T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Ted_v2 » February 20th, 2021, 10:36 am

anyone checked out the suzuki ciaz yet? cng ready 3 years warranty. 164 i think.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 20th, 2021, 10:50 am

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone checked out the suzuki ciaz yet? cng ready 3 years warranty. 164 i think.

and Lifestyle Motors and RBC are offering 10years financing

LSM_FebruaryOffer_AC_210201_google_Ciaz (1).jpg

Postby j.o.e » February 20th, 2021, 12:18 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone checked out the suzuki ciaz yet? cng ready 3 years warranty. 164 i think.

10 years financing ?!!! Madness

rebound

Postby rebound » February 20th, 2021, 2:20 pm

I would have thought the interest would have been higher but, its app. 25 -30K over 10years.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 21st, 2021, 9:01 am

yeh i now checked the interest, its not to bad.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 21st, 2021, 9:02 am

Looks like the old model

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 22nd, 2021, 4:09 am

Who really gonna tie down themselves to a car loan for ten years...thats just crazy....

rebound

Postby rebound » February 22nd, 2021, 7:57 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Who really gonna tie down themselves to a car loan for ten years...thats just crazy....
People already tied down in 7year car loans, so I guess the institutions pushing the limits

Postby MG Man » February 22nd, 2021, 8:11 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Who really gonna tie down themselves to a car loan for ten years...thats just crazy....

I guess ppl like me who keep a car forever
Depending on your finances and living situation, that eh bad

Postby Dave » February 22nd, 2021, 8:14 am

Car dealerships want to sell cars. If they have those terms then one can have a qualifying salary of as little as 6k and get a brand new car!
Dealership wins and the consumer. At what price......

Capleton

Postby Capleton » February 22nd, 2021, 9:36 am

This should be interesting since the Ciaz is already really good on fuel. Add CNG to that and you should be able to some serious kms. Also the trunk of the Ciaz is really big, so I bet you can still fit a nice size cooler in your trunk even with the CNG tank.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 23rd, 2021, 5:06 am

Saw the install already, very impressive, huge af trunk for a vehicle of that size.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 23rd, 2021, 6:48 am

Scariest part of that Ciaz would be the line up to fill the tank I think. Not enough stations and pumps so there is always a crowd by the major ones.

And at that installment price you could easily double up on payment if you want. The price probably gets a good bit of ppl in the door. Who really want to travel in Trinidad now?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 8:58 am

PapaC wrote:Scariest part of that Ciaz would be the line up to fill the tank I think. Not enough stations and pumps so there is always a crowd by the major ones.

And at that installment price you could easily double up on payment if you want. The price probably gets a good bit of ppl in the door. Who really want to travel in Trinidad now?

I fill up at Ramco Trinicity fairly often and have never really seen long lines for the CNG pumps, usually less or at least no more than the regular liquid fuel pumps.

Maybe the times I go the CNG drivers already home

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 10:47 am

A172 wrote:Agent I know you were interested in laser lights so here you go.

the tech is nothing short of amazing

Lafast said 60k to spec lasers lol

616165559.jpeg560474935.jpeg321768619.jpegPXL_20210114_195556223.jpegPXL_20210114_195704856.jpegPXL_20210114_195630354.jpeg

Breds, that car looks amazing. Would really love to see the lights at night. Do you have any reviews or comments on how well they work in comparison to LED, xenon and halogen?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 10:49 am

Monk BANzai wrote:Question. Is there a local dealer for MG now?

Seeing this ad pon the IG.... Screenshot_20210119-004332__01.jpegScreenshot_20210119-004346__01.jpeg

I happened to see this in person. I would rather take my chances with a BAIC x25.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 10:53 am

SLVR1 wrote:Saw this is now available locally Mazda CX30 -
Core: $288,000
Core+: $306,000

What a lovely vehicle. One of the best in the segment. SS is doing something right. Notice how they priced the CX-3 and CX-30 with 2.0L engines. It’s parallel to Kia pricing somewhat and I’d rather that Jap built master piece over them 2 airbag Indian/Malaysian built kia’s.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 10:56 am

acmilan11 wrote:Called toyota this week about the rav4 prices, hybrid model was $735k, the other two non hybrid models were $395k fabric and leather being $435k. Prices just too way imo.

My contact confirmed to me that the 2020 RAV4 hybrids that are on the roads, none were imported by TTTL. I’m thinking MASKA? He confirmed it would be a special order for any interested person and the cost would hover around $750k in fully loaded form.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:04 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Had a chance to get some photos of the all new 2021 Hyundai Elantra at Massy Motors San Fernando before the official launch.
The seventh generation Elantra comes fully loaded for TT$265,000.

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_1.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_2.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_3.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_4.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_5.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_6.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_7.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_8.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_9.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_10.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_11.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_12.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_13.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_14.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_15.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_16.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_17.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_18.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_19.jpg

2021_Hyundai_Elantra_20.jpg

Very polarizing design but I have my doubts on longevity of some of the electrical components in the car. If you observe Kia’s, those vehicles don’t age very well. You see blown LED running lights, bulbs, failed actuators, bad sensors etc. list goes on. Notice with the previous Elantra that came with the LED DRLs. Most if not all have a 100% failure rate. I know Kia is to Hyundai just like Seat and Skoda is to Volkswagen hence they’re cheaper to make and the value proposition is to jam pack features to sell them. I get that strategy but I would advice potential buyers to wait a bit first and avoid the first or even second model year, until certain bugs and gremlin fixes updates are applied. We know that they would never solve all, but it’s to reduce your headache as the car climbs in age.
Last edited by agent007 on February 23rd, 2021, 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:11 am

nemisis wrote:The facelift NP300 suppose to arrive by June according a massy sales rep and the fully loaded NT32 increased to 465K….that’s an whole 11K increase any real reasons for this?

Ever since they cried about the Xtrail hybrid selling more than their inventory, since beginning of 2018, Xtrail sales have been dismal. You would think after the restructuring (which is ongoing), they would reduce overheads somewhat. Well turns out the status quo hasn’t changed. So, executives must be paid their increases as well as fat bonuses. Whilst sales have slowed, in order to meet the GP targets they promised to the Board, they will simply increase prices. 465k for such a lackluster vehicle is absurd. When last I was there, the unit in the showroom had no auto dimming mirror, no parking sensors, no crash avoidance or driving assistance tech and it had a 5” non touch display screen. You really have to be a brain washed Nissan die hard fanatic to plunk down that kinda cash on that. I’ll take a Forester easily...

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:15 am

j.o.e wrote:Remind me of those old school vacuum cleaner with the light on the front

My thoughts exactly. When you watch this new Creta and Seltos etc and compare the designs to a CX3 or CX30, you would really begin to wonder if Peter Schreyer really approved of those designs.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:19 am

Habit7 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Question... Is it more expensive for dealers to bring in smaller displacement turbocharged versions of the same vehicles already being sold... I'm thinking that the prices should be similar with more money going towards the car and less going towards engine displacement VAT.

Toyota has a 1.2 turbo Corolla
Hyundai has a 1.0 turbo i20
Suzuki has a 1.0 turbo swift
Honda has a 1.0 turbo Civic
Nissan has a small Renault turbo engine

1. Ansa has all their Honda CRVs as 1.5L Turbo and it is still competing price-wise with the 2.0Ls Toyota Rav4, Nissan Xtrail and VW Tiguan
2. Small displacement engines that are turbocharged are great new, but in the long run, they don't have the longevity of NA engine.

Very true. That’s why I am a bit of a Mazda fanboy as of late. NA engines with torque converter automatics. No small displacement turbo paired with CVTs. And for the turbo they produce, ie. The 2.5T, it’s actually conservatively tuned to give a better everyday drive and not to be a drag race specialist. This is excellent engineering and foresight.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 23rd, 2021, 11:34 am

agent007 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Remind me of those old school vacuum cleaner with the light on the front

My thoughts exactly. When you watch this new Creta and Seltos etc and compare the designs to a CX3 or CX30, you would really begin to wonder if Peter Schreyer really approved of those designs.

Views on the new Creta agent,Heard it’s coming with a new transmission. I know the DCT in the Tucson is a nightmare correct ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:36 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Question... Is it more expensive for dealers to bring in smaller displacement turbocharged versions of the same vehicles already being sold... I'm thinking that the prices should be similar with more money going towards the car and less going towards engine displacement VAT.

Toyota has a 1.2 turbo Corolla
Hyundai has a 1.0 turbo i20
Suzuki has a 1.0 turbo swift
Honda has a 1.0 turbo Civic
Nissan has a small Renault turbo engine

1. Ansa has all their Honda CRVs as 1.5L Turbo and it is still competing price-wise with the 2.0Ls Toyota Rav4, Nissan Xtrail and VW Tiguan
2. Small displacement engines that are turbocharged are great new, but in the long run, they don't have the longevity of NA engine.

Yea I don’t get what’s Ansa Mcal’s rationale for selling the 1.5l CRV close to the price of the Rav4 2.0l where the difference in tax is around 100k.

Also, in my opinion, regarding the point that most people share that small displacement turbo engines are unreliable compared to NA engines, is becoming moot as of within the last 2-3 years.
Manufacturers these days know more now on how to make engines that can better tolerate the stresses of turbos compared to their first gen engines.
Example: VAG’s newer EA211 vs the older problematic EA111 engines.

VAG, Ford etc. has been doing this a while now.
Toyota and Honda, on the other hand, are relatively new to the mass market small displacement turbo engines.
But, they’re always late to adopt new technologies for obvious reasons.

This is also true. Local Honda owners have not complained at least to my knowledge about the new Earthdreams turbo found in the Civic and CRV. And now we have 4+ yrs of data to rely on and they seem to be aging fine.

Mitsubishi’s Eclipse Cross has a similar engine but it uses 8 injectors instead of 4 for direct only. Based on load etc, it switches from port to direct and vice versa. This is to promote longevity and what a genius idea it was to do so. The oldest EC on our roads are already 2 years old and I haven’t heard of any issues of note.

Even the Chevy Equinox in a non typical GM way proved to be quite reliable after 2.75 yrs on our market. The Chevy Trax has been more reliable than its non turbo older Cruze sibling. Even the new Cruze with a completely different 1.4T seems to be generally more reliable.

The Ford EcoSport apparently has been somewhat reliable, better than the Focus they use to sell, as I have not read or heard about anything negative about it except that it a bit ugly lol.

I don’t have much data on Subaru turbos except to say that EJ engines, as they age, they tend to blow head gaskets but I know Subaru and Mitsubishi knows turbocharging pretty well.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t look too good for the Kuga, Jetta, Passat, Tiguan, A4, A6, Q3 and Q5. I’ve heard of endless horror stories with this batch. Lately I’m seeing grey market imported roro Qashqai and CHR 1.2Ts. Only time would tell if those vehicles can prove reliable.

Maintenance is key and some horror stories can also be attributed to owners not doing their part and I’m willing to accept that.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 11:43 am

randolphinshan wrote:
agent007 wrote:

Views on the new Creta agent,Heard it’s coming with a new transmission. I know the DCT in the Tucson is a nightmare correct ?

You will hear more on that creature in a subsequent post. I’m in partial lockdown still and haven’t been out to dealers in a while. Concerning the Tucson, at one point in time, when you add the amount that I saw on Facebook, pin.tt and Trinicarsforsale, I counted 32! (Trinicarsforsale had 19 posted). And this is in specific reference to the 1.6T DCT Tucson. Not the 2.0 6AT versions. What an abject failure of a crossover. Even owners are not loyal and parting ways. They nice to drive with the purpose of flogging. They’re deceptively quick especially in base 2WD form which is most of them. But to commit to it? I think not. Would I buy, lease or rent it? I would say rent.

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2021, 12:52 pm

my shillings are ready

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2021, 1:04 pm

Admit it, you done secretly ordered one and yuh say fire bun that Type-S?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 1:27 pm

agent007 wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
agent007 wrote:

You will hear more on that creature in a subsequent post. I’m in partial lockdown still and haven’t been out to dealers in a while. Concerning the Tucson, at one point in time, when you add the amount that I saw on Facebook, pin.tt and Trinicarsforsale, I counted 32! (Trinicarsforsale had 19 posted). And this is in specific reference to the 1.6T DCT Tucson. Not the 2.0 6AT versions. What an abject failure of a crossover. Even owners are not loyal and parting ways. They nice to drive with the purpose of flogging. They’re deceptively quick especially in base 2WD form which is most of them. But to commit to it? I think not. Would I buy, lease or rent it? I would say rent.

I have the 2.0l gas version of the 2016 Tucson and recently I was heading up Arima side an afternoon and a blue 1.6lT version was also heading that way. Guy driving it was real Fast and Furiousing it up but kept getting all the red lights anyhow. I tried on several pulloffs to keep pace but nada. Didn't use sport mode or the manual shift feature but I'm sure I was still getting smoked anyhows.
Caveat - mine is also the 4x4 so I assume I am carrying some extra weight on the 2wd.

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2021, 2:10 pm

agent007 wrote:Admit it, you done secretly ordered one and yuh say fire bun that Type-S?
lol boy i still want a little toy to play with, torn between a Type S and CTR

will def be getting the W206 though

regarding the lasers it a lot more advanced than LEDs. Does cool things like go around oncoming cars, move in real time with the steering(much different to adaptive) and in terms of output it nothing short of amazing

lowered it and installed the M Performance BBK

567797369.jpeg
1095148997.jpeg
Last edited by A172 on February 23rd, 2021, 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebound

Postby rebound » February 23rd, 2021, 3:32 pm

Yes!!!