WTK: Transmission Flush or Transmission Oil Change

rb25

WTK: Transmission Flush or Transmission Oil Change

Postby rb25 » September 22nd, 2020, 4:02 pm

I have a 2017 Honda Civic it is approaching 40000km..it was purchased from the firm and uses HCF-2 CVT fluid..

Wanted to know if it is better to do a transmission flush and change all the old fluid or just drain and refill the transmission?

Any recommendations on who to go by? (preferably in the chaguanas area)

Anyone who has a the same car ever did something like this before?

Re: WTK: Transmission Flush or Transmission Oil Change

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 22nd, 2020, 9:46 pm

Drain and replace ONLY once out of warranty. There is almost never any need to power flush a transmission and definitely not at 40K.

Please do not let anyone convince you a flush is necessary unless there is significant debris in the system.

rb25

Postby rb25 » September 23rd, 2020, 7:58 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Drain and replace ONLY once out of warranty. There is almost never any need to power flush a transmission and definitely not at 40K.

Please do not let anyone convince you a flush is necessary unless there is significant debris in the system.
Thanks for the advise..alot of mechanics tell you different things so it's kinda confusing..some tell say the exact thing you said and others say a power flush is better..
I will stick to the normal drain and fill becuse thats the general consensus among mechanics i thrust and the general public also...

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2020, 8:36 am

Power flush if not done right can damage a transmission.
If discoloration I drain and refill.
If fluid has particles I flush and refill.
The fluid exchange machine also works well but for some people it's costly.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Those hondas have a fill and drain plug similar to a manual trans, you fulling from the top and it have a level amount on the front with a square drive to remove to check level amount.

the oil is a scene, doh let it go on your hands, i see some big cancer thing printed on the bottle