Call for Tuners with X trails

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 1st, 2008, 1:17 am

Stuckindmud wrote:Yo Joe,

Did they speed balance the rims when they put it up? thats what prolly causing the shim.

i asked about that when i bought them....yea they put it on the machine and i even asked the guy to tell me how much weight he put to each rim..

his response was that the rims all weighed the same and were balanced on the machine thing (i watched)...

I taking it my Mileage mack in de morning.... if no solution, is back to stock 16" and these rims and tyres to sell

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 2nd, 2008, 7:13 pm

[/quote]

i asked about that when i bought them....yea they put it on the machine and i even asked the guy to tell me how much weight he put to each rim..

his response was that the rims all weighed the same and were balanced on the machine thing (i watched)...

I taking it my Mileage mack in de morning.... if no solution, is back to stock 16" and these rims and tyres to sell[/quote]

The rims arent usually the problem, the tyres are generally the reason for the weights.

Hear what Milage Mack has to say..

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 3rd, 2008, 6:12 pm

So i carry de truck by Mileage mack...state meh case and we start to look at de problem.

De young fella catch real jones on me...De rims wasnt speed balanced...not one AZZ!
not a fuccin weight on none a dem! so he put weight...even show me how to use the machine....part one solved!

part two: the aftermarket rims fit up differently to stock so there was a space (he showed it to me...) and it was cause a lotta de vibration between the rim and the studs and hub(?)....De solution....4 "STABALIZATION RINGS" (is this the correct term?)

LESSON LEARNED AS A RIM-BUYING NEWBIE = learn to use dey equipment + dont assume that pple selling rims know sheit about installing them on a vehicle!!!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 4th, 2008, 10:22 am

for guys who also have shimming isssues. what u can do is see it the tyre it self have a "hop". this is where the tyre it self is not perfectly round. the way to know this is by putting the rim and tyre on the speed balancing machine and visually look at how it spin on the machine. if the trye has a "hop" you can actualy see it on the machine.

some time ago i purchased some new tyres from the same Milage mack. when driving at speeds above 120km i use to get a shimmer. We tried all sorts of stuff like , rebalancing etc.

it was only when one of the senior guys, said to see it the tyre was "hoping" .

when checked it was hoping and we changed the tyre and the problem was solved.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 4th, 2008, 10:23 am

hey guys i have some rear brakes decals for your exy. let me know if u are intrested

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 7th, 2008, 9:20 am

So I have another tyre question....

Can my tyres be leaking between the rim and the sidewall? Is the "soap test" vaild for detecting this..?

reason i asking....is only a few days since mileage mack sort me out with the stabalizers and full 30psi NITROGEN IN tyres...this morning my front tyres feeling like they flat....check then they look saggy...and i feeling every single ants i drive over in de road... what to do now???

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 7th, 2008, 2:59 pm

if you feeling every single ants on the road then your tyre is over inflated.

the x trail ride if very rough esp when you put on aftermarket rim and tyres that is out of the manufactures specs.

with respect to your front tyres buy a tyre presure gauge in any parts place and keep it in the van or better yet get one from mileage mack and ask them how to use it. if at any time you feel that your tyres look saggy check it with the gauge. if it is under or over inflated just go back by MM and have them top it up.

i also use the nitrogen and i get a very good ride. i am running my stock exy rims and i like the ride.

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 7th, 2008, 6:24 pm

Tint,
I do have a gauge. Sat it was 30 psi and today the fronts reading 27....i have driven about 70km in that time! Something else have to be wrong. I thinking of taking the tyres back to the source and have them check the sidewall for leakage. Maybe the issue is with the tyre itself

MM says you only need to top up the nitro every 3 mths or so. Can see it leaking after a week!
Will keep y'all informed............

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 8th, 2008, 10:46 am

Right...so it was the flickin valve that was leaking! had them changed and I am monitoring the situation.

Tint, How much u calling for the X-trail decal? Post/pm me....

Racers Inspired

Postby Racers Inspired » November 9th, 2008, 7:31 pm

Hey,

What is the difference between the normal X-trail and the X-trail classic?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 10th, 2008, 12:57 am

Hey,

they are the same.. no differents.

Racers Inspired

Postby Racers Inspired » November 10th, 2008, 9:19 am

^^OK. So there is the Xtrail and then the Xtrail classic? :?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 10th, 2008, 8:46 pm

Ok there is a new shape x trail the T31 this only comes in a 2.5 liter. For trinidad and tobago the cost of the T31 (2.5 liter) is over $300,000. the x trail or x trail classic is the old shape(thus the name classic) which is called the T30 this comes in both 2.5 and 2.0 liter..

in the case of trinidad and tobago, since the T31 only with the 2.5 liter and is over $300,000 Neal and Massy opted to continue importing the T30 (2.0 liter) to trinidad cause the cost is around $200,000 or so. MOre affordable to the man on the street. Cause the Gov tax on anything above 2 liter engines is very high.

In my opinion the T30 is more hardcore than the T31. the new shape they have soften it up to much.

hope this info helps

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 12th, 2008, 12:11 pm

TintMan wrote:
Hey,

they are the same.. no differents.

Not exactly...the differences are cosmetic. The powerplant etc is the same. At a glance on the road, apart from the badge, the classic has no sunroof and no spoiler. Interior is the same from what i have seen......

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 12th, 2008, 2:42 pm

i agree the x trail and x trail classic have some cosmetic differences. but i prefer the regular " exys"

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 16th, 2008, 12:40 am

Yow Joe - what is the size of the 18's you running, and what is the offset? Also - what tyres -and size you running?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » November 21st, 2008, 10:27 am

Accord.....
My rims are :

18x7.5
Offset 40 4x100/114.3

Tyres are 235/50/18 (BF GeForce)

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 21st, 2008, 11:29 am

^^Tanks meng. gForce what model? And where did you get them? I was at Mileage Mack - and the guy was showing me some Kumho KL12's...I like the bead pattern...but they are 255/45/18.... :shock:

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » October 10th, 2009, 9:13 pm

Any problems with the 2.5L version? Thinking of getting one.

xtrail

Postby xtrail » October 11th, 2009, 8:03 am

Have the 2.0l 2005 from neal and massy. The cam position sensor crapped out yesterday while at the cruise ship complex(btw i'm from south). Just managed to get a mechanic in and to get the sensor from 'the motorist' as all this happened about 1pm on a saturday.

The people at motorist said this was common for a 5yr old trail and to look out for a radiator problem as well as a pulley to change(which i did have to change about 2 months ago).

I'm seriously thinking of upgrading now.

But I must admit it was easy to get the parts.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » October 11th, 2009, 8:07 am

Fricking rear left trail arm bracket broke off from the hub on mines last week Saturday. :evil: Don't know how - but had to replace a few parts in the back there to get it going again.... :evil: :evil:

jeff

Postby jeff » October 12th, 2009, 5:22 pm

up to now i still havin trouble finding interior parts for the trail

if anyone happens to find a place that does please let me know :)

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » October 14th, 2009, 1:29 pm

Hello all
I'm considering purchasing a 06 or 07 T30 Xtrail GT with the sr20vet engine after bandits stole my flipping vigo.
i have some dealers looking around for a specific type

but after reading this thread i'm starting to notice a lot of you guys have all sorts of little problems happening with xtrails especially when they cross 5 years.

i really like the gt, and being a gt model it is supposed to be built for higer speeds, greater impacts, stronger axles, stronger parts generally, but i'd like to ask if any gt owners in particular to share their experiences with their rides, i.e. what problems or issues in particular with their rides, cause i won't be driving easy. Thats if i decide to continue with the gt.

i know proper and frequent maintenance is a must especially with hard driving.

What transmission does the gt's have? is it CVT as one of the dealers told me? cause if it is then extra attention to maintaining these will be necessary.

Any info to help with my decision will be greatly appreciated.

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » October 25th, 2009, 7:47 am

I'm thinking of buying a x trail too.....ordered a Nissan sylphy roll on roll off but looking at used x trail prices they are almost the same once i get my hands on a good local one.

SAW SOME INTERIOR DASHBOARD PARTS ON EBAY....Location Canada....don't know if customs will break your heart.

If anyone knows of a good regular trail holla........i aint want no GT because i drive too much and the 2.0 QR is enough power to reach up maracas with a cooler without feeling any lag.

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » October 27th, 2009, 6:08 am

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » October 30th, 2009, 4:39 pm

running a t30 series ii GT spec, 18" rims , toyo ZR tyres, s/s 2.5" catback system, impul hi power chipped ecu, impul coilovers, bullbars,chrome kit, safari roof lights/rails, windows 7 carputer, onboard realtime consult ii sensor gauges....

jeff

Postby jeff » October 31st, 2009, 3:42 pm

from australia i can only imagine the prices

jeff

Postby jeff » October 31st, 2009, 4:13 pm

those austrailians have soem really cool mods

[img::]http://img130.imagevenue.com/aAfkjfp01fo1i-17002/loc93/87344_picnictable0bj_122_93lo.jpg[/img]

[img::]http://img132.imagevenue.com/aAfkjfp01fo1i-27652/loc24/55393_NXT_5635_Nissan_X-Trail_Big_122_24lo.jpg[/img]

if anyone can find me a mat like above let me know please :)

i2smart4u

Postby i2smart4u » November 1st, 2009, 7:04 pm

if anyone can find me a mat like above let me know please :)

you can make that by any good upholsterer

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 2nd, 2009, 10:12 am

where u could get the bulbar and side steps from and price?