

I have heard/known of people getting 15 to 30K knocked off the price just like that.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 21st, 2018, 5:52 pm

drchaos wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:A honda is close to half a million....??

Point is..yuh hadda be chupid to pay half a mill for a honda...

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 21st, 2018, 7:39 pm

I can't see how you can compare a CRV/Rav/CX5 with a similar size European. The X1 is a Subcompact SUV going for more than 400,000. The X3 is the more similarly sized SUV and goes around 550,000. That's a big difference in price if you ask me.
Maybe my pockets just not as deep.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 21st, 2018, 7:52 pm

Crv vs tiguan maybe??

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » January 21st, 2018, 8:02 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Crv vs tiguan maybe??
Yeah, the new Tijuan is an option. BA doest have the new model in Stock. but I was told it can be ordered. One of the managers told me it starts at 450,000/460,000 for the 2.0.
A salesman told me hey may be looking at the 1.4TSI in the near future, and take this with a pinch of salt, but he said it may start at 290,000

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 22nd, 2018, 12:43 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
drchaos wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:A honda is close to half a million....??

Point is..yuh hadda be chupid to pay half a mill for a honda...

But you are not paying half a mill for a Honda ... Still dont get your point.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » February 1st, 2018, 12:31 pm

This is up for real argument, but as far as my experience has shown, there is NOTHING superior to the Japanese in terms of value for the dollar. European vehicles are not as cost-effective as Japanese. Maintenance cost is way higher. Too, in years to come, the Japanese is easier to sell, and you get a better percentage of the original price than the European.
That said, let's deal with the Honda with the 1500cc turbo engine.

The motor vehicle manufacturer's business is to make vehicles, and sell them. Years ago Volvo had an ad saying " The average lifespan of a Volvo in Sweden is 17 years". They pulled that ad after a while. You see, with world trends as they are NO ONE wants to keep any car for 17 years except the fix-the-unfixable Trini. Everyone out there wants to be seen in a sparkling car as often as possible. So the manufacture make the cars for them.
They tell you it is a 1500cc engine that will be energy efficient, not a gas guzzling 2000cc. But to make the small engine pull a bigger car, they add a turbocharger, which of course cost money, as well as an intercooler. Maybe it has to use Premium, I do not know. It will even out-accelerate the N/A 2000cc. But that engine is under pressure all the time. So the question begs itself....how long will it last ?
Honda as well as the others do not care after the warranty is up. Did they not give you what you wanted in a new car ? Even the Hyundai Tucson comes with a 1600 Turbo.
Just remember, that the tax increases the government implemented in January should not affect any vehicle 1599cc and under. But who is to say ?
I hope that some of you arguing here are not the ones with a penchant for champagne, but has money in the wallet only for puncheon rum.
Peace.
RR.

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » February 7th, 2018, 8:49 pm

I was told late last year that there would be a lower model trim of the CRV available in Feb, and I can confirm that Classic has imported a few of these. I was told $314,000 a while back, but seeing it's actually here, I may be wrong with the price. Cloth seats, no led headlights, smaller infotainment (5"), smaller rims (17s), no Panoramic Sunroof, no side curtain, no powered tailgate or remote/push button. Still not a bad deal in my eyes

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2018, 9:54 pm

ramishrrr wrote:This is up for real argument, but as far as my experience has shown, there is NOTHING superior to the Japanese in terms of value for the dollar. European vehicles are not as cost-effective as Japanese. Maintenance cost is way higher. Too, in years to come, the Japanese is easier to sell, and you get a better percentage of the original price than the European.
That said, let's deal with the Honda with the 1500cc turbo engine.

The motor vehicle manufacturer's business is to make vehicles, and sell them. Years ago Volvo had an ad saying " The average lifespan of a Volvo in Sweden is 17 years". They pulled that ad after a while. You see, with world trends as they are NO ONE wants to keep any car for 17 years except the fix-the-unfixable Trini. Everyone out there wants to be seen in a sparkling car as often as possible. So the manufacture make the cars for them.
They tell you it is a 1500cc engine that will be energy efficient, not a gas guzzling 2000cc. But to make the small engine pull a bigger car, they add a turbocharger, which of course cost money, as well as an intercooler. Maybe it has to use Premium, I do not know. It will even out-accelerate the N/A 2000cc. But that engine is under pressure all the time. So the question begs itself....how long will it last ?
Honda as well as the others do not care after the warranty is up. Did they not give you what you wanted in a new car ? Even the Hyundai Tucson comes with a 1600 Turbo.
Just remember, that the tax increases the government implemented in January should not affect any vehicle 1599cc and under. But who is to say ?
I hope that some of you arguing here are not the ones with a penchant for champagne, but has money in the wallet only for puncheon rum.
Peace.
RR.

Oh dear god ... Another Fossil who thinks "turbo engines" are under pressure all the time and will not last long. Charged engines are not the future old man, they are the present .... You do know that material science has come a very long way and that Turbo's are old tech right? Even Toyota Turbocharging their engines ...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 2nd, 2018, 12:08 am

The AWD (4x4) CRV is closer to $400k ($39x) iirc. A similarly equipped 1.6L Turbo AWD Hyundai Tuscon is $320 or there about.. and the Tuscon isn't a bad buy either.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » March 19th, 2018, 11:13 am

Did anyone do a test drive so how it handles?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 20th, 2018, 12:15 am

3stagevtec wrote:The AWD (4x4) CRV is closer to $400k ($39x) iirc. A similarly equipped 1.6L Turbo AWD Hyundai Tuscon is $320 or there about.. and the Tuscon isn't a bad buy either.

You just gotta decide what you want and the 4x4 fully loaded tucson 1.6T is 355K not 320K ... The Tucson also has disadvantages at its cheaper price point.
Its smaller, interior is less sophisticated and cheaper feeling, Dual clutch transmission which could end up causing you headaches since they don't do well in crawling traffic, piss poor infotainment system (small size, no colour, no android auto or apple car play), more expensive to maintain since Tucson has a 5K km service interval while the CRV has a 10K interval and lastly the resale on a CRV is and will be way better than a Tucson.

LordBrandon

Postby LordBrandon » June 22nd, 2018, 2:30 am

Alot of you all missing a Huge point too......NONE of those other vehicles stated above will be as Reliable, Safe and of Real Value worth for your money compared to a CRV and RAV4. *fullstop*

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 22nd, 2018, 11:25 pm

Brandon, you're on to something there. The 2.0 MPi unit combined with the 6AT torque converter automatic was a more stable combination for our market (Tucson) and would be more reliable in the long term. With the advent of the 1.6 GDi-T and dry clutch DCT, I just don't trust that combo. In fact, I don't trust any dual clutch be it dry or wet. I would take a Honda CVT over a DCT despite the heavy boredom associated with one.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 29th, 2018, 6:18 am

agent007 wrote:. . .In fact, I don't trust any dual clutch be it dry or wet. I would take a Honda CVT over a DCT despite the heavy boredom associated with one.

You can't drive a DCT the same way as a torque converter automatic or CVT.