The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

rebound

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby rebound » October 20th, 2020, 8:39 am

Is that an original El Camino, or made up?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » October 20th, 2020, 11:17 am

rebound wrote:Is that an original El Camino, or made up?
No a El Camino is a Chevrolet

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » October 20th, 2020, 8:06 pm

Fb fs
FB_IMG_16032386049465686.jpeg

The attachment FB_IMG_16032386049465686.jpeg is no longer available

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Postby supercharged turbo » October 21st, 2020, 2:57 am

Did that 120y come original like that?Not seeing any pics on the web of something similar

Postby K74T » October 21st, 2020, 8:59 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Did that 120y come original like that?Not seeing any pics on the web of something similar

Nope it didn't

VII

Postby VII » October 23rd, 2020, 10:13 am

Wow great post,I was born in the 70s,anything before Dr Eric Williams and Bob Marleys death in '81 was a blur,but Mr Munro and his Rolls was legend that we grew up on and stood out,I honestly thought he got it a lil later than 80,I remember seeing him in town on evenings after his Cinderalla shoe stores were closed cruising Frederick and Henry street ,despite his eventual troubles he really hit a sweet spot with that car as it just came out and had a production run well into the late 90s..it was the current rolls for a long time,almost 2 decades..

Mr Munro was truly a rich man,he built Spectakula Forum which was state of the art at the time,he was a true Richie Rich personified,but like many businessmen at the time the mid to late 80s recession got him.

My question is how did he keep the rolls from being driven and flashed by others after he went into receivership ? This was the car that everyone spoke about in those days costing a million (cost was much less actually) and coveted by many,even my dad was being lined up as a potential buyer but wasnt the type to take advantage of others misfortune,so he declined the offer and bought a new Benz and a new royal instead..

It's really strange that it has popped up now and in such apparent great condition,how was the body and interior after all those years ? Original unrestored ?

Karim Khan wrote:Karim Khan High End Detailing on this 1980 Silver Sprit Rolls Royce

I am posting this in this thread as it may be appropriate.

Enjoy

History
Based on the Vehicle Identification Number, this classic Rolls Royce Silver Spirit was manufactured in 1980 at the Rolls Royce Crewe manufacturing plant England. The heart of this beast is a thirsty 6750cc V8 naturally aspirated carbureted engine with a three-speed automatic gearbox producing 198.5BHP at 3800RPM. (In those days, it probably passed everything ... except the gas station).

The vehicle was imported into Trinidad and Tobago from the world-renowned and most prestigious Jack Barclay Ltd. According to their website "Jack Barclay London, is the world’s oldest and largest Bentley Dealership. Established in 1927 and situated within Mayfair’s famous Berkeley Square London". Berkeley Square is located smack dab in the middle of Central London in the vicinity of Covent Gardens, Hyde Park and Knightsbridge.

This land yacht landed on the shores of Trinidad in early 1980, sourced by a prominent businessman who enjoyed the vehicle for several years before it was "dry docked" in a barn/warehouse for the last 10-15 years or so (I stand to be corrected) before it was sold/transferred.

The interesting part of this story is that the present owner fell in love with it back in the glory days when he was employed by the owner of the car, and he was the one who used to wash it! To me, this is very motivational as this guy came full circle to self actualize and achieve his goals and desires. In my opinion, this embodies our national watchwords: discipline, tolerance and production.

That being said, I was recommended to this client by a long-standing customer of mine, a person who I would consider a foundation trinituner. Upon meeting with the client, assessing the condition of the vehicle and understanding the customer's expectations, I accepted the job while feeling truly honoured to be chosen to assist this client in achieving his dream!

Below is a short video of some of the work done. I wish I could have documented the entire process but I still enjoy keeping some mystery ;)
Enjoy and please feel free to leave a comment

https://youtu.be/
Last edited by VII on October 23rd, 2020, 11:09 am, edited 4 times in total.

VII

Postby VII » October 23rd, 2020, 10:31 am

As were on the topic of Rolls Royces,anyone has pics of Mootilal Moonan's fleet of Rolls Royces ,and are there any still left lined up at his old house in Valsayn as they were for years ?

And what about that blue Ferrari from Valsayn and all those 911 Porsches ?

Many people don't realize that this high end car thing was always with us here in sweet T&T..

Moonan had a Rolls royce for everyday of the week btw..these fellas now playing catch up with they bentleys etc...lol.. :)

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » October 24th, 2020, 8:55 am

Fb fs 1 owner
FB_IMG_16035112887362759.jpeg
FB_IMG_16035113430664283.jpeg

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » October 24th, 2020, 11:08 am

Back up for sale
Screenshot_20201024-110725_Lite.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2020, 12:03 am

Saw that RR Silver Sprit at the owner's factory recently, man that thing is a beaut, finish was like glass

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » October 26th, 2020, 7:02 am

Black Scorpion wrote:Back up for saleScreenshot_20201024-110725_Lite.jpeg

Engine note working but still calling $20,000?

VII

Postby VII » October 26th, 2020, 9:36 am

Pics?

That thing just disappeared after the original owner got into difficulty and the subsequent fire sale,saw many others over the years including the silver spur and bentley version but not that one.. seems to be well kept and preserved unlike many others...

Maybe someone thought they had a collector's item and treated it as such..last time I saw that car was as an early teen when my dad was invited to buy it..

The nostalgia is strong here,kept me up the night I saw the post by KK..that's my childhood there, lol..seeing that car on Frederick or Henry st long ago was amazing...

eliteauto wrote:Saw that RR Silver Sprit at the owner's factory recently, man that thing is a beaut, finish was like glass

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 28th, 2020, 9:39 am

Where spann he get a ban awa ?? What going on with your build sir??

I spann

Postby I spann » October 29th, 2020, 9:19 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Where spann he get a ban awa ?? What going on with your build sir??

1971 GTO
The attachment 5be16e0d-8761-4d9d-ac30-5d41d5055b6e.jpg is no longer available
f260b935-9077-44bd-8ead-375c4709804c.jpg
c23376e5-0d02-4cf8-a9c1-8a9b54f003ef.jpg
5be16e0d-8761-4d9d-ac30-5d41d5055b6e.jpg

I spann

The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby I spann » October 29th, 2020, 9:22 pm

1961 Impala “ coming along “
Chassis being painted

163de11e-fdc7-4c34-85ab-4be0f50f4024.jpg
b44b14df-0296-4a7f-8a80-23a28dceea01.jpg

I spann

Postby I spann » October 29th, 2020, 9:40 pm

7bb3d065-52ad-49a3-a6ad-6b18ee20d7d0.jpg
afaad9e6-a707-40f5-b926-f3e6225e3bf3.jpg
25b7bace-0969-4a21-b84c-2274433d9096.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » October 30th, 2020, 6:49 am

I spann wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Where spann he get a ban awa ?? What going on with your build sir??

1971 GTO
Question: how come this car was sent by SKR for the bodywork?
Ent R.Spann has a garage/body shop?

LordBrandon

Postby LordBrandon » October 30th, 2020, 8:33 am

Fast & Furious Build Anyone?
Screenshot_20201030-082910~2.jpeg

Postby Dave » October 30th, 2020, 8:55 am

Used to see this car all over.
Would love to know what happened to it?

LordBrandon

Postby LordBrandon » October 30th, 2020, 9:07 am

Usual thing probably, went from owner to owner get shake dong until engine give up or something electrical happen.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 30th, 2020, 10:53 am

If it wasnt lefthand drive, i wouldnt mind

rebound

Postby rebound » October 30th, 2020, 10:54 am

I spann wrote:

1971 GTO
Impressive work, no lie.

Postby eliteauto » October 31st, 2020, 1:06 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
I spann wrote:

1971 GTO
5be16e0d-8761-4d9d-ac30-5d41d5055b6e.jpgf260b935-9077-44bd-8ead-375c4709804c.jpgc23376e5-0d02-4cf8-a9c1-8a9b54f003ef.jpg

What he told me once is he has the skill but not the time, so send it to someone with both. All dem crash euros he fixing paying for it anyways :lol:

limegreen

Postby limegreen » October 31st, 2020, 7:34 am

I spann wrote:

1971 GTO

wow excellent work here

Postby *KRONIK* » October 31st, 2020, 7:40 am

Lol

Makes sense
eliteauto wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
I spann wrote:

1971 GTO
5be16e0d-8761-4d9d-ac30-5d41d5055b6e.jpgf260b935-9077-44bd-8ead-375c4709804c.jpgc23376e5-0d02-4cf8-a9c1-8a9b54f003ef.jpg

What he told me once is he has the skill but not the time, so send it to someone with both. All dem crash euros he fixing paying for it anyways

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » November 4th, 2020, 11:09 am

Dont see these often...
20201104_110907.jpg

Postby MG Man » November 4th, 2020, 11:40 am

love those