can a S20 VVL be TURBO,

atoymtes5000

can a S20 VVL be TURBO,

Postby atoymtes5000 » June 23rd, 2008, 11:14 pm

I have a sr20vvl with a m6 transmission,can I turbo it and if so how much can it take.

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 24th, 2008, 7:18 am

u can turbo it at about 7 psi

but the tranny wouldnt last long under the turbo

it wouldnt be able to handle the power

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 24th, 2008, 7:23 am

Do a search.................theirs a thread like it somewhere about! :|

*and if u change to gear box,u will need a switch to activate the VVL.*

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 24th, 2008, 9:26 am

I'm sure no one has turboed one with a m6 tranny so be the first and get this myth out of the way.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 24th, 2008, 12:12 pm

I'm sure no one has turboed one with a m6 tranny so be the first and get this myth out of the way.

An M6 Tranny can handle it but the question is how long..

* whistles *

Nobody knows

nobody knows

I won't suggest it but if you guys like to waste money go ahead...

But make sure you upgrade or place the tranny oil cooler this should help save the transmission a few more miles with all that torture :wink:

atoymtes5000

Postby atoymtes5000 » June 24th, 2008, 10:52 pm

Thanks , still looking for a SR20 turbo manifold. ANY IDEAS.

ramishrrr

CVT-M6.

Postby ramishrrr » June 25th, 2008, 8:15 pm

Nissan uses belt-type CVT for cars up to 2000cc. However for bigger engines, (read, Horsepower/Torque) Nissan has another type called Extroid. This type of CVT is used in their big RWD vehicles.
Turbocharging an SR20 engine could really ruin a CVT-M6. The internal belt will have a shortened life.
Check the site below. Enjoy.

http://www.nissan-global.com/PDF/tcvt_e.pdf

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 26th, 2008, 3:20 pm

amm hard luck bout bein the first to do a forced induction sr20vvl with a cvtm6 tranny... meh padna did it a long time ago in a bluebird... tranny didnt last too long though so the car was converted to manual... :roll: :roll:

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » June 26th, 2008, 5:17 pm

Great finally someone did it, so it can be done and wont last to long so there's the answer....

zryfle

Postby zryfle » June 27th, 2008, 7:46 pm

well all is good .U can turbo it up to 10 psi safely 7 psi .With stock internals .Best thing u can do convert to gear box or none cvt tranny .But u will just be spending unnecessary money . Do something good make it in a way that it will not break down .Less time spent Less money spent .

atoymtes5000

Postby atoymtes5000 » June 27th, 2008, 9:55 pm

Well as the saying goes not the frist, but maybe not the last.thanks again. REMBER imformation is knowledge and knowledge is power to us all.will have to change.....

QG

Postby QG » June 27th, 2008, 11:42 pm

VVL can take up to 20psi, just get the low compression pistion (8.8:1).

donnybmf

Postby donnybmf » July 4th, 2008, 9:01 pm

aye fella it could be turbo down but that tranny would probably last you about 1 month or so i turbo my vvl thing working sweet on 10 psi but with an LSD gearbox and ful ACT clutch system

IDRC

Postby IDRC » July 5th, 2008, 10:07 pm

i heard of some that did it and the turbo and the transmission did not last. it was always in boost

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 5th, 2008, 11:44 pm

well then don't turbo to the full 7psi. run a 4-5psi boost, use and external tranny oil cooler and change the tranny oil more frequently (normal change period is 20K kms....maybe cut that time in half)

and probably the tranny will last you a lot longer