tyres

Re: tyres

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2013, 2:47 pm

ryandtrini wrote:is there some sort of standard on tyres being imported into the country? Brands like nova and hifly, how safe are they really?

once they new they can be imported
once they used and have "enough" life they can be imported
we have no testing standards for ANY goods being imported into the country from clothing to food stuff so basically
we take what we get....

ryandtrini

Postby ryandtrini » December 10th, 2013, 9:55 pm

lawdd

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 11th, 2013, 10:23 pm

Call the Trinidad and Tobago bureau of standards tmw. 662-TTBS Ask to be transferred to the implementation division so you can speak to someone from the automotive unit. You can ask your question to them and report back in here. I'm sure ppl in here can benefit from your findings.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 17th, 2013, 7:47 am

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 17th, 2013, 7:50 am

cinco wrote:
ryandtrini wrote:is there some sort of standard on tyres being imported into the country? Brands like nova and hifly, how safe are they really?

we have no testing standards for ANY goods being imported into the country from clothing to food stuff so basically
we take what we get....

This isn't true Cinco. We do have testing of items being imported into the country. However this is where politics get in between. Long story.

Postby cinco » December 17th, 2013, 9:55 am

trini mk5 wrote:
cinco wrote:

we take what we get....

This isn't true Cinco. We do have testing of items being imported into the country. However this is where politics get in between. Long story.

so inna nutshell
we dont have ANY standards. once yuh have d money to pay

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » December 17th, 2013, 1:55 pm

Whats a good rubber for everyday commute. 195/50/15. I read here that DZ101 is the worse so dont go near it.

What are some recommendation for $600tt for a civic SiR

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » December 17th, 2013, 2:09 pm

Khumo. But not 600.

Postby cinco » December 17th, 2013, 2:19 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Whats a good rubber for everyday commute. 195/50/15. I read here that DZ101 is the worse so dont go near it.

like i said before
ive used 101s on many cars
know lots of ppl driving daily on 101s with no issues
so i recommend them or you can try maxxis for around that price

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 17th, 2013, 3:00 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:Whats a good rubber for everyday commute. 195/50/15. I read here that DZ101 is the worse so dont go near it.

Sailun tyres are going pretty good.. Had the dz101 for 3 years+, strong tyre but rough ride, noise, poor wet road "handling" expensive.

Postby X_Factor » December 17th, 2013, 3:15 pm

found a place in pasea selling khumo ecsta(not sure which model, but it has ecsta embeded in the center thread) for 610.00.....the price seemed decent
195/50/15

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 17th, 2013, 3:37 pm

^^if he has it for that price, you can get it elsewhere cheaper

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » December 17th, 2013, 3:45 pm

I running the ecsta hm but 225/55/16 and I personally think they're nice and quiet. Matched with a good suspension the ride soft too.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 17th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Try Kelly's Tyre Shop in Petit Bourg for the 15" Kumhos at less than $600.

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 17th, 2013, 8:18 pm

I bought the 195/50/15 Kumho Ecsta Hm at Laughlin and De Gannes for $595 each

mattee2012

Postby mattee2012 » December 19th, 2013, 9:29 pm

What is a good tyre for a sylphy- 205/60/16

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2013, 11:13 pm

hadda start hunting for some f.used 15" yes

mattee2012

Postby mattee2012 » December 23rd, 2013, 2:51 pm

To all the NEXEN haters please note this tyre brand has now been accepted as original equipment tyres on KIA, Hyundai, Mitsubishi, GM and VW.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 23rd, 2013, 5:50 pm

Source?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 23rd, 2013, 8:56 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Source?

ditto.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 23rd, 2013, 9:01 pm

Volkswagen selects Nexen tires for best-selling model

Basically, it's a lame crap fuel economy tyre.
Nothing remotely performance related.

SEOUL, South Korea—Germany's Volkswagen A.G. has selected Nexen Tire Corp.'s N'Blue HD radial as an original equipment fitment on its compact Polo, starting in January, according to Nexen.

The Polo, VW's smallest and best-selling model, is not sold in North America. Nexen did not say what size tire it will be supplying for the Polo, whose standard fitment is a 186/60R15. VW offers optional fitments up to 215/40R17, according to the manufacturer's online spec sheets.

Nexen describes the N'Blue HD as an eco-friendly performance tire offering "excellent steering stability." It is currently enjoying considerable popularity in global markets, including Europe, thanks to its superior performance in raising fuel efficiency, according to the tire maker.

Nexen Tire Vice Chairman Hyun-Bong Lee said the company has "met Volkswagen's strict quality standards, and now we are supplying tires to the car maker as a result of our commitment to quality and technology. We will continue to invest in R&D to expand our production capability and improve our brand value, raising our position in the global market."

In addition to the recent OE contract with Volkswagen, Nexen Tire also has won OE tire supply contracts with Chrysler Group L.L.C and Japan's Mitsubishi Motors Corp.

Nexen's contract with Mitsubishi is for the 2014 Outlander Sport, a compact crossover-utility vehicle being produced at the company's Normal, Ill., plant.

The fitment is for Nexen's N'Priz RH1 and RH7 models, in sizes ranging from 16 to 18 inches in rim diameter.

In addition, Chrysler selected Nexen's CP671 high-performance all-season as an OE tire fitment for the 2014 Chrysler 200 and Dodge Avenger. Chrysler lists P225/55R17 as the standard fitment and P225/50R18 as the optional fitment for both the 200 and Avenger.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 24th, 2013, 7:03 pm

Nexen may be a contender if we got the N8000/9000 here but we don't.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 24th, 2013, 11:00 pm

I liked the n3000, cracking sidewall aside...

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 25th, 2014, 6:44 pm

After 4 years on Toyo Vimode 205-60-14 I changed to bigger wheels and tyres.
I went with Kumho Ecsta SPT 215-40-17, $920 each at MM.

After 2 months, these are my impressions:

-Good lateral traction. Can take a corner pretty hard before i chicken out.

-Resists hydroplaning. It's crazy good in this respect. Standing water at 100kph (and above if I'm honest) is like it's not even there. No movement, no wobble, nothing.

-Straight line traction is mediocre at best. I can spin these tyres briefly on dry road with my 1.6 engine. That says it all. Absolutely CANNOT "mash out" hard on wet road. If i had a RWD vehicle, I'd probably be in trouble. Never had any of this on the Toyo until 16-18 months in.

- Tramlining under braking/no braking. Didn't know the highway was so bad until i got these tyres. Tyre pressure makes no difference from 32-36 PSI. Again, none of this with the Toyos. Maybe a consequence of wider, lower tyres, i dunno.

-After my unscientific tests involving a straight road and two road signs, dry braking distance has increased over the Toyos, there is much earlier ABS intervention. Wet braking, surprisingly not as bad as i expected (This was not on the same piece of road though).

-There is an increase in road noise from the moment they were installed. Not annoyingly so, just enough to be noticable.

It is not a terrible tyre by any means. If I have a choice, I would not buy these again. Maybe the Toyo T1 Sport next time.

Unfortunately, as usual, the local selection is limited.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » January 25th, 2014, 7:55 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Resists hydroplaning. It's crazy good in this respect. Standing water at 100kph (and above if I'm honest) is like it's not even there. No movement, no wobble, nothing.

Just a note... hydroplaning speed is a function of water depth, tread depth and water parting ability of the tread design.
So... comparing new tyres to old tyres is a bit skewed when it comes to this comparison.

Thanks for the writeup though. The SPT is a decent tyre still.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 25th, 2014, 8:02 pm

Just a heads up. Been using sumitomo htr z3 225/45/17 for some months now. Great summer tyre for the price. Excellent in the rain up to 160 kph. No complaints up to speeds 200+ in the dry. Tyre noise after halfway point of treadwear is not much higher than new and not easily noticeable. All for $875 per tyre it's a great replacement for factory summer tyres that are more expensive. Used these to replace Bridgestone potenza re050 225/45/17.

Postby cinco » January 25th, 2014, 8:19 pm

The tramlining is more because of the low profile than anything else

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 25th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Big Z wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Resists hydroplaning. It's crazy good in this respect. Standing water at 100kph (and above if I'm honest) is like it's not even there. No movement, no wobble, nothing.

Just a note... hydroplaning speed is a function of water depth, tread depth and water parting ability of the tread design.
So... comparing new tyres to old tyres is a bit skewed when it comes to this comparison.

Thanks for the writeup though. The SPT is a decent tyre still.

Thanks, I'm not comparing new to old, the Toyos were new at some point right?

Big Z

Postby Big Z » January 25th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Cool stuff!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 26th, 2014, 9:25 am

running Falken fk452 for two weeks now, purchased at tyre clinic montrose for 750 per tyre(215/40/16).These are great so far, good traction, and the treads are the deepest I've seen on any tyre. They are quiet so far, and the braking performance is exceptional.