QG15

nere

QG15

Postby nere » June 18th, 2008, 9:52 am

Need help in knowing how to upgrade the QG15.
Need to know what to get or do expect for the air intake, extactors, free flow, and barrel. What else to do?????

eitech

Postby eitech » June 18th, 2008, 12:33 pm

hmm..if yuh gonna spend ah bunch ah money to get minimal gains, best u invest in a car with a faster or powerful engine..

nere

Postby nere » June 18th, 2008, 1:05 pm

I may go sr20 blacktop. But I wanted to know if there are anyother upgrades that I could have done without changing the engine.

eitech

Postby eitech » June 18th, 2008, 1:21 pm

there are but from what i understand u get minimal gains..some ah d other tuners go know better

moti

Postby moti » June 18th, 2008, 1:45 pm

the following bolt on mods are available for the QG engines:

cold air intake

extractors

free flow exaust barrel

light weight pully for engine

that should be it.

however if need be to change engine
don't put that old arse SR20 in a year 2000-2004 model car

you can put the QG18 or QR20
these are fairly new engines and will match the year of your car best.

SR engines are more for cars like B13 B14 and others around those ages.

just my 0.02cents :wink:

Postby Dave » June 18th, 2008, 2:54 pm

^^ and also intake plenum spacer
also by use of a safc they have been able to dyno tune roughly 5-8whp on the 1.8 version

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 18th, 2008, 8:33 pm

so what i cant put a qg or qr in a b14 moti? 0X

moti

Postby moti » June 18th, 2008, 8:39 pm

now thats a different story trinidrift :wink:

you will be putting a newer engine in a older car thats cool

but putting in a older engine in a newer car is to me not so cool :?

i dont think you will see guys with their zz corolas putting in the
20 valve engine from a L-Touring wagon.

or

the new civics running a B16A or B18B from a EK3 or something like that.

why must we only dwell on the SR20

is that the only good engine nissan ever made :?:

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » June 18th, 2008, 9:54 pm

I agree with moti , makes sense .

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 20th, 2008, 7:58 am

is that the only good engine nissan ever made

It's maybe not the only good engine nissan ever made but stock performance wise four cylinder engine as opposed to the rest!

My$0.02 :|

QG

Postby QG » June 21st, 2008, 8:07 pm

yup

ramishrrr

Newer engine.

Postby ramishrrr » June 21st, 2008, 8:43 pm

I agree about the newer engine. It makes good sense to have the latest technology.
The latest in Nissan's small engines is the all aluminium HR-DE engines found in the Tiida/Y12 Wingroad/March SR-A in 1500 or 1600cc.

monstas23

Postby monstas23 » June 22nd, 2008, 9:49 am

well this week i puttin on ah qg18 on my wingroad.. i saw the same engine on ah almera
2004 they say it pulls like mad

QG

Postby QG » June 24th, 2008, 11:41 am

QG18 has lots of torque at the wheels at early RPM's, acceleration will be no problem at all.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 24th, 2008, 7:17 pm

moti wrote:why must we only dwell on the SR20
is that the only good engine nissan ever made :?:

i agree with moti on dat der is the vq35/37,rb20/25,etc
:twisted:

monstas23

Postby monstas23 » June 26th, 2008, 8:07 pm

ai jus check the vq35.. pushin 297 hp ..... rb25det pushin ...245 hp ...... we talkin fast real fast.... sr20 de pushin 130 hp ..... lets look at this way...... voooooosshhhhhh....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 27th, 2008, 6:53 am

monstas23 wrote:ai jus check the vq35.. pushin 297 hp ..... rb25det pushin ...245 hp ...... we talkin fast real fast.... sr20 de pushin 130 hp ..... lets look at this way...... voooooosshhhhhh....

But nere was talkin bout front wheel drive,so the rb etc..........anyways*sigh*

FOR NISSAN FWD SR20 FTW!

moti

Postby moti » June 27th, 2008, 1:12 pm

and QR20 and HR20 for the win in FWD and AWD :wink:

in newer cars that is :wink:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 27th, 2008, 2:02 pm

dont think you will see guys with their zz corolas putting in the
20 valve engine from a L-Touring wagon.

or

the new civics running a B16A or B18B from a EK3 or something like that.

is that the only good engine nissan ever made

Well actually, I seem to recal top secret tuning did a SR20DET conversion in a 350Z. I was appalled also, but the power they got it too (along with the reduction in weight) meant that they'd spank a stock VQ powered 350Z ...... :wink:

I'll have to look for that link

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 30th, 2008, 10:10 am

SR20DET conversion in a 350Z. I was appalled also, but the power they got it too (along with the reduction in weight) meant that they'd spank a stock VQ powered 350Z ...... :wink:

and don't forget the vqDETT nismo stuffed in both a R34 skyline and a 350z to win JGTC 2 years in a row. :twisted: vvvvoooosssshhhh

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 30th, 2008, 9:18 pm

^^ Get your facts straight. If you read up on that (SCC did an article on the outgoing JGTC R34 once), the VG30DETT was used from a weight distribution standpoint (VG = what was found in the ZX)

NOT the VQ.

The VQ is a newer series engine used in the Altima, Z etc.

And BTW, the JGTC 350Z ALSO uses a VG30 base....not a VQ!!!!

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 31st, 2008, 8:13 am

i knew it was v something my bad.but before or after it went into the r34 it was in the fairlady z.scc did an article on it in the same issue.check it was in the issue about jgtc excebition in the states.

kkkennelz

qg15

Postby kkkennelz » November 25th, 2009, 10:22 pm

hey you big boys i gotta a question...i have a wingroad and wanted to put on some extractors assumin i can get alil more acceleration or some more pull off power...i got a tranny as well.....the extractors are nismo imported and not made here.....question will that make a difference and wil i get wat i want.......the other thing is qg18 ...can that work bolt for bolt and electrically as well ...i am tryin not to interfere with the electricals or mountin brackets

QG

Re: qg15

Postby QG » November 26th, 2009, 5:08 pm

kkkennelz wrote:hey you big boys i gotta a question...i have a wingroad and wanted to put on some extractors assumin i can get alil more acceleration or some more pull off power...i got a tranny as well.....the extractors are nismo imported and not made here.....question will that make a difference and wil i get wat i want.......the other thing is qg18 ...can that work bolt for bolt and electrically as well ...i am tryin not to interfere with the electricals or mountin brackets

You just need to get the ECU for the QG18 and a wiring for the VTC (Let an Electrician guide you on that)...but everything including mounts etc will work from previous QG15.

You will get performance with the use of extractors.
I heard that the 4-1 extractors are better for take off and mid-range torque...and the 4-2-1 extractors are better for mid-range to top end torque...WELL OF COURSE IT CAN BE DEBATABLE.
That's just what I heard.

5forward

Postby 5forward » December 1st, 2009, 6:23 pm

^^Never thought about that.But to the original question on this post,if you planin to stick wit d qg15,get extractors,iridium spark plugs,cold air intake,a free flowing exhaust piping about 2.5 inches in diameter(and remove the cat) and a free flowing exhaust barrel.Btw you should get a resonator if you remove the cat.you will surely feel a difference after all this.If you hav d money however,jus get a qg18.Dey does pull nice :D

QG

Postby QG » December 2nd, 2009, 5:17 pm

5forward wrote:^^Never thought about that.But to the original question on this post,if you planin to stick wit d qg15,get extractors,iridium spark plugs,cold air intake,a free flowing exhaust piping about 2.5 inches in diameter(and remove the cat) and a free flowing exhaust barrel.Btw you should get a resonator if you remove the cat.you will surely feel a difference after all this.If you hav d money however,jus get a qg18.Dey does pull nice :D

Good info dude, but one thing i need to add.
The muffler guy advised me not to use 2.5 inch exhaust for my qg15de because I may end up losing extra compression which is bad in terms of speed; Unless you have a gearbox to compensate or doing it just for style, then fine.

for a 1.5 motor with automatic, best to stick with 2" or possibly 2 1/4" if you looking to increase performance.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » December 2nd, 2009, 6:23 pm

^^ yep doing bigger than 2.25" on an otherwise stock qg15 would result in loss of power. You need some back pressure.

I'm not too familiar with the qg but has anyone ever looked into the interchangeability of the qg15 and qg18 head? Do they share the same block?
Also if you looking at NA power you would always shave some off the head to bump the compression.

as far as bolt ons, the typical i/h/e wont do you much on an auto considering atx already robbing you of a meellleeeooon hp. Swap to mtx and get some decent long tube headers. You'll get your cheap fix of vtec @ the higher rpms :lol:

5forward

Postby 5forward » December 8th, 2009, 9:09 am

Thanks for d heads up QG and JNQAZ

QG

Postby QG » December 9th, 2009, 4:31 pm

jnqaz wrote:^^ yep doing bigger than 2.25" on an otherwise stock qg15 would result in loss of power. You need some back pressure.

I'm not too familiar with the qg but has anyone ever looked into the interchangeability of the qg15 and qg18 head? Do they share the same block?
Also if you looking at NA power you would always shave some off the head to bump the compression.

as far as bolt ons, the typical i/h/e wont do you much on an auto considering atx already robbing you of a meellleeeooon hp. Swap to mtx and get some decent long tube headers. You'll get your cheap fix of vtec @ the higher rpms :lol:

The problem you will encounter between the qg15 and qg18 is different bores...the stroke is the same 88mm