[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 25th, 2006, 10:11 pm

OEM toyta filter

mobile one oil

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 26th, 2006, 7:13 am

^^^bwahahahahaha........chevy yuh sure yuh read the man post. He said ga15! Wha he go do with the OEM toyota filter?

Outlaw Jones

Postby Outlaw Jones » April 26th, 2006, 7:21 am

^^^thinking the same thing :) ?? He must be talking about in his car what he uses..

Anyways, I use Puralator oil filter, & Mobil 1 15W -50 works well

But ah looking seriously about changing to Amsoil 20w-50 and the orginal Nissan filter....there is some info from W2J on it (Amsoil) in the Power Sellers forum..

OJ

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » April 26th, 2006, 7:28 am

lol@ chevy..and lol@ mobile 1 oil...like the phone company start making oil too or what? Careful the oil doh work in certain parts of the country eh :lol: :lol:

Anyway, I've heard the fram filters are made of inferior materials and tend to fail. Any views? I'd stick to OEM filter or the purolator. The K&N filters are supposed to be good as well. I've been meaning to try the K&N for some time now as they're about the same price as OEM

Postby Dave » April 26th, 2006, 7:45 am

yes and the media is really thick and holds back oil pressure
also purolator has the closest design to the nissan filter

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 26th, 2006, 10:00 am

flatline wrote:lol@ chevy..and lol@ mobile 1 oil...like the phone company start making oil too or what? Careful the oil doh work in certain parts of the country eh :lol: :lol:

Oh shims...........the oil does get outta range signal an ting?? Bwahahahahaha

flatline wrote:Anyway, I've heard the fram filters are made of inferior materials and tend to fail. Any views? I'd stick to OEM filter or the purolator. The K&N filters are supposed to be good as well. I've been meaning to try the K&N for some time now as they're about the same price as OEM

Same thing I've heard about Fram. Always used purolator...but last oil change tried and OEM.......damn that thing was like 4 times the price of the purolator!!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 26th, 2006, 6:38 pm

^^ Yuh buy that from TTTL nah? :)
Denso is OEM for those 1ZZ/NZ oil filters as well?

I used the Fram last oil change... No problems, to be honest with you. Next time will try the Purolator with this same weight of oil (10W30)

Rx

Postby Rx » April 26th, 2006, 8:33 pm

Using fram all the time ....NO probs :)

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 26th, 2006, 9:23 pm

what about red line...isn't this supposed to be a good oil...looking to upgrade my oil soon..any comments on redline?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 26th, 2006, 10:26 pm

i also use the fram sure grip filters with quaker state 20w-50
never had any probs with the fram so far, been using it consistently for 2+ years

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 26th, 2006, 10:32 pm

seanf3000 wrote:^^^bwahahahahaha........chevy yuh sure yuh read the man post. He said ga15! Wha he go do with the OEM toyota filter?

lol@ chevy..and lol@ mobile 1 oil...like the phone company start making oil too or what? Careful the oil doh work in certain parts of the country eh

:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

is one of those days :oops:

Postby eliteauto » April 26th, 2006, 11:27 pm

I use only Fram suregrip and no complaints with mobil1 15w-50 but I have to admit all my rental cars run on NP Ultra with no problems for the last two years I find this is a good oil if you have a close to stock non-high performance engine

Postby wagonrunner » April 26th, 2006, 11:56 pm

Rx wrote:Using fram all the time ....NO probs :)

+1, switchi between that and purolator, depending on where i buying.
oils - Shell Helix, NP Ultra Premium, and of the last oil change Castrol GTX. all 20W 50's. but i prefer the NP Ultra Premium. been using this in the last 3 cars. even the one that overheated becuase the user wasn't taking care of it.

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » April 27th, 2006, 10:52 am

comments? on red line oil.

Postby Dave » April 27th, 2006, 11:36 am

redline oil works very well u would swear the 20w-50 is coloured blue waters bottle water
worth every dollars spent on it

mitsugdi

engine oil

Postby mitsugdi » June 8th, 2006, 9:54 am

what does the w means when we say 5w-20.

Postby Dave » June 8th, 2006, 9:58 am

it means it is suitable for winter climates

TK!

Postby TK! » June 8th, 2006, 10:29 am

castrol syntec with puralator is working much better for me than was mobil with fram or puralator

SKIDMARQS

Postby SKIDMARQS » June 8th, 2006, 10:57 am

Once you willin 2 change regularly, three of my trusted mechanic paddnaz said they doh deal up wit d syntec stuff....is a matter of knowing your car and matching your servicing to your driving style

neckto

Postby neckto » June 8th, 2006, 11:11 am

i heard that full synthetic is best not sure eh!!

anyone ever tried TOP 1 oils?

maska bringing this in now
endorsed by BMW i think

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 8th, 2006, 2:29 pm

SKIDMARQS wrote:Once you willin 2 change regularly, three of my trusted mechanic paddnaz said they doh deal up wit d syntec stuff....is a matter of knowing your car and matching your servicing to your driving style

What...?

I does drive hard and in traffic and I ain't gonna use conventional oil in my car.

And yes I have heard some mechanics waste down synthetic oils and believe in 40 body all the way, but...

pamay

Postby pamay » July 31st, 2006, 7:57 pm

hi there, I got a QG18DE and i using AMSOIL 10w-40 and genuine oil filter
Nissan filter are some of the best oil filters made. (Nissan uses off the shelf filters in all they racing engines). My engine had a slight ticking and i used Mobil 1 it was still there, after my 7000km oil change went to AMSOIl and its gone, plus after about 3000kms with the AMSOIL the engine feels smoother and my mileage was 450-466 from a 50ltr tank is now about 460-490 and thats running with the ac on

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 31st, 2006, 9:43 pm

^^^^^ hmmmmmmmmm some nice fgures there dread.
about the K&N oil filter, i heard that the filter sacrifices filtering properties for flow, just as in the air filters, but that never stopped me from buying a K&N air filter, but the oil filter, i'm a little reluctant on that one. :?

whome

Postby whome » August 1st, 2006, 12:45 am

K&N Air filter is bad idea if you intend to keep your car long term. When you're racing, your priority is power and winning. Who cares about engine longevity.

If you do an oil analysis after using K&N you're going to find silicon( Sand Particles) in there that is abnormally high. If you don't mind liquid sandpaper, keep using your K&N. Otherwise ...... use on track only.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 1st, 2006, 12:46 pm

Dark Cloud -

Red Line’s synthetic engine oils are designed to provide the highest protection, cleanliness and superior drain intervals with the lowest friction for your gasoline, diesel, motorcycle or marine engine. We use the most stable components available and formulate our products for wear protection and friction reduction across a wide range of engine operating conditions. Red Line's products are unique because they contain polyol ester base stocks, the only lubricants which can withstand the tremendous heat of modern jet engines. These synthetics have a natural multigrade property which allows our chemists to avoid bulking up an oil with unnecessary additive packages.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 1st, 2006, 12:48 pm

Redline is actually the oil that some airplane manufacturers use...it is supposed to be an excellent oil. Currently i use Mobile 1 and fram filter. No complaints.

Have intentions of trying Red Line

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 1st, 2006, 1:16 pm

Does anyone have an opinion on the NP Ultra Tec 5W 50 (SL rated) synthetic oil? I noticed that all NP does is package the oil and that it is actually made in the USA.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 1st, 2006, 2:28 pm

K&N Air filter is bad idea if you intend to keep your car long term. When you're racing, your priority is power and winning. Who cares about engine longevity.

i have a K&N it gives better gas mileage(not much, but it counts) and its a wise investment, even for street cars, when K&N's are tested they give very good flow results, and filter almost as well as paper, but they still need to improve on the filtering capabilities of their filters, but i trust it enough to use it on my daily driver. :wink:
if i have to change an air filter, every 5000km, @ $40 a piece, my K&N will pay for itself in less than 10 months. :P

i'll think about going redline, anybody knows the cost of 1 gallon and 1 quart?