T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 2nd, 2016, 6:35 am

I think he means beating up in the sense that the only ones who complain are those who couldn't afford to buy a 600k vehicle anyway.

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 7:34 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I think he means beating up in the sense that the only ones who complain are those who couldn't afford to buy a 600k vehicle anyway.

Right, but it's not about that, A lot of us can afford it, but we're just talking about the value of what you're getting for the money.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 2nd, 2016, 8:25 am

Yeah with 7 year car loans the sky is the limit on what cars we can afford these days.

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 9:02 am

lol i swear everyone got some snarky comment to make on any topic...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 2nd, 2016, 9:09 am

Yeah sure. It suddenly doesn't apply for the entry level vehicles? Civic is "value" at that price but not the mustang? I'm sure both are overpriced.

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 9:24 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Yeah sure. It suddenly doesn't apply for the entry level vehicles? Civic is "value" at that price but not the mustang? I'm sure both are overpriced.

Yes, both are overpriced lol
I never said it didn't apply to entry level vehicles :P

I'm not really making a big deal about the whole topic, tho, all I said was that I think the mustang is overpriced lol

Postby A172 » December 2nd, 2016, 9:30 am

at 35k cnf with a 5000cc engine 1.16m more than reasonable, dai like a 20% markup

mvt alone on that engine is close to 400k with updated luxury tax duties and mvt

but ofc trinis just hear d price and quick to cyak nah jed cars too overprice in trini, i cud ger sopm btr for dah

and while yes you could get sumn better it still don't change the fact that the car is well priced based on actual cnf & taxes, hence the usual beatup from unaware opinion

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 10:06 am

A172 wrote:at 35k cnf with a 5000cc engine 1.16m more than reasonable, dai like a 20% markup

mvt alone on that engine is close to 400k with updated luxury tax duties and mvt

but ofc trinis just hear d price and quick to cyak nah jed cars too overprice in trini, i cud ger sopm btr for dah

and while yes you could get sumn better it still don't change the fact that the car is well priced based on actual cnf & taxes, hence the usual beatup from unaware opinion

Lol Yes, it is well priced based on taxes etc

When I said overpriced I didn't necessarily mean the markup..
I meant it's so overpriced because of the ridiculous taxes etc that something that starts at 25k elsewhere can get to the price we'll pay locally.

Postby A172 » December 2nd, 2016, 10:16 am

comparing trini to other countries expecting same across the board then complaining

this is new & exciting

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 11:16 am

Ugh Nevermind lol
But you gotta admit, the taxes are pretty ridiculously high...

Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby cinco » December 2nd, 2016, 11:55 am

baigan wrote:Ugh Nevermind lol

Speak to someone from Singapore and come back. Even speak to a Bajan

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 2nd, 2016, 12:03 pm

I hear wha yuh saying but we also have some of the most stable and cheapest gas prices for years so the taxes supposed to be a deterrent against guzzling.

The taxes don't really stop the purchases as previously mentioned financing is readily available meaning they not as bad as some might say.

United States is probably the only country with cheap cars. Trinidad prices not the highest by far so latching on to US as the example is folly. They probably more an exception.

baigan

Postby baigan » December 2nd, 2016, 12:19 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I hear wha yuh saying but we also have some of the most stable and cheapest gas prices for years so the taxes supposed to be a deterrent against guzzling.

The taxes don't really stop the purchases as previously mentioned financing is readily available meaning they not as bad as some might say.

United States is probably the only country with cheap cars. Trinidad prices not the highest by far so latching on to US as the example is folly. They probably more an exception.

Hmmm true, agreed : P

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » December 7th, 2016, 8:03 am

Why the ass the 1.5 civic turbo more expensive than a Tuscon????

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 7th, 2016, 9:20 am

^^ I doh no why either cuz Taiwanese parts just as good or even better than Japanese OEM.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 7th, 2016, 4:25 pm

cinco wrote:

singapore.JPG

That's almost TT$613,661.00 for the 1.5T Civic in Singapore. Our price here looking like a steal of a deal in comparison.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2016, 4:27 pm

cinco wrote:

singapore.JPG

That's almost TT$613,661.00 for the 1.5T Civic in Singapore. Our price here looking like a steal of a deal in comparison.

That price is even before the registration which allows you to have a car from the yearly quota

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 7th, 2016, 7:30 pm

This link gives a pretty nice breakdown on what Singaporeans face before they hand over that cheque...
http://dollarsandsense.sg/no-nonsense-e ... expensive/

Postby eliteauto » December 7th, 2016, 11:05 pm

Tax IYMC

versatile

Postby versatile » December 8th, 2016, 7:19 am

Avoid the luxury tax and gas guzzlers, check out my Honda Accord 3.5 V6 with vehicle cylinder management system. Car in mint condition only doing 61,000 km:
PCR Honda Accord 3.5 V6 $185k negotiable
viewtopic.php?t=690101

Postby Chimera » December 8th, 2016, 7:39 am

Allyuh better delete that link before Imbert see it and get any ideas

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 8th, 2016, 8:24 am

cinco wrote:

singapore.JPG

Its not a steal of a deal here compared to Singapore prices ... Their price comes with amazing road infrastructure, road safety with proper enforcement of rules and a best in class public transport system that is safe and efficient.
Their GDP is also about 3 times what T&T is which makes their "riddiculous price" seem actually not that ridiculous.

We have none of the above here except and inflated price.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 8th, 2016, 11:52 am

drchaos wrote:
cinco wrote:

singapore.JPG

Its not a steal of a deal here compared to Singapore prices ... Their price comes with amazing road infrastructure, road safety with proper enforcement of rules and a best in class public transport system that is safe and efficient.
Their GDP is also about 3 times what T&T is which makes their "riddiculous price" seem actually not that ridiculous.

We have none of the above here except and inflated price.

What about the gas price you pay here as compared to them?

And Car pricing based on GDP??

BRB going Haiti to buy a car!!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 8th, 2016, 12:53 pm

I think singapore gas prices are as high as europe.

GDP was just used to show how a richer population can afford higher prices ...Their price structure was designed to get cars off the road and for people to get their asses on trains and buses.

Haiti seems to have it nice boy ... some random sites say a golf 1.4 tsi is around 30K usd. When BA was talking bout bringing the golf here the base price was looking around 280K +

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 15th, 2016, 11:17 pm

How the civic going chaos

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 16th, 2016, 7:39 am

At 1300 km's now. Going good so far! There is a small problem, when started multiple times for the day around 3rd time you get a 1 second grinding noise. Seems to be a world wide problem many people on international forums complaining. Honda so far has said they are looking into it. Most people who have owned Honda's say its the vtc actuator engaging early, and does not affect the engine. So will see how that unfolds.

Otherwise everything else is good. Car pulling real good and has a good induction note when pulling off (might be artificial), started to notice the CVT and the drone is there when you mash down but the car stays in the powerband. So far its very smooth, no hesitation and not clunky at all.

Entertainment system is clunky and not very intuitive but apple carplay working real well, hoping we get android auto soon in our region so I can check that out. Driver A pillar is vibrating on rough roads and need to get dealer to sort that out at first service. Rest of the interior is holding up nicely and feels well put together. Interior is very spacious indeed, trunk seems a bit shallow cause of the coupe like styling.

Still can't get over how nicely honda tuned this suspension, just a smidgen softer than the jetta but the damping over our roads is miles ahead. Engineers said they bench marked BMW 3 series suspension, not exactly there but they did a really good job, feels slight better than the tiguan ( bad comparison but its what I accustomed to)
Car came filled with super and filled with premium twice and did not hear or feel a difference, so just filled back with super for further testing.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 16th, 2016, 6:21 pm

Cool scene chaos.

Anyone see the redesign planned for the Mazda cx5

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » December 17th, 2016, 1:08 pm

kamakazi wrote:Cool scene chaos.

Anyone see the redesign planned for the Mazda cx5

Yup. I like it very much actually. Not excited for the price though locally :lol:

agent007

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby agent007 » December 19th, 2016, 11:58 pm

2016 Suzuki Baleno 1.4 hatchback has arrived:

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » December 20th, 2016, 1:53 pm

^ fugly