Conversion Question

ProjectAlteredBeast

Conversion Question

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 1:05 pm

Is it possible to convert a left hand drive car to right hand?

If so how?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 10th, 2006, 2:30 pm

ProjectAlteredBeast,

go back to the ole talkk forum :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 10th, 2006, 2:31 pm

Get a front half and weld it back?

That sounds like a complicated project.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 2:39 pm

oic so no other way but to buy a whole front cut??

a friend of mine has a left hand drive prelude for sale nah i was thinking about it but i guess it would be too costly. Thank u bleedingfreak

Mr. Red Sleeper,gizmo,Mr. Red Sleeper again :fist: :fist: :fist:

Postby pete » January 10th, 2006, 2:42 pm

I'd think u'd need a RHD steering rack and dashboard at very least. Pedals may work back the same way on both sides. Good question tho. Never thought about that kinda swap...

krack korn

Postby krack korn » January 10th, 2006, 2:45 pm

u just really need fire wall, dashboard, A/C setup and right hand drive steering rack. It really is a tiresome conversion and u could hit all kinda snaggs, leave d car just so.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 10th, 2006, 2:46 pm

yes, it's possible..gonna take a lot of fabrication and good fabricator, plenty headache, lenty time and plenty money...google it...

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 2:47 pm

i know it can be done but i was wondering what has to be done and if it makes sense economically cause i would've gotten the car for 17k

blazing

Postby blazing » January 10th, 2006, 2:47 pm

yes it can be done

need
RHD dashboard
RHD steering rack and pinion
RHD pedal linkages

no need to weld on a front cut :shock: :lol:

Val

Postby Val » January 10th, 2006, 2:48 pm

why u doh just drive the Prelude as it is??

RHD won't make it faster.

PS - what type of Prelude is it? I'm curious

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 2:50 pm

blazing, can u tell me who does it and possibly provide me with a phone number so i can give them a call?

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 2:51 pm

i cant handle a LHD for sheit and it's the same one as in ur sig

blazing

Postby blazing » January 10th, 2006, 2:56 pm

^ there was a guy i knew who use to convert LHD altezzas and stuff to RHD, but he has migrated. So u might wanna check d other fellas on d board to see if they know anyone.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 3:24 pm

cool

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » January 10th, 2006, 3:32 pm

I've never seen it done on a car but I've seen them convert the international trucks from lhd to rhd...they left the instrumentation on the left tho just moved the steering and the pedals.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 3:38 pm

sleepertercel, when u say they left the instrumentation on the left do u mean that the speedometer etc. was left on the left?

If so wont it be difficult to see it from that far, considering these trucks are huge?

dry

Postby dry » January 10th, 2006, 3:42 pm

Most of the JDM vehicles I've seen have provisions for both L and RHD. Once you remove the entire dash assembly, there'll either be block-offs bolted on to the firewall, or spaces where it should be drilled, cut, etc.

You'll need pretty much EVERYTHING between the steering rack and the centre hand-brake console -- pedals, dash, etc.

You'll also need to go to licensing to have the records changed to reflect the L to R conversion.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 10th, 2006, 3:54 pm

ok cool...anyone with more advice pm me

Postby SMc » January 10th, 2006, 5:53 pm

Juss flip it over onto its hood

demented

Postby demented » January 10th, 2006, 10:21 pm

^^^ SMc daz d bess response :lol:

It not worth converting though...not safe either. it was designed LHD...and should stay LHD...conversion may mis-balance the car :idea:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » January 11th, 2006, 2:20 am

Check for a kit .. I know they actually had some conversion kits for RHD to LHD for JDM imports to the US ... don't know about the other way around.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » January 11th, 2006, 8:58 am

where can i get the kit?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 11th, 2006, 2:14 pm

it can be done but its plenty work..i know a guy who is converting a v8 monster from lhd to rhd...had to remove engine, fenders, hood,the whole front basically

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 11th, 2006, 2:15 pm

it can be done but its plenty work..i know a guy who is converting a v8 monster from lhd to rhd...had to remove engine, fenders, hood,the whole front basically

krossbreed

Postby krossbreed » January 11th, 2006, 2:55 pm

the best thing to do would be to change the complete firewall with that of a right hand drive's , but if the vehicle is already licensed you'll have to re-license it .

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » January 15th, 2006, 10:53 am

If you have a crashed prelude or a front half it`ll be easy to swap the parts, dash,a/c,steering rack and colum,wiper motor and arms, no need to change firewall, only cutting u may have to do is for the hole that the steerin colum passes thru and the harness. Oh and if the car is already registered as a left hand drive, find out if license office will allow that kind of change.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2006, 1:14 pm

this can be done.
there was a guy awhile back who used to convert LHD to RHD. did it with those american cars such as the corvettes etc. i dunno if he still does it or he's dead :?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2006, 8:49 pm

Yep. LHD to RHD conversions are done in the US for those who want to go with the so called "JDM" theme for their cars. I guess in many cases, these guys actually source JDM (RHD) front cuts for the same model car, and start swapping parts from there. It takes more than just swapping parts of course....

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 20th, 2006, 7:23 am

Demented wrote:

^^^ SMc daz d bess response

It not worth converting though...not safe either. it was designed LHD...and should stay LHD...conversion may mis-balance the car

U back already?

Val

Postby Val » January 20th, 2006, 8:35 am

PAB, Prelude front cut available in Bamboo. JDM and RHD.