SR20ve burning oil

Pretender

SR20ve burning oil

Postby Pretender » November 16th, 2013, 7:58 pm

I have an sr20ve in a p11. Previously I used mobil 10w30 but i started losing oil. This year I switched to mobil 15w50. The oil does not drop quickly but i somtimes top up 1/2 - 1 quart before 10000km.

Recently the car has started to smoke, especially I have been told, when I accelerate on the highway.

Any suggestions as to what I can do? What engine parts should I change? Should I go for a complete overhaul? If so can anyone suggest a good brand or should Motorist have these parts original.

Also, looking for a good sr mechanic preferably in south or central that can do this.

Thanks for the help.

Re: SR20ve burning oil

Postby black start » November 18th, 2013, 2:00 am

Anil is the p11 mechanic

Postby turbosingh » November 18th, 2013, 9:06 am

I fixed a couple off Sr20ve already but the reason was the plug seal in the tappet was bad resulting in oil entering the plugs and blue smoking.Call meh 7427482 located south.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » November 18th, 2013, 10:00 pm

Pretender wrote:I have an sr20ve in a p11. Previously I used mobil 10w30 but i started losing oil. This year I switched to mobil 15w50. The oil does not drop quickly but i somtimes top up 1/2 - 1 quart before 10000km.
Thanks for the help.

What you want better than this?

Pretender

Postby Pretender » November 19th, 2013, 7:33 pm

Thanks black start and turbosingh. Will try to call during the week.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » November 19th, 2013, 7:37 pm

yakuza wrote:
Pretender wrote:I have an sr20ve in a p11. Previously I used mobil 10w30 but i started losing oil. This year I switched to mobil 15w50. The oil does not drop quickly but i somtimes top up 1/2 - 1 quart before 10000km.
Thanks for the help.

What you want better than this?

I would like to stop the car from smoking for one.
Also, I previously never had to top up any oil watsoever between changes. The fact that I switched to 15w50 and I am still burning oil seems to suggest that some parts have been worn or compromised and i would like to correct this.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » November 19th, 2013, 8:22 pm

Pretender wrote:I would like to stop the car from smoking for one.
Also, I previously never had to top up any oil watsoever between changes. The fact that I switched to 15w50 and I am still burning oil seems to suggest that some parts have been worn or compromised and i would like to correct this.

That is because you change your oil at 10,000km intervals, do you change your oil filter at the "normal" drain interval even though you're using an extended drain oil?

Just because an oil is rated for 10,00km doesn't mean that you should keep it in that long.

More than likely (from the symptoms you mentioned) worn piston rings/cylinder bore is the culprit.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 21st, 2013, 8:25 pm

can it also be worn valve seals?

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » November 21st, 2013, 10:14 pm

yakuza wrote:
Pretender wrote:I would like to stop the car from smoking for one.

That is because you change your oil at 10,000km intervals, do you change your oil filter at the "normal" drain interval even though you're using an extended drain oil?

Just because an oil is rated for 10,00km doesn't mean that you should keep it in that long.

More than likely (from the symptoms you mentioned) worn piston rings/cylinder bore is the culprit.

and pretender just to add to what yakuza said there, sr20ve is considered to be one of the high revving engines bro, 1/2 quart top up at 10,000km is actually very good, and also, you are checking 10,000km on your odometre, what about all the hours during that period when you engine is at idle? Oil burns at idle to, so infact when u check 10k, ur engines actually worked alot more than that. On a further note, valve seals can be leaking and causing you to smoke while driving.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » November 21st, 2013, 10:46 pm

Thanks for the advice guys.
I actually never thought about idle time etc. In future I'll be doing oil changes sooner.
I priced the valve seals at motorist. It was also suggested that I do a pressure test to determine if the piston rings are worn.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » November 22nd, 2013, 4:50 am

What price did motorist quote for the valve seals? And make sure that it's VE and not DE valve seals they selling you, cause they're different.

Pretender

Postby Pretender » November 26th, 2013, 8:52 am

They said approx $850. I specified VE and they used the chassis number to confirm

dreadman

Postby dreadman » November 26th, 2013, 3:05 pm

could b either yuh spark plug seals leaking or the vent seal in the tappit cover.....its a small rectangular seal on the inside of the cover.....try that first. the seal is about $40 and change yuh spark plug seals as well as tappit cover seal one time.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » November 26th, 2013, 4:56 pm

Pretender wrote:They said approx $850. I specified VE and they used the chassis number to confirm

I figured that they would quote an outrageous price, if you interested I have after market ones.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1385499383.313228.jpg

Pretender

Postby Pretender » December 2nd, 2013, 6:21 pm

Thnx, let me knw price and brand so I can consider

yakuza

Postby yakuza » December 2nd, 2013, 7:32 pm

Brand: Supertech
Price: $200