A17 project-RB25DET

speed

A17 project-RB25DET

Postby speed » November 30th, 2011, 2:30 pm

rb20e engine an box
Last edited by speed on August 7th, 2012, 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

trinibuggy

Re: A17 project

Postby trinibuggy » December 1st, 2011, 12:02 am

waste of time swap IMHO should've gone SR 20DET or ca18DET...Rb20E only has 130HP from that heavy azz engine!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 1st, 2011, 12:11 am

shouldve gone 4g63t with a supra/rx7 box or something :D

all in all tho, different strokes for different folks. i love a good RB, one might endup in the S. keep us updated on ur progress OP. should be a nice car if done right. what you building for? drag ?

Postby sliderz1 » December 1st, 2011, 12:58 am

**subscribed**

speed

Postby speed » December 1st, 2011, 6:44 am

i plan on turbocharging it wanna build it for drag

legoRB

Postby legoRB » December 1st, 2011, 5:45 pm

Bought it like this or did swap yourself???

Keep us updated...and we love pics... :D

speed

Postby speed » December 1st, 2011, 5:57 pm

did every SINGLE tings myself

legoRB

Postby legoRB » December 1st, 2011, 6:08 pm

Cool...keep it up...and member to keep us updated.

:D

speed

Postby speed » December 1st, 2011, 6:55 pm

so more pics dey fellas

d spike

Postby d spike » December 1st, 2011, 7:45 pm

Nice work, Speed. I know you should be happy with this set-up, it being more your speed! Can't wait to see it in action... and certainly with the turbo! Keep strong.

speed

Postby speed » December 1st, 2011, 7:51 pm

tanks dey spike wat became of the 2000 engine i sold u

d spike

Postby d spike » December 1st, 2011, 9:50 pm

It did yeoman's service in a 4-wheel drive for a while, then I used the head in the Vauxhall. Will clean it up and drop it in an Escort sometime next year.

Postby Monk BANzai » December 2nd, 2011, 12:35 am

good stuff...dont you just hate it when ppl come and tell you what you shud do with your own dreams?

steups....

keep going at it....

speed

Postby speed » December 2nd, 2011, 7:04 am

is ah gud ting i does jus ignore dem

nigie

Postby nigie » December 2nd, 2011, 7:34 am

Great speed.....good luck with the build....

Postby Monk BANzai » December 2nd, 2011, 12:32 pm

kinda concerned bout the structual integrity of this tho..w.hat are your plans for it?

Postby cinco » December 2nd, 2011, 4:14 pm

was watchin that too
hope you are caging
and your engine bay ground point on the shock tower did you sand it?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 2nd, 2011, 5:52 pm

trinibuggy wrote:waste of time swap IMHO should've gone SR 20DET or ca18DET...Rb20E only has 130HP from that heavy azz engine!!!

Cool it nah...

BTW nice to see you've started your project! Good Luck

speed

Postby speed » December 2nd, 2011, 7:07 pm

yer i wanna build a cage an yer i sanded where i put my grounds
anyone know where i cud get a turbo manifold for my engine

Postby Rooki3 » December 2nd, 2011, 8:36 pm

eyy, eny yur d dude that had d escort build thread?

if so, i like yur spirit towards these lil projects, keep @ it son!!

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 2nd, 2011, 9:01 pm

speed wrote:Image

so more pics dey fellas

Street or Track?

d spike

Postby d spike » December 2nd, 2011, 10:05 pm

NOMOSS wrote:Street or Track?

speed wrote:i plan on turbocharging it wanna build it for drag

speed

Postby speed » December 2nd, 2011, 11:17 pm

well it go be street an track cuz i need my car to move about

moti

Postby moti » December 2nd, 2011, 11:55 pm

cool..................just happy it's not another sr lancer
nissan engine but hey what the hell......car looks good on the outside
install a dash and floor mat after ensuring there are no rust you will be covering up.

nice car though, keep at it

legoRB

Postby legoRB » December 3rd, 2011, 5:30 pm

moti wrote:just happy it's not another sr lancer

X100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

speed

Postby speed » December 3rd, 2011, 9:41 pm

dash goin bac in as soon as it's done

ANY HELP FELLAS WIT DE TURBO MANIFOLD

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » December 3rd, 2011, 11:53 pm

gracen wrote:
trinibuggy wrote:waste of time swap IMHO should've gone SR 20DET or ca18DET...Rb20E only has 130HP from that heavy azz engine!!!

Cool it nah...

i not bashing the build lol..gl with d build though speed hope to see the finished product soon.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 4th, 2011, 1:34 am

in terms of the manifold. you can put up a WTB post in the auto parts section. might have better luck there.

instead of drag, why not keep it non turbo, prep the chassis and run it at TIME ATTACK :D

nice suspension and you should do niceeeeeee.

ok ok, ill stop with the time attack stuff lol.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » December 9th, 2011, 12:26 am

RB20E? lets see how much you will spend to get it to do 200hp-250hp , stock rb20 turbo and manifold $2000 , 6 turbo injectors $1000 , (6) 8.0:1 Low Compression Pistons as these will have 9.5:1 High Compression Pistons which is a hazard if you want to get good power from it $1000, RB25DET Air flow Meter i guess $500 , SAFC $1500 = $6000 For a safe reliable Motor that might get you 200hp+ and last a few years as the Stock RB20ET is 170hp from the factory.

The RB20ET from factory does 170hp On 7psi most likely, so if the RB20E Can get you 145 hp n/a thats 170-145= 25hp and then divide it by 7, thats 3.5hp per pund of boost , so on 15 psi you might get around the 200hp mark Mayb more mayb less cause i learnt this for four cylinders lol.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » December 12th, 2011, 4:42 pm

you might want to do some reading at these threads Buddy.
long story short , unless you are very lucky fella , you will have to custom make a Complete Turbo Manifold or buy a rb20det extractor , cut the flange off, machine/lazer cut out a new Flange and weld it on , RB20DET Extractor Manifold $1500 (no sense doing it on a cast iron) Custom Flange $800 , Stainless Steel welding $800 mayb mor mayb less by BCR. Or complete Manifold because those are for Nissan Chassis by BCR around say $5000 (an sr20 one is around 3500-4000).

make sure and read out these , be prepared for dissapointment though.

Turbocharging an RB20E

http://www.toymods.org.au/forums/tech-c ... stion.html

http://www.automotiveforums.com/t186408 ... tion_.html

http://www.skylineowners.com/forum/show ... p?t=157850