Temperature Gauge Install in Tiida

seanviper

Temperature Gauge Install in Tiida

Postby seanviper » August 18th, 2011, 11:19 pm

I have an 05 Tiida Latio RoRo
And it did not come with a temperature meter/gauge, just two lights, Blue means cold and Red means hot/overheating/or whatever.
I do not like that

Does any one have any experience connecting a separate temperature gauge like i plan to do?

or im in this by myself?

Any help would be appreciated

I found the Temperature sending module in the engine block already, but i cannot replace this with the module the gauge came with, because then the red and yellow lights would stop working in the dash, and the fan would stay on constantly at a high speed as soon as the car starts. the module the car came with controls when the fans come on and off and at what speed.

so what should i do?

Be gentle, and please comment only if you plan on being helpful.

Wanna know if i can do it myself, before i have to decide to go to a professional "installer"

BCRLtd
Location: #50 Aldana Br. St. Princes Town 868.717.4641 / 295.0531

Re: Temperature Gauge Install in Tiida

Postby BCRLtd » August 19th, 2011, 2:33 pm

I just checked an Tida front half by a foreign used dealer, the Top rad hose ID is 1.50" or 38mm

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » August 19th, 2011, 3:43 pm

no need to interfere with your original temperature system, theres an adaptor that u can use, u can get it to buy at tuner imports or most other performance shops on tuner, it goes anywhere between ur radiator hose and has the threading ontop to screw in your guage sensor, hope u get tru padna

seanviper

Postby seanviper » August 19th, 2011, 4:40 pm

wrd!
well i'll b buying the 38mm adapter soon

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 29th, 2011, 11:12 am

I have an 05 Tiida Latio RoRo
And it did not come with a temperature meter/gauge, just two lights, Blue means cold and Red means hot/overheating/or whatever.
I do not like that

it's not like the regular temperature gauge in a normal car is any better. those things only work for a narrow band of temperatures anyway, which is similar to a red or blue light in my opinion.

but co sign for the water hose adapter, that will give you a connection for water temps at least.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » August 29th, 2011, 8:27 pm

^^No need to install a temp guage in these cars.....if the engine starts to o/heat the red light will come on. If it continues to get hotter than the wired temp parameters, the computer shuts the engine down. Its impossible to o/heat these engines as the block is 100% aluminium & can get warped very easily.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 30th, 2011, 6:41 am

oh ho so there isa failsafe! good information there man.

nivek

Postby nivek » August 30th, 2011, 11:28 am

drove a Y12 recently, it has the same engine and same guages as tiida .....i found it hard to see the temp. light in bright daylight....will keep checking htis post for updates to keep the person informed

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 30th, 2011, 12:58 pm

but no temperature light shows during normal operation - so how do you expect to see it?

A blue one shows when cold only, for example.

seanviper

Postby seanviper » September 24th, 2011, 1:13 pm

so if the car overheats over a certain temp the car will shut off?
wow!
so why d hell they dont tell u these things?

venum

Postby venum » October 3rd, 2019, 10:28 am

anyone did this and has pics?

embryo

Postby embryo » October 23rd, 2019, 6:17 am

venum wrote:anyone did this and has pics?

Most Taxis in San Juan have them. It looks like a regular gauge and pod. Nothing too fancy. Some are analog and some are digital.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2019, 10:32 pm

easy easy, buy a 38mm adapter. Cut top radiator hose and insert with two hose clamps.

run 2 wires to the adapter, one is ground and the other is the signal from the sensor to the inside of the car.

inside the car now u have 2 wires to connect. one being a ground and the other a power. Some gauges have a light that you could wire up if u want it illuminated.

have jumpers selling to take current from the fuse-box by attatching it to a fuse. Or u could go to ur cig/deck wiring for that.

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2019, 10:17 am

I bought the temp gauge to install but end up using one of those obd2 readers.
I use a cheap tab on the dash and read a lot of different info from the ecu on addition to the temp.

The car came with a single aluminum core radiator original, but I put in a 2 core soon after. Temp gauge only tell u if it hot, it dies nothing to stop it getting hot

The 2 core does not kerp it too cool cause the fan cycles like normal.

Postby Dave » October 26th, 2019, 4:05 pm

Once you have a thermostatically controlled water system all a bigger rad does is affect how often your fan works. You car will still operate at the factory spec temperature that the thermostat and fan sensor is calibrated at.