Postby X_Factor » August 4th, 2012, 7:28 pm

found some michelin pilot exalto A/S 195/50/15 they wanted 800 for 1
which is a give away price!!
its a tire shop on aranguez main road

ryandtrini

Re: tyres

Postby ryandtrini » August 6th, 2012, 8:00 pm

what allyuh think bout hercules tyres for my car??

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 7th, 2012, 12:42 am

I think you can probably do better for the price is what

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » August 7th, 2012, 8:13 am

hercules = bleh

imo that same money could be spent wiser.

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2012, 12:40 pm

so allyuh eh find 800 for ah michelin pilot exalto is really good?
studyin to buy a pair and keep them for next yr when i will need tires

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » August 7th, 2012, 1:07 pm

considering that they sell for $116 US on tire rack, then yes $800 is a pretty decent price. never liked the idea of putting down tires for storage though.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 7th, 2012, 1:33 pm

They'll probably be stored somewhere anyway.
And why do you want All season tires in Trini anyway?

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2012, 4:01 pm

even though its all season, its alot better than the average tire you get for about 200.00 more

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 7th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Well all season would have the advantage of actually lasting longer on our roads (generally speaking) than the equivalent summer tyre with not much tradeoff.. Not to mention it will probably be quite proficient at clearing standing water

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Guys I'm considering a set of Kumho Ecstas from tirerack.. To the people in the thread who have bought from them already, how did you ship them in? Air freight/ skybox, sea freight? I'm guessing sea freight woul be cheapest?

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2012, 9:53 pm

which size?
did u call L&G?

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2012, 10:17 pm

^^ thanks for responding dude

195 50 15
No I have not checked L & DG or any other places yet. I thought it would have been easier to have an estimate of the tirerack tires before checking the local shops so I would know for sure where the best deal is and make a quick decision.
They would be used for normal everyday and sometimes spirited driving. I plan to check Ramrattan's in Vistabella as well. Any suggestions for other shops in South? The most I would be able to spend is $500-600/ tire.
I apologize for my noobness, as this is my first time buying new tires.

These are the tirerack Kumhos btw:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Kumho&tireModel=Ecsta+AST&partnum=95HR5EAST&vehicleSearch=false&fromCompare1=yes

cheers

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 7th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Question... If you were going to order Kumho from tirerack why would you order one of the abolsutely worst models they have for sale.. The logic escapes me..
Just because its cheap is no reason to order less than average tyres..
First thing, you unlikely to find anything worthwhile in that size.. 205/55/15 or 195/55/15 will probably serve you much better..
Secondly look around locally first.. If you are considering all the trouble of ordering from away you better order some amazing tyres, nothing so mediocre..

L&DG south, Mileage Mack and Ramrattan for kumho

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2012, 11:22 pm

he can also give ACL a call,they would have goodyear
mileage mack for toyo proxies
and the hankook centers they had the ventus V4's but i cant remember the price

but for that price range, there isnt much room to get a decent tire unless ur lucky to be in the right place at the right time

if u can maybe hold out till u get paid (if ur working) and see if u could put out ah 7-800 for a tire,it would be beneficial in the long run....
you can settle for Dunlop DZ101, which imo is still the best you can get for the price

whats allyuh thoughts on buying upper middle-high end f.used tires (recent YOM) VS shiddy new tires?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 8th, 2012, 7:30 am

195/45/ZR16 goodyear DUCARRO.(spelling,will check it when i get home)

where sells these? thanks..

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 8th, 2012, 8:45 am

CD4Accord, I wasn't aware that that Kumho was such a terrible model because the reviews were not bad, but thanks for the heads up! I will check the places you suggested, not just for Kumho but others as well.

X_Factor I am working :oops: part time because I'm an undergrad so $600 is the most I can put out. I will check Hankook by Cross Crossing and MM as well. Where is ACL though?
Also, I remember reading quite a bit of horror reviews Of the DZ101 some time ago in this thread, is that still the case with that tyre?

Postby Dave » August 8th, 2012, 9:03 am

Flying in tyres will always be expensive unless you have someone to "handle" you
Basically the justification for buying online is that you are getting something a million times better than what is available locally
tirerack has great service and selection but not always the best prices and many other tyre stores have price matching which can work out to your advantage.

Postby X_Factor » August 8th, 2012, 11:14 am

well i've used the DZ101 and my thoughts was dont expect a 800$ tire performance from a 500.00 tire performance and it worked well for me as a daily driver tire

I saw some decent reviews on the Maxxis tires so u could look into that as well and i think a 15" might be around the 600 range?

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 8th, 2012, 1:07 pm

Dave wrote:many other tyre stores have price matching which can work out to your advantage.

would you mind posting some of the stores' names?

X_Factor wrote:I saw some decent reviews on the Maxxis tires so u could look into that as well and i think a 15" might be around the 600 range?

I saw some Maxxis for sale at a shop in Sando so I'll check them out. Thanks

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » August 8th, 2012, 3:29 pm

Maxxis Z4S Victras $550 for 205/55/16 from the Maxxis distributor in Penal.

Only issue though is you have to go somewhere else for installation

Postby Dave » August 8th, 2012, 3:35 pm

i like discounttiredirect, treaddepot, onlinetires and off course tirerack

dealt with all except online
fav is discount

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 8th, 2012, 9:50 pm

Onlinetires has pathetic customer service but great prices.. They once shipped 3 225/50/17 Continental Extreme Contact DWS for me and one 245/45/17
It took them literally 6 weeks to process the return and send me the correct thing...

DTD has great customer service and will never hesitate to pricematch.. Also has great free shipping

Tirerack mostly just good for advice or if you get something on clearance.. It may look cheap but shipping usually kills the fun as compared to other sites..

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 8th, 2012, 10:11 pm

L&DG & Mileage Mack have the Kumho KU31 for $559 and $550 respectively. The Hankook place by Cross Crossing has the Optimo H724 for about $730, can't remember the exact price and this does not include installation and balancing. All 195/50/15

Still have to check A.M. Marketing, Ramrattan's, Rons and a few other small shops.
BTW anybody ever had dealings with Jack's on Cipero Street? How are their prices?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » August 9th, 2012, 12:10 am

Check federal on cipero street man..and MasterServ/ACL opposite Eat It. (they are the same company)...Gasparillo have some good small tyre shops..before u reach the gasparillo junction (coming from marabella side), on the right side..went there once..saw alot of decent tyres

Postby Morpheus » August 9th, 2012, 1:20 am

Also, I remember reading quite a bit of horror reviews Of the DZ101 some time ago in this thread, is that still the case with that tyre?

^Don't waste your money. I replaced my 2 front DZ101 with just under 50% life left. They were terrible in the wet at 90%, far less for 50% :roll:

Get something better IMO. I've had cheapos (Triangle, Accelera) handle wet roads better. :?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 9th, 2012, 10:02 am

NR8... Hands down go with the KU31 from mileage mack.. It will serve your purposes quite well and they will do a great job on install and alignment..

Personally, don't even waste your time looking elsewhere when what you need is right there at a very very good price..

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 19th, 2012, 10:56 am

fellas I have a question:

I need to change tyres soon. The stock size is 195/65/14

One shop I called didn't have that size, they had 195/60/14 I think.

My question is, what is a safe range of tyre sizes I can use on my car? it's an NZE corolla..

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 19th, 2012, 5:58 pm

u cud there man, u cud try with stock 14's, 195/50-65/14 shud be preferable... lower the series, harsher d ride and more fender space with original rims

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 19th, 2012, 7:36 pm

u good with 195/60/14.....

the 65 series are a bit too tall IMPOV......

u should really go with 205/60/14.....wider tyres....nicer look......

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2012, 8:06 pm

my mom's car had the same 195/65/14
and i changed them to the 195/60/14 recently
no noticeable difference while driving