My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build - Stock Frame dyno results

NXTREME

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build-In progress of break in

Postby NXTREME » September 4th, 2014, 8:05 am

cant believe where this car is now, i still remember like it was yesterday when u bought it, GOOD JOB hoss :D

wana-B-racer

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build-In progress of break in

Postby wana-B-racer » September 8th, 2014, 9:28 am

What's up guys, been a long time since i'v updated this build, so here goes
While in the break in process my balance shaft nut that holds the independent shaft(without belt) backed out on me while driving. Causing me to loose oil pressure and oil, fortunately i caught it on time and had the vehicle towed to my buddies home and had it repaired. I used lok tight this time.
Also had some idling issues, checked for vacuum leaks, thought was the bigger intake manifold, but turned out to be the Idle Air Control Valve, so i bought a new one. Car idles around 1100 RPM though.

Had the Open Dump re routed back into the exhaust (was too loud on boost). Now its quiet.

Continued the break-in process changing oil about 4 times (overkill) Finally, i had Ryan over to give me a proper tune on premium. We settled the car at waste-gate pressure which is 20 PSI. Car pulls really good at that boost pressure, we haven't done any dyno time as yet so i can't say where i'm at. Feels like 300 WHP though. and maybe the same torque. The 2.4 helps with off boost performance and spools the turbo nicely. I see 18-20 PSI by 3800 RPM.

I know i stated that i wanted to achieve 375 - 425 WHP on SUPER but from my tuners stand point and others as well that might be very difficult.

Will be running Dual maps next with a SUPER FUEL tune around 20 PSI (waste-gate pressure) and a PREMIUM FUEL tune around 28 PSI. Hoping to achieve 400 WHP on the Premium tune. Both will be with Water/Meth.

Will be going to the DYNO soon, have some things to change, the wally 255 LPH might change to an AERO Stealth as well as a hard wire. My LICP got a sink from hitting something on the road so i will be changing that. I am already running duel jets for my water/meth so i might just increase the sizes.

So more updates soon!!

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build- Tuned on 20 PSI !!!

Postby 16 cycles » September 8th, 2014, 2:39 pm

how will map switching be handled? aux switch on meth gauge?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » September 8th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Nope will be using the intercooler spray button

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » September 10th, 2014, 3:10 pm

Tephra v7 ftw

Glitch

Postby Glitch » September 11th, 2014, 7:24 am

^^ you know it :D

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » September 11th, 2014, 2:28 pm

I was in a similar scenario to yours until we got e85 here. Crappy gas at the pump and going to run meth to compensate. I think running the meth kit on all the time is unnecessary. When you are driving you are either driving for economy (premium) or pleasure/performance (premium+meth). My thoughts are super has no business being in an evo period. Not trying to flame or anything but If you want to save money on gas you should buy a beater and leave the evo as the toy. A car like that shouldn't be running on such shitty gas. Trying to get around that with meth is risky unless you have a really really good fail safe.

That said I think you should focus on keeping things simple and safe. Simple =

1) Main Maps for Pump
2) Alt Maps for Pump+Meth

Safe? Use the adc input on the ecu (pin 42 for VII ecu) instead of the ICS button for map switch. This way you can run a built in failsafe trigger to switch maps once voltage signal drops. Likewise you can control the map switching via the gauge for the meth system. When you want performance switch on your gauge which changes the ecu to your premium+meth tune. When you are just cruising and want to save gas and meth keep the system off / ECU using main maps for boost, fuel and timing.

If you did things this way you could get a picture of this scenario: You are cruising along in your evo with meth kit off in "economy" mode (main maps tuned for pump only) minding your own business. A car pulls up next to you and chookin fire...you power on the meth gauge and because this is running to the ADC input on the ecu your car switches to the ALT maps for boost, fuel and timing: kill mode on - you ready to go. Let's also say on another day the flow sensor in your meth system registers an underflow condition and it triggers the fail safe, the ecu would switch back to the MAIN maps for boost, fuel and timing instantly - potentially saving your motor because those maps are conservative due to being set for pump gas only.

This to me is the safest way to run meth kit on an evo that is a daily driver. If you ran both your main and alt maps for meth what happens when your kit fails? You may run a MAC valve to lower boost but chances are your afrs and timing maps were done with Meth in mind and are much leaner and more advanced than is safe for pump. Problem I see with meth is it works so well that people often end up tuning on the edge leaving little room for safety if something bad were to happen. You see the gains and say...little leaner...little more boost and timing and then one day your kit delays or fails. In reality for a meth kit to be reliable you have to inspect the entire system every month, check condition of lines, make sure there are no blockages or leaks, inspect filters et al....who really going to do that every month? Chances are no if you're being honest with yourself.

If you want to run with the kit ON all the time for both a premium and super map then I'd make sure the tune is very conservative and the meth is only there as an extra safety margin. But if you run it this way then you're not really making any extra power...so what's the point?

Glitch

Postby Glitch » September 11th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Thats an excellent idea actually....

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » September 12th, 2014, 7:23 pm

Excellent read R.Mutt, will be telling my tuner

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » October 27th, 2014, 8:54 am

Ok Update time

Realized the timing on the car was totally off, i misunderstood the Advancing/Retarding of the cam/camgears. I took it to mean when building the 64 block you have the 3.75° +/- of the cams to set because of the additional 6 mm deck height. So what i did was Zero the Cam Gear and advanced the cam 3.75° as you can see in my past photos. This was Wrong!
What i was supposed to do was Zero the cams and set the Cam Gear 3.75° Retard.
So after figuring that out i decided to make some changes once more
Removed the Forced Performance Beehives and upgraded to GSC 5041.
Removed the Revolvers and Upgraded to GSC R2's
Removed the OEM Throttle body and Installed a 70mm Upgrade
Removed the Water/Meth System and Installed new wit 5 gallon, Failsafe and New controller
Head after removal of cams.
I changed the springs and retainers while the head was on the block, had to fab something up to compress the springs

TriniGT

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build- Upgrades and Timing over

Postby TriniGT » October 27th, 2014, 9:06 am

Good stuff!

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » October 31st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Hnnnng....Those cams! Nice choice man...you will make great power on a stroker with those bad boys.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » November 27th, 2014, 2:25 pm

Forced Performance J-Pipe

Forced Performance Cast Manifold
Did not choose the porting option, so i may polish it up a bit inside

Runners look larger already and collector look like it will flow better

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » November 27th, 2014, 2:28 pm

More stuff on the way

Postby shogun » December 5th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Just keep the pics/updates coming.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » December 17th, 2014, 2:24 pm

My Tuner wanted me to upgrade my fuel so
Stealth

3/8" Fuel Braided line with Fittings

Fuel Pump Connector to 6an Fitting

Carbon Fiber Headlight eyelids (Changing out the painted ones)

Carbon Fiber Taillight eyelids (Don't know how these will look)

Thanks for the support

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build- Fuel Upgrades and some

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 17th, 2014, 3:23 pm

very nice bro!...

Postby nervewrecker » December 18th, 2014, 12:18 pm

saw it in your yard some time ago.

Does always watch it.

Postby 16 cycles » December 18th, 2014, 8:42 pm

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » December 22nd, 2014, 2:12 pm

16 cycles wrote:http://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-general/557528-aeromotive-340l-s-keeps-dying-me.html

Fyi

Yeah i read that already, took me 3 months of research before buying a fuel pump, I have researched AEM, Walbro, Aeromotive, Deatschwerks,TRE, FullBlown, Do It Yourself Modified Walbro 255, Buschur Modified walbro, DCR Modified pump, racetronix and the list goes on and on.

All pumps fail at one point, certain groups like certain brands and others another.
We'll see how this one turns out.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » December 31st, 2014, 11:13 pm

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » January 9th, 2015, 9:31 pm

what size? high or low Z?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » January 12th, 2015, 6:30 pm

High z 1100cc

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2015, 7:22 pm

Saw it in the yard yesterday. Actually slowed down to take a proper look.

I <3 it

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » January 12th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Nice, I run those exact injectors in my car. They are ease to dial in and very smooth idle during idle and open loop. I have pump gas scaling and latencies that should get your trims withing -/+ 5 if you want.

wana-B-racer

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build- Cross roads-T3 or Stock Fram

Postby wana-B-racer » January 17th, 2015, 11:01 pm

Came across this kit for a really good price, so i bought it. It runs the Garrett GT35 with a Tial 38mm

Wheel size is very close to my stock frame setup right now, only advantage is the Dual Ball Bearing. I know i can upgrade later for more power but i built my setup around the turbo i have now. Maybe if i don't achieve the power i set out for i may use this setup.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 17th, 2015, 11:49 pm

What's the latest with this?

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » August 28th, 2015, 12:22 am

Hey whats up people. Well I decided to stay with the stock frame setup.
Went through some different brands and combinations
Ended up settling with another upgraded FP with map compressor wheel.
Dyno tested the setup and will post pics and possibly a video.

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build - Stock Frame dyno results

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 28th, 2015, 6:13 am

heard some series power went down..congrats bro

R-tune

wana-B-racer

Re: My EVO 7 4G64 Budget Build - Stock Frame dyno results

Postby wana-B-racer » August 28th, 2015, 8:25 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:heard some series power went down..congrats bro

R-tune