WTK WHICH BRAKE BETTER (pics)

Timmy

WTK WHICH BRAKE BETTER (pics)

Postby Timmy » July 26th, 2006, 8:46 pm

Iam doing a upgrade to the front of my car and the person i talked to tolded me the first pictuer is the better one so i agreed and orered it from him, is this worth 1000? cause thats the price iam paying for them..

So which one better?
Last edited by Timmy on July 27th, 2006, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 27th, 2006, 9:44 am

Partner...i think you mean "BRAKE" as opposed to "break"....LOL

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 27th, 2006, 10:00 am

DOn't know about price... but "slotted" always better than "cross-drilled" for the street.
It always lasts longer. :wink:
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 27th, 2006, 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » July 27th, 2006, 10:06 am

If I'm reading correct, you are asking for advice AFTER you spent your money???

Dude, PM me, I have a bridge to sell you........seriously :lol: :lol:

Anyway, since I only have pictures to go with, I'd choose the slotted rotors as well. They have a "wiping effect" - when the slots rub against the disk pad - that tends to prevent the pad from glazing.

Cross drilled rotors have no great advantage with today's brake pads and IMHO is more rice than anything else. The original reason for drilling rotors was to provide a means for hot gases to escape under hard braking conditions. This doesn't happen with modern disk pad formulations and honestly, I doubt you'd be braking that hard anyway.

As for the cost?? A grand *sounds* like a decent price but I can't say for sure.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 27th, 2006, 10:20 am

Slots and holes both serve the same function... Degassing.
Both also deglaze... but cross-drilled rotors usually crack between the holes over time...
Yup even AP Racing rotors. Slotted rotors just last longer for street use. :wink:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » July 27th, 2006, 10:38 am

What car U upgrading with them slotted rotors Timmy?

kitkathy

Postby kitkathy » July 27th, 2006, 11:00 am

I'm thinking that cross drilling is mainly for weight reduction while the slotted are to remove glazing from the pad surface... could be wrong though... I have been told that the cross drilled are weaker and tend to crack easily.

Although everyone seems to be speaking about outgassing being the main function of both types of rotor, I found this bit of info though..

Todays carbon metallic pads contain NO organic material, therefore producing NO gas. Cross drilled rotors are a byproduct of '30's technology when brake pads and shoes were made out of leather. Cross drilled rotors crack. Slotted rotors wear pads. Proper bedding and pad selection will eliminate glazing.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 27th, 2006, 6:49 pm

Carbon metallic pads are not as available here as organic for average "daily drivers" are they?

Timmy

Postby Timmy » July 27th, 2006, 7:02 pm

Rudman wrote:What car U upgrading with them slotted rotors Timmy?

This >>

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 27th, 2006, 7:05 pm

afaik, cross drilled rotors were most popular in use when rotor discs were solid, and not air cooled like the majority are today.
then again, i may be wrong.

kit kathy, it really has nothing to do with weight reduction...that is only like a few ounces of metal.
more weight reduction can be achieved if the driver takes a dump before driving..

plex

Postby plex » July 27th, 2006, 8:05 pm

Sanctifier wrote: "slotted" always better than "cross-drilled" for the street.
It always lasts longer. :wink:

i agree..

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » July 27th, 2006, 9:04 pm

deleted post
Last edited by mitsugdi on July 28th, 2006, 8:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Doom

Postby Doom » July 27th, 2006, 9:37 pm

doh buy no nome brand eh, is brakes we talking bout'
i running slutted powerslots for 3yrs and they lookin bess and does wuk,i went with them cause i cyar get new or used rotors here so i went for some bling with sting

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » July 27th, 2006, 10:40 pm

Why you don't go with EBC rotors.They are slotted and have dimples on them that resemble cross drilling.But because they are not actually holes they dont warp as some might say.And EBC is a good brand so is not cheap ting

Timmy

Postby Timmy » July 28th, 2006, 12:17 am

^^ i dont think it have any for my car man..

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 28th, 2006, 8:28 am

go with the slotedt timmy
and when yuh finish with that install in d accent doh forget to pass by meh :lol:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 28th, 2006, 8:53 am

I thought one of the reasons for cross drilling was heat reduction? Kinda like what VexXx Dogg said... pull heat away from the rotors more efficently...

Doom

Postby Doom » July 28th, 2006, 9:23 am

yeah buh saddist u effectively reduce the contact area

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 28th, 2006, 9:32 am

^^ Obviously... :D

But how significant is that?

kitkathy

Postby kitkathy » July 28th, 2006, 9:49 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:afaik, cross drilled rotors were most popular in use when rotor discs were solid, and not air cooled like the majority are today.
then again, i may be wrong.

kit kathy, it really has nothing to do with weight reduction...that is only like a few ounces of metal.
more weight reduction can be achieved if the driver takes a dump before driving..

Was wondering the same thing myself....:lol: The weight reduction point was probably in reference to drivers concerned with making their cars as light as possible with the reasoning that every little bit helps :roll:

Postby Hook » July 28th, 2006, 10:32 am

these slotted and cross-drilled rotor upgrades are in fact bigger than stock, but to echo Kathy's sentiments, the extra mass (and thus inertia) is offset by removing material...a few ounces can make all the difference under the right (or wrong, depending on how u look at it) circumstances

Timmy, I hope ur rotor upgrade is part of a process where u're upgrading piston size, pad type, flex lines, brake fluid and ur brake master cylinder...else, u're completely wasting ur money (and quite possibly risking ur life) fixing these rotors onto a bone stock system

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » July 28th, 2006, 10:57 am

you guy's make me so proud sometimes

Postby Hook » July 28th, 2006, 12:22 pm

^^^ check dah mamaguy nuh :lol:

Timmy

Postby Timmy » August 1st, 2006, 6:46 pm

Hook wrote:these slotted and cross-drilled rotor upgrades are in fact bigger than stock, but to echo Kathy's sentiments, the extra mass (and thus inertia) is offset by removing material...a few ounces can make all the difference under the right (or wrong, depending on how u look at it) circumstances

Timmy, I hope ur rotor upgrade is part of a process where u're upgrading piston size, pad type, flex lines, brake fluid and ur brake master cylinder...else, u're completely wasting ur money (and quite possibly risking ur life) fixing these rotors onto a bone stock system

By changeing the roters why is this not recommened doing alone.. I will be upgradeing the lines and fule to dot 4 but there is no other break pads that i can use on the hundia accent..

Do shead some light on this, and advise me as to what break pads to buy..

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » August 2nd, 2006, 12:26 am

crossed drilled does EAT pads , from what i heard , never had either on my car so thats what i heard

i be going now , bye bye

linker

Postby linker » August 23rd, 2006, 10:27 pm

go with the slotted over crossed drilled... yuh eh go have need for the cross drilled plus they are weaker than the slotted..