T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » April 20th, 2021, 11:20 am

Joshie, thanks brother. I would have to disagree on the sales manager on a couple things he mentioned and the video was a bit awkward. When you go to the TTTL’s website, under brochure, it lists that the Hilux does come with the engine tuned for 200hp and 500Nm of peak torque. I’m also seeing that this refreshed Hilux still uses a belt driven hydraulic power assist steering. The only 2 pickups to use EPS or EPAS as some would say is the Ranger and Colorado.

I’m sure the Toyota sales manager response to this would be:

1. Toyota thinks long term, we care about your engine lasting beyond the 10 year loan you took to purchase it. A lower state of tune decreases turbo pressure on the internals and thus your seals, belts and gaskets lasts longer.
2. Toyota felt that a belt driven hydraulic assisted steering is more reliable and lasts longer than EPAS systems. Hydraulic steering assist augers better for off roading as well and is guaranteed to take you beyond the loan period.
3. We note that a competitor uses a 7AT transmission since 2015 with their van, however, we at Toyota preferred a 6AT transmission which does not go on a wild goose chase gear hop scenario typical with that Jatco supplied 7AT. So it might only be 6 gears but all will work beyond the loan period. We cannot say same for the other pickups.

Kaizen.

Postby Habit7 » April 20th, 2021, 1:40 pm

feeldavibe wrote:DRL's illegal? That's the excuse they're gonna go with? Don't the Ravs etc have DRL's?

All new Rav4s come with DRL as standard.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 20th, 2021, 3:10 pm

A question similar to what agent posed earlier on the CR-V must be asked here for the Hilux. What justifies that high price tag? It is not the high output engine (due to diesel quality). Do SUV-like seats, SUV-esque silver bezels on the dials ( :roll: on that btw) and rear AC vents justify such a price?

Perhaps its the same as Honda - the Hilux is priced to make it a leader over competition and because TTTL can and dotish minded Trinidadians will pay anything for the Hilux as its always sold out and if Raj doh want it, Sookram will definitely buy it for the same price. (OK - that last piece I added, but is pretty well what the dealers would say nonetheless).

Edit - the quantity of airbags is a plus though. About time these features come standard.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 20th, 2021, 3:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:
feeldavibe wrote:DRL's illegal? That's the excuse they're gonna go with? Don't the Ravs etc have DRL's?

We're going to have to send Mr. La Foucade (Sales Mgr. in the YouTube video above) to a Toyota showroom for some enlightenment soon then..wait.. :?

agent007 wrote:Joshie, thanks brother. I would have to disagree on the sales manager on a couple things he mentioned and the video was a bit awkward. When you go to the TTTL’s website, under brochure, it lists that the Hilux does come with the engine tuned for 200hp and 500Nm of peak torque. I’m also seeing that this refreshed Hilux still uses a belt driven hydraulic power assist steering. The only 2 pickups to use EPS or EPAS as some would say is the Ranger and Colorado.

I’m sure the Toyota sales manager response to this would be:

1. Toyota thinks long term, we care about your engine lasting beyond the 10 year loan you took to purchase it. A lower state of tune decreases turbo pressure on the internals and thus your seals, belts and gaskets lasts longer.
2. Toyota felt that a belt driven hydraulic assisted steering is more reliable and lasts longer than EPAS systems. Hydraulic steering assist augers better for off roading as well and is guaranteed to take you beyond the loan period.
3. We note that a competitor uses a 7AT transmission since 2015 with their van, however, we at Toyota preferred a 6AT transmission which does not go on a wild goose chase gear hop scenario typical with that Jatco supplied 7AT. So it might only be 6 gears but all will work beyond the loan period. We cannot say same for the other pickups.

Kaizen.

No worries, Agent. I admire your response. Had I not known better, I'd have missed the sarcasm and thought that you were a Sales Mgr. yourself.. :lol:

I agree about the mistakes from the Mgr. and to be fair, I think this is KDBA's first review from dealership, hence the awkwardness, though I think it'd be a great idea for us to have more of these types of videos (more in-depth, of course), so that we can give Paul Maric, Trent Nikolic et al an ease up, with a local spin on the CarExpert and CarAdvice.

Also, you're right!! The brochure says 150 Nm which works out to be 201 HP.. interesting.....

carluva wrote:A question similar to what agent posed earlier on the CR-V must be asked here for the Hilux. What justifies that high price tag? It is not the high output engine (due to diesel quality). Do SUV-like seats, SUV-esque silver bezels on the dials ( :roll: on that btw) and rear AC vents justify such a price?

Perhaps its the same as Honda - the Hilux is priced to make it a leader over competition and because TTTL can and dotish minded Trinidadians will pay anything for the Hilux as its always sold out and if Raj doh want it, Sookram will definitely buy it for the same price. (OK - that last piece I added, but is pretty well what the dealers would say nonetheless).

Edit - the quantity of airbags is a plus though. About time these features come standard.

So wham bruv, Kwame does drive nice thing too eh :lol:

Just like kamikazi and agent, you're spot on. One thing I'll disagree on though..airbags shouldn't be considered a feature, considering the stringent safety tests these vehicles go through in other markets. sheit..right...other markets. Forget I said anything.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 20th, 2021, 5:50 pm

Oh yes airbags! A sales person told me once, the more airbags you have, if you end up in a little collision that triggers the sensors, it could mean a constructive total loss (CTL) on your vehicle due to the cost to replace the bags and the seatbelts etc. He may have a point but you can’t put a price to one’s life. So I’d take the airbags, thanks.

Here’s a little airbag count for local pickups:
L200 Sportero - 7
Hilux - 6
Ranger - 6
BT-50 - 6
Amarok - 4
Colorado - 3
NP300 Frontier - 2
D-Max - 2

Postby aaron17 » April 21st, 2021, 3:32 am

Habit7 wrote:

Lolol..illegal?

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » April 21st, 2021, 11:21 am

agent007 wrote:Oh yes airbags! A sales person told me once, the more airbags you have, if you end up in a little collision that triggers the sensors, it could mean a constructive total loss (CTL) on your vehicle due to the cost to replace the bags and the seatbelts etc. He may have a point but you can’t put a price to one’s life. So I’d take the airbags, thanks.

Here’s a little airbag count for local pickups:
L200 Sportero - 7
Hilux - 6
Ranger - 6
BT-50 - 6
Amarok - 4
Colorado - 3
NP300 Frontier - 2
D-Max - 2

Why risk a total write off by having all the airbags the first world has when you can just die instead. :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 21st, 2021, 4:02 pm

Just hearing that interview reminds me that salespeople will say almost anything to get a sale.

People have to stop putting the word sporty in front of everything
Those rims remind me of the ranger rims... Nothing sporty about it

Not sure about LED increasing visibility at the rear of the truck unless they made it brighter. What I do know is that it can help drivers behind to react quicker when you apply your brakes.

If the shock absorber doesn't compress as much... That will definitely make your ride stiffer... Not good for comfort and no leaf spring rear axle is going to get close to the comfort of an SUV.

Longer leaf springs allow more spring movement. Larger piston shock absorber is meant to maintain control of the additional movement.

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2021, 11:04 pm

SSSL finally got the new D-Max, they look great. I am sure my bank will love if I get one.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 22nd, 2021, 1:56 am

IMG_3923.JPG
IMG_3943.JPG
IMG_3944.JPG
IMG_3929.JPG
IMG_3922.JPG
IMG_3938.JPG

Beware though, those boys up on the hill are cooking up a response to this. A certain van with quad LED projectors within the headlamp cluster is coming to clean up shop as early as June.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 22nd, 2021, 2:59 pm

Sadly it's just a bumper and light reskin offering from up the hill, same internals throughout. Already saw the outfitters preorders go live for the bumper, grill and flare upgrade. Personally don't like the gaping grill look.

My buddy in Australia got one of the new bt50 recently as well (same as the new dmax). He ended up giving it to his wife and keeping his series 3 np300 for daily. He says just the noisy engine drives him insane

Postby Dizzy28 » April 23rd, 2021, 2:33 pm

Saw a Hyundai Sales rep post a video today with the new Hyundai Tucson in a car park, looks like Nealco top floor.
Said 30 units came and all were pre-booked.

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » April 23rd, 2021, 4:47 pm

Some pictures of the Tucson. I was told a similar to above. Only fully loaded HTRAC 1.6T in this shipment and all already accounted for.
WhatsApp Image 2021-04-23 at 11.56.51 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-04-23 at 11.56.54 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-04-23 at 11.56.53 AM.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 23rd, 2021, 5:02 pm

$339k for the 1.6T AWD? I expect it to do well by default.

Why?
CRV 1.5T 2wd - $415k
Xtrail 2.0 awd - $429k
RAV4 is 2.0 2wd - $437k
Forester 2.0 awd EyeSight - $490k

Massy also got the new 2021 refreshed Santa Fe ($575k) and Accent ($179k):

20210423_170144.jpeg
20210423_170132.jpeg
20210423_170048.jpeg
20210423_165859.jpeg
FB_IMG_1619209819033.jpeg
20210423_165842.jpeg
20210423_165746.jpeg

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » April 23rd, 2021, 5:04 pm

What engine does the Santa Fe have?

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 23rd, 2021, 6:48 pm

Looks like the 2.5MPi (the 2.4MPi was replaced for this refresh). If we use how Hyundai badges their diesels, we may have seen CRDi to the rear in reference to the 2.2. What we know for sure is, it could never be the 3.5MPi.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » April 26th, 2021, 12:46 pm

How does the Tucson look in real life? In my opinion, the Elantra grill looks ugly. The accent based on the pictures loos 100% better than the Elantra.c

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 26th, 2021, 3:54 pm

Too "dracularish" with those fangs and edges etc.
triniboi49 wrote:How does the Tucson look in real life? In my opinion, the Elantra grill looks ugly. The accent based on the pictures loos 100% better than the Elantra.c

Postby foss » April 26th, 2021, 4:15 pm

that grill looks like a drain grating......

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2021, 8:40 am

I like the look of the new Tucson.
But have they changed suppliers for parts or will owners be caught out in about 3.5 years (just as warranty ends) changing out all the window regulators or A/C evaporators?

feeldavibe

Postby feeldavibe » April 27th, 2021, 11:15 am

Friend was just given a quote for the 1.6 HTRAC Tucson. Price changed from $335,000 to $349,000.

When questioned, sales rep says the 335 was introductory price.

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2021, 1:20 pm

165860785_3841559199270979_1233875359888048919_n.jpg

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 27th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Lol...so let me get this straight. The "special intro price" was for the presumably 35 or so units they "pre-sold" before the vehicle actually landed?

And I thought ANSA was bad! Massy's intro offer came and disapeared like a flash of lightening!
feeldavibe wrote:Friend was just given a quote for the 1.6 HTRAC Tucson. Price changed from $335,000 to $349,000.

Postby Gladiator » April 27th, 2021, 3:15 pm

agent007 wrote:Lol...so let me get this straight. The "special intro price" was for the presumably 35 or so units they "pre-sold" before the vehicle actually landed?

And I thought ANSA was bad! Massy's intro offer came and disapeared like a flash of lightening!
feeldavibe wrote:Friend was just given a quote for the 1.6 HTRAC Tucson. Price changed from $335,000 to $349,000.

I have been in discussion with them a couple months now and there was never indication of an "introductory" price that will increase. Them bastards just see the demand for the vehicle so they decide to chook out your eye a little more just because they can....

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 27th, 2021, 4:48 pm

I see, it's the same way the Elantra went from 249 to 265 overnight!

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 27th, 2021, 4:59 pm

Gladiator wrote:
agent007 wrote:Lol...so let me get this straight. The "special intro price" was for the presumably 35 or so units they "pre-sold" before the vehicle actually landed?

I have been in discussion with them a couple months now and there was never indication of an "introductory" price that will increase. Them bastards just see the demand for the vehicle so they decide to chook out your eye a little more just because they can....

:( thinking out loud...are these things really sold out before they even reach, or is it marketing to instigate our inherent wildness?

Prices on the facelifted Navara also went up..
4x2 Single Cab - $187k;
XE (4x4 Manual) - $249k used to be $239k;
XE (4x2 Automatic) - $269k used to be $259k iirc;
XE (4x4 Automatic) - $290k used to be $279k;
LE (4x4 Automatic) - $339k used to be $319k;
Pro-4x - $355k (probably equivalent to the X-Gear, which was $349k, iirc).

snypaz

Postby snypaz » April 27th, 2021, 9:00 pm

According to someone who actually got one from Massy and collected yesterday, they are sold out. The introductory price thing is crap. Same thing with the Ioniq. Started at 165. Then to 169. Then 179. Then 185-189. All basic models. Massy will blame their lack of foreign exchange but this is crime. I paid 173 (got 5k cash back) for a PDR Ioniq. Most owners paid different prices at different times. Come on. And then they do not have parts to even fix these cars.
Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

:( thinking out loud...are these things really sold out before they even reach, or is it marketing to instigate our inherent wildness?

4x2 Single Cab - $187k;

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 27th, 2021, 9:21 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

4x2 Single Cab - $187k;
Thank God I picked up mine last year yes. Cuz I ain't Liking the new grill at all. Just the lights have a nice look but mine is black already so minor stuff

CloudBoi

Postby CloudBoi » April 28th, 2021, 12:12 am

This thread gone from exciting to massively depressing. Covid in full swing bro, WTF going on with these prices?????
Best I take the advice of the "Water Lord" ... stop struggling in Trinidad and go live in Grenada.

Postby hover11 » April 28th, 2021, 2:07 am

No matter what the price ppl will continue buying , even at the cost of 7 year and 8 year loans to show others that they can "afford" it
CloudBoi wrote:This thread gone from exciting to massively depressing. Covid in full swing bro, WTF going on with these prices?????
Best I take the advice of the "Water Lord" ... stop struggling in Trinidad and go live in Grenada.