The Official Car Care Thread

kamakazi

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby kamakazi » November 8th, 2018, 8:49 pm

My recommendations are based from YouTube...

Clay is considered like emergency treatment for paint... Use only if your paint is that far gone

Polishing step comes before waxing.

Get your paint ceramic coated as it makes cleaning in the future easier

I normally just wash, dry and wax...I Polish if I have time.

Get a Grit guard... It helps with washing.

Generally stick to one brand for compatibility

That is all I have... Hope it helps... Check YouTube for more tips

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » November 9th, 2018, 12:47 pm

Thanks

Postby Ted_v2 » November 9th, 2018, 7:45 pm

Where can I get a Clay bar in South Trinidad?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 10th, 2018, 5:48 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Where can I get a Clay bar in South Trinidad?

You should be able to get the Mothers clay bar kit at any of those auto shops along Cipero Street in San Fernando, for sure at Carplus at the top of Cipero Street.

Postby j.o.e » November 11th, 2018, 9:10 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Where can I get a Clay bar in South Trinidad?

You should be able to get the Mothers clay bar kit at any of those auto shops along Cipero Street in San Fernando, for sure at Carplus at the top of Cipero Street.

Carplus for sure. Just note that they moved from the top of Cipero street years now. About halfway down close to the lock and key place before Scotiabank

Postby Ted_v2 » November 11th, 2018, 8:07 pm

actually the lock and key place is located in the same compound if i can recall properly.

a good lube for the clay bar work is still diluted car wash right?
will investigate some bug and tar remover too.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 11th, 2018, 11:04 pm

They normally provide instant detailer as the lubricant for claying paint

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 12th, 2018, 6:10 am

Are those local car wash solutions, and car care products in general, any good? I see more and more local manufacturers offering car wash solutions. I am all for supporting the local economy, but not if what is on offer is going to damage my paint in the long run.

Mothers Carpet and Upholstery Cleaner costs $50+, whereas Lanher Auto Carpet and Upholstery Cleaner costs around $20. The Armorall car wash solution in PriceSmart costs around $89, whereas, a local car wash solution in those 5L bottles costs around $30.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 12th, 2018, 6:09 pm

Used to believe in those stuff long ago. Till my Lancer door upholstery got gummy like tar from a bad batch . A lot of failure on the market. Bought some tire shine about a month ago, two bottles actually. Two different brands and they are junk. Bought some interchem for 100$ a L. Mixing that 1:3 with water. Bess I ever see in my life.

Not worth it imo for local stuff unless it's bleach or black disinfectant

aidan

Postby aidan » November 13th, 2018, 6:35 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Are those local car wash solutions, and car care products in general, any good? I see more and more local manufacturers offering car wash solutions. I am all for supporting the local economy, but not if what is on offer is going to damage my paint in the long run.

Mothers Carpet and Upholstery Cleaner costs $50+, whereas Lanher Auto Carpet and Upholstery Cleaner costs around $20. The Armorall car wash solution in PriceSmart costs around $89, whereas, a local car wash solution in those 5L bottles costs around $30.
Specialist chemicals in barataria have a car wash called fleet wash. It works great. I use it in my foam cannon with great results. Cheap and effective. After every wash I always use a spray was for some extra protection.

Postby M_2NR » November 21st, 2018, 10:32 pm

Anyone using sio2 spray sealants like carpro reload etc? I bought some to top up a ceramic coat but ended up using it as a stand-alone. So far it is working really nice on polished paint, plastic and trim. I’m monitoring it on the glass.

My next buy may be either something like bead maker or mckees sio2 spray.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 23rd, 2018, 12:44 am

I use hydrofoam. Was initially gonna get reset and reload but the dual action of hydrofoam is convenient.
The only difficult thing is applying. I’m not a fan of having to drag out a pressure washer everytime, and the spray bottle method is exhausting. Will try using a bucket or foam gun next time, but figuring out the dilution ration will be tough.

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2018, 10:18 pm

There is a lot of hype of a product called bead maker. My friend ordered some and I can’t wait to see how it performs. I see meguairs is also pushing a hybrid ceramic wax too

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2019, 8:19 am

buffed the wife's Focus over the holidays using a Meguiars dual action buffer and M205 ultimate finishing compound. That DA buffer is frigging awesome...and basically idiot-proof to use.

Cheddar

Postby Cheddar » January 31st, 2019, 1:37 pm

Can anyone recommend where in the south area sells good buffing and polishing pads to use with a machine polisher

Postby rspann » January 31st, 2019, 7:16 pm

MG Man wrote:buffed the wife's Focus over the holidays using a Meguiars dual action buffer and M205 ultimate finishing compound. That DA buffer is frigging awesome...and basically idiot-proof to use.

QED. :D :D

Postby Ted_v2 » February 1st, 2019, 9:22 pm

getting alot of finger prints on my van, my hands are often dirty so it could be me or someone else. whats the recommended way to get these out? i use meguires carwash and ironx once very 3 months, both of them doesnt do anything at all with these stains

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 2nd, 2019, 2:10 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:getting alot of finger prints on my van, my hands are often dirty so it could be me or someone else. whats the recommended way to get these out? i use meguires carwash and ironx once very 3 months, both of them doesnt do anything at all with these stains

Very interesting question Ted_V2.

The fingerprints on your van can be caused by a number of different factors.
For me to assist you in solving your fingerprint issue, provide me with some information.

1. What is the colour of the vehicle?
2. What type of paint is it? Single stage paint? Base and clear coated paint?
3. What is the age of the paint?
4. Is the paint fading?
5. When you say " your hands are often dirty" Is it oil? grease? soil? etc

Postby gastly369 » February 2nd, 2019, 7:33 pm

Had some fun weekend with this

Not bad at all must say
IMG_20190128_100218-01.jpeg

Postby Ted_v2 » February 2nd, 2019, 8:39 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:getting alot of finger prints on my van, my hands are often dirty so it could be me or someone else. whats the recommended way to get these out? i use meguires carwash and ironx once very 3 months, both of them doesnt do anything at all with these stains

Very interesting question Ted_V2.

The fingerprints on your van can be caused by a number of different factors.
For me to assist you in solving your fingerprint issue, provide me with some information.

1. What is the colour of the vehicle?
2. What type of paint is it? Single stage paint? Base and clear coated paint?
3. What is the age of the paint?
4. Is the paint fading?
5. When you say " your hands are often dirty" Is it oil? grease? soil? etc

its a 2k white single stage paint, i est its just under 2 years old. The vehicle however is 12years old. The paint isnt fading however in my opinion, but i honestly dont have a eye for this.

my hands are often dirty with grease, very mild amount .. However i only grab the door handles and a lil edge on the door.. The average person can notice these spots as they are quite proud.
i have a theory about my dad touching the van and his hands leaving oil from his skin, where i work is dusty so the dusty somewhat covers this smudge and make it appear to be worst..

i havent touched this vehicle with anything more than the meguiar's car wash and the ironx.

as we already in this advice stage, what road tar remover you recommend?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » February 7th, 2019, 10:28 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:its a 2k white single stage paint, i est its just under 2 years old. The vehicle however is 12years old. The paint isnt fading however in my opinion, but i honestly dont have a eye for this.

my hands are often dirty with grease, very mild amount .. However i only grab the door handles and a lil edge on the door.. The average person can notice these spots as they are quite proud.
i have a theory about my dad touching the van and his hands leaving oil from his skin, where i work is dusty so the dusty somewhat covers this smudge and make it appear to be worst..

i havent touched this vehicle with anything more than the meguiar's car wash and the ironx.

as we already in this advice stage, what road tar remover you recommend?

Based on the information you've provided I think the stains on the paint can be a result of 3 factors.
1. The nature of single stage paint Single Stage paint is porous and can stain easily especially with grime and grease

2. Unprotected Single Stage Paint oxidise much faster that protected paint. Applying a paint sealant on a properly prep'ed surface will assist to resist contamination and reduced oxidation as paint sealants act as a sacrificial barrier. Examples of paint protection are Waxes, Synthetic Sealants and Modesta Pure Glass Coatings. Oxidized paint tends to "hold" stains as the paint becomes extremely porous.

3. Your Environment. As you have admitted your hands are often dirty and you park in a dusty environment which can contribute to the stain/ contamination on your paint. Try washing your hands more often or parking in a less dusty environment.

With all of the above being said I recommend you apply some sort of paint sealant to protect the paint. This sacrificial barrier will assist to prevent oxidation and resist some of your contamination issues.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 30th, 2020, 4:05 pm

Kinda tough to post after what was displayed above. Any how... Recently I gave Armorall extreme shield wax a try. A bit tough to apply on a clean (stripped of wax/protection) surface. Had a easier go when I used mother's micropolishing glaze before. It is one of the best combinations I have witnessed in terms of water beading up and running off with some level of longevity (short of a full on ceramic coat).

Also using mother's CMX for my wax as you dry (even though I don't think it contains any wax)... It does make drying the vehicle with a microfiber towel easier.

Anyone else used these products... Not going to lie the Armorall looks like straight up silicone to apply to your paint

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 10th, 2020, 9:37 am

Anybody know if iron removers are sold locally, and if they are "delicate" enough on paint

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2020, 10:46 am

kamakazi wrote:Anybody know if iron removers are sold locally, and if they are "delicate" enough on paint

Meguiars has an iron decon, but I think it only comes in gallons. Garage Fresh probably has stock
Designed for paint so once you follow the instructions it will work as intended

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 10th, 2020, 2:09 pm

Thank you for the info... Will look into it

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 21st, 2020, 1:29 am

Cheddar wrote:Can anyone recommend where in the south area sells good buffing and polishing pads to use with a machine polisher

Anywhere in south has these hook and loop foam pads? Just checking what other options available besides Car Plus

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 20th, 2021, 12:34 pm

Has anyone use ethos car care products?

Postby nemisis » February 4th, 2021, 3:43 pm

Not sure where to ask this and was using the search function. Do you all know where do repairs/redo the roof upholstery for the euros specifically Audi.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 27th, 2021, 9:12 pm

anyone uses like a fleet wash product like nerta ?

i wanna get something to start doing touchless washes on my vehicles, i not able with the mothers wash im currently using. car plus should have ent?

Postby Dave » February 27th, 2021, 9:19 pm

Interchem has simple green and a wash and wax. The simple is the foaming solution.