T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

TrinbagoMan

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 29th, 2020, 11:16 am

Anyone considering a new pickup... Nissan, Toyota, or VW?

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 29th, 2020, 12:06 pm

capleton, no because you can buy the kit online and have it installed separately.

trinbagoman, I think some waiting on the new D-Max and BT-50 siblings to arrive in T&T. Last I heard was Q1 2021.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2020, 2:56 pm

If I was in the market for a hilux I would wait for the facelift model

carluva

Postby carluva » September 30th, 2020, 9:27 pm

https://www.caradvice.com.au/876680/202 ... r5-review/

Note the part about "massive price increase". Imagine when this hits our shores... The legendary Hilux might surpass 400k.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 30th, 2020, 9:38 pm

And the spec they'll probably bring locally will be trashhh... 350k for a srv right now specd is soo much of a let down

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 30th, 2020, 9:43 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:Anyone considering a new pickup... Nissan, Toyota, or VW?
Actually just purchased an np300,

Coming from ownership of a d40, currently owning 2018 bt50, and friends literally with all of the others except the vw I can provide some/most answers to questions you may have. Pm me if you want

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 30th, 2020, 11:28 pm

Nick, would you say it’s better overall? Meaning your new D23 vs the D40. Would you say it handles better, brakes better, shifts smoother, smoother ride, better build quality? Does it feel more spacious or more powerful? How about fuel consumption? What about the ride height and ground clearance, is there a noticeable difference? Lastly, does the new one have the rear diff locker and did the old one offer it?

Your perspective please based on your ownership experience, thanks.

arsenal32

Postby arsenal32 » October 1st, 2020, 12:06 pm

agent007 wrote:capleton, no because you can buy the kit online and have it installed separately.

trinbagoman, I think some waiting on the new D-Max and BT-50 siblings to arrive in T&T. Last I heard was Q1 2021.

Yea waiting for the new models and saving for the wrangler pickup same time lol...current favs are the existing colorado and ranger so waiting to see if the new bt/dmax is convincing

Postby supercharged turbo » October 1st, 2020, 6:14 pm

Why did SS stop bringing the K2700 double cab?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 2nd, 2020, 5:00 pm

I just can’t recall any K2700 d/c at all. Perhaps since SS already sells a d/c Isuzu with a higher payload at a reasonable price?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 2nd, 2020, 5:03 pm

agent007 wrote:Nick, would you say it’s better overall? Meaning your new D23 vs the D40. Would you say it handles better, brakes better, shifts smoother, smoother ride, better build quality? Does it feel more spacious or more powerful? How about fuel consumption? What about the ride height and ground clearance, is there a noticeable difference? Lastly, does the new one have the rear diff locker and did the old one offer it?

Your perspective please based on your ownership experience, thanks.
I am still unbiased in my purchase although many may think I only listing positives. I will call it out on any shortcomings because there's at least one of the latest model (except the vw and Colorado) of local dealer pick-ups present in the family. I ain't fighting any fans of a certain brand.

This is MY experience :

-Handles way better, turning circle caught me off guard as to how much improvement there is then the d40.

-Brakes aren't as *harsh* as the d40, but I feel there is more input needed to slow down in the np300. Best brakes by a landslide is the Srv, it's very assuring.

-Definitely shifts smoother than the d40, the gear ratios are muchh nicer with the same engine. Doesn't have that 'slingshot' feel as the 2018 bt50 and 2020 XLT. Cruising around 100 is effortless.

-Build quality is vastly improved, to me inside feels very suv/car like, what I despise is the chrome around the gear selector and smaller steering wheel.. Good amount of soft bits without nagging squeaky plastics like the d40 and '18 bt50. Cabin is not as quiet as the ford/BT, it's on par with srv.

-Comfort in the front is nice, I like the driving position and seat size , I'm extremely happy with fabric over leather, for some reason the Bt50 and Ranger leather seats hurts my back on long trips..The rear is a bit smaller than the previous vehicles. Although smaller, it isn't flat and bare, very comfortable still over the d40 seats but not as roomy and supportive as the BT, SRV and Ranger.

- Infotainment (Nissan connect), miles ahead of the SRV and bt50. Comes Carplay, android audio standard. It's slightly behind the sync3 system on the new XLT for customisation but it's faster and more sensitive so that's a plus.

-Fuel consumption, I got 650kms on the first tank from the firm, the second fill put the range meter to 815km, my avg fuel consumption lands me dead on 550km with 1/4 tank to spare. d40 that averaged 650k F-E . Bt50 gives a ritual 600km with 1/4 left

-The ride, I love it soooo much over the all i drove .very very comfortable on the 18s, and a hell of alot less body roll than the bt50/ranger. It feels very controlled on windy roads, stock Toyo tyres are quiet too. Srv Hilux felt the worse to me of the bunch.

-Powerful I don't know for sure yet haven't given it much pressure over the speed limit or towed anything, but throttle reponse is very responsive compared to the SRV. And God help that BT50/Ranger slingshot feel, this is much more linear.
Note this is the higher spec LE/Xgear, it has a different tune with more hp than the XE that many complained about a lazy throttle.

- Oh it makes lovely turbo flutter noises when it shifts just right, I like that.

- I left out the Dmax from all comparisons because it's the extremely base manual spec.

- yes it does have a diff locker which they lacked previously , I did not try any 4wd and locked up runs just yet. Just keeping the rpms in check for a little while longer. (Just my habit, who knows if a break in period is required?.)

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 2nd, 2020, 8:29 pm

Well reviewed! Enjoyed it more than anything from car advice. One thing I should point out is the front brakes, one of the reasons why I feel the srv does better in brake feel/assurance is because it has a double piston caliper setup and IIRC, the disc itself looks bigger than the np300 front rotors.

I’m not surprised you mentioned the d40 feels roomier than the d23 at the back. I read that the d23 is not exactly the true successor to the d40 hence in the North American market, a true successor (d41?) would finally replace its predecessor after 16 years on the market.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 2nd, 2020, 9:25 pm

Think it is a 4 piston caliper in the srv.

How are the piano black surfaces holding up so far (scratch wise)

Most vehicles require a break in period. Take it easy for the first 1000kms. Vary the rpms on the highway. Let us know the cost of servicing if you can
agent007 wrote:Well reviewed! Enjoyed it more than anything from car advice. One thing I should point out is the front brakes, one of the reasons why I feel the srv does better in brake feel/assurance is because it has a double piston caliper setup and IIRC, the disc itself looks bigger than the np300 front rotors.

I’m not surprised you mentioned the d40 feels roomier than the d23 at the back. I read that the d23 is not exactly the true successor to the d40 hence in the North American market, a true successor (d41?) would finally replace its predecessor after 16 years on the market.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 2nd, 2020, 9:36 pm

You are right. I should have mentioned it as double piston on either side of the rotor making it 4.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 3rd, 2020, 12:19 pm

kamakazi wrote:Think it is a 4 piston caliper in the srv.

How are the piano black surfaces holding up so far (scratch wise)

Most vehicles require a break in period. Take it easy for the first 1000kms. Vary the rpms on the highway. Let us know the cost of servicing if you can
agent007 wrote:Well reviewed! Enjoyed it more than anything from car advice. One thing I should point out is the front brakes, one of the reasons why I feel the srv does better in brake feel/assurance is because it has a double piston caliper setup and IIRC, the disc itself looks bigger than the np300 front rotors.

No issues on the piano black surfaces. But in the right light they act like mirrors on the console. My eyes are a bit sensitive and they will be hydrodipped or something tastefully when I get fed up.

The sales rep advised servicing prices:
5000kms - $1500
10000kms, 15000kms - $2500
20000kms - $ 4500

Servicing checklist by them is not what I expect or what I do at 5-7k intervals. So time will tell.

What I need to find out is if they will void my warranty for a secondary battery, things are brewing for when lockdown lifts and I could live in the wild

Postby Gladiator » October 4th, 2020, 10:20 pm

Who designed this mess.... that grill :?

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 4th, 2020, 11:26 pm

Yeah bmw, benz and Lexuw need some help with their designs. Right now the designs from LR, Jaguar, Volvo, Audi and Porsche are better.

limegreen

Postby limegreen » October 5th, 2020, 8:54 am

people with complain and still end up getting it lol

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 5th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Don't forget the Mazdas.. I coax a friend to get the cx5. She is loving it!
agent007 wrote:Yeah bmw, benz and Lexuw need some help with their designs. Right now the designs from LR, Jaguar, Volvo, Audi and Porsche are better.

Postby eliteauto » October 5th, 2020, 3:28 pm

I saw the net going nuts for that grille but seeing it coming off the assembly line I find it's not bad

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2020, 9:49 pm

Agent....any speculation as to how new vehicle prices gonna look now? I know yuh waiting to hit us a detailed write up...E bounce

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 6th, 2020, 12:45 am

Shakes, it’s funny you asked! Right now things are in a state of flux. Out of the 7 dealers, 6 talking to me right now cause one toting feelings due to something I mentioned. Anyhow it goes like this:

1. Continued forex woes means higher ER. Dealers have to pay for their cars in USD. A devaluation would mean automatic increases.
2. Supply issues mean less units sold. Less units sold means that their revenue and gp targets are lower than forecasted.
3. Some executive management individuals still demand that they live large. In an effort to pay them their fat bonuses and salaries from what they sell, the profit must be lucrative enough to float the company and yet make sure executives are well buttered.
4. Slower demand mean higher likelihood of more competitive pricing to encourage sales but this would not necessarily be the case.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 6th, 2020, 2:44 pm

2020 Subaru Outback 2.5i-S EyeSight - $573k
IMG_2439.JPG
IMG_2440.JPG
IMG_2443.JPG
IMG_2461.JPG
IMG_2460.JPG
IMG_2471.JPG

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 6th, 2020, 4:24 pm

Ewwww on the Tan interior ...But not bad overall!

limegreen

Postby limegreen » October 7th, 2020, 9:51 am

agent007 wrote:Shakes, it’s funny you asked! Right now things are in a state of flux. Out of the 7 dealers, 6 talking to me right now cause one toting feelings due to something I mentioned. Anyhow it goes like this:

1. Continued forex woes means higher ER. Dealers have to pay for their cars in USD. A devaluation would mean automatic increases.
2. Supply issues mean less units sold. Less units sold means that their revenue and gp targets are lower than forecasted.
3. Some executive management individuals still demand that they live large. In an effort to pay them their fat bonuses and salaries from what they sell, the profit must be lucrative enough to float the company and yet make sure executives are well buttered.
4. Slower demand mean higher likelihood of more competitive pricing to encourage sales but this would not necessarily be the case.

is new car gp shrinking as much as it is in the US

rebound

Postby rebound » October 7th, 2020, 1:35 pm

Subie looking strong boy.... gotta love em.
agent007 wrote:2020 Subaru Outback 2.5i-S EyeSight - $573k
IMG_2439.JPG
IMG_2440.JPG
IMG_2443.JPG
IMG_2461.JPG
IMG_2460.JPG
IMG_2471.JPG

mantis

Postby mantis » October 7th, 2020, 6:29 pm

Question what's your comments on the 2.0 Mazda CX5

Postby ismithx » October 7th, 2020, 7:33 pm

agent007 wrote:2020 Subaru Outback 2.5i-S EyeSight - $573k
IMG_2439.JPGIMG_2440.JPGIMG_2443.JPGIMG_2461.JPGIMG_2460.JPGIMG_2471.JPG

that price looking real hard to justify. local car prices are a scam yes

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 7th, 2020, 7:47 pm

Too much traffic so the plan us to raise the price of cars so that the poorest people cannot afford one

Donkey logic at its best

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 7th, 2020, 11:04 pm

mantis wrote:Question what's your comments on the 2.0 Mazda CX5
Bro. Excellence, simply put. Drives really well, good on fuel and looks amazing. The worst part of any Mazda is SS