ROLL CAGES

4G63Turbo

ROLL CAGES

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 7th, 2004, 4:23 pm

guys, any of you running roll cages on the road???

does the law make special reference to them or is it ok
for anyone to have?

why I'm asking,
I know some cages have pieces running in the doorway and thought that might be of concern to the officers. hope I'm wrong.
Last edited by 4G63Turbo on July 7th, 2004, 4:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 7th, 2004, 4:25 pm

jed that sig real big!

ahmm they shouldn't give u any hassle ...but u never know eh

Postby X2 » July 7th, 2004, 5:48 pm

is trinidad... do it an find out nah !

bunny

Postby bunny » July 8th, 2004, 12:12 am

i now install one in the skyline.....wah? dey go harass yuh for being more safe? :evil: :evil:

Mini

Postby Mini » July 8th, 2004, 8:06 am

years ago when a member of the raly club sold his car with the cage to a buyer whose intention was to put the car back on the street... the insurance company said they not insuring the car with the cage.

he eventually took it out.

But as for the police... I honestly can't say

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 8th, 2004, 9:57 am

bunny wrote:i now install one in the skyline.....wah? dey go harass yuh for being more safe? :evil: :evil:

yeah jed and i must say it looks damn good...how much it cost?

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 8th, 2004, 9:58 am

bunny wrote:i now install one in the skyline.....wah? dey go harass yuh for being more safe? :evil: :evil:

do you have any pics???
what material did you opt for???

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 8th, 2004, 10:26 am

bunny skyline does look rel deadly jed...wish i had one

ziig

Postby ziig » July 8th, 2004, 10:53 am

make sure you pad the area by your head real good , because a roll cage can harm you more that help you if your bare head hit it ok........as fro the law i drove a escort with full roll cage for years in trini never had a ny problems..........and in ohio i had a rx7 with full roll cage on the street and cops used to admire it..hehe....they even ask me where i used to go run...............

Postby wagon r » July 8th, 2004, 1:21 pm

i wouldn't mind one esp. with de arsehole drivers we have.....but i can't say function over form in de wagon....maybe if i had a hatch..

Mini

Postby Mini » July 8th, 2004, 2:19 pm

wagon r wrote:i wouldn't mind one esp. with de arsehole drivers we have.....but i can't say function over form in de wagon....maybe if i had a hatch..

Just do a half cage in front. From the B pillar foward.

4 point business.... i.e. base of the B pillars and base of a pillar near the firewall... the trouble is to go through the dash. You eh bound for door bars... all you need is rollover protection.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 8th, 2004, 2:27 pm

^was thinking the same thing just dont want to cut the darn dash

neckto

Postby neckto » July 8th, 2004, 2:34 pm

what's a rool cage?

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 8th, 2004, 2:36 pm

yu don't need to go thru the dash.
just make a bend before the dashboard and go down.
saw this on a few foreign lancers that were used for rally.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 8th, 2004, 2:37 pm

roll cage is used for structural rigidity as well as protection should the car flip or as we trinis tend to have a "accicrash" :lol:

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 8th, 2004, 2:42 pm

no liscencing officers on the forum?????
I would like to include the side bars also but won't if it means trouble.
wonder if I could make it removable.

X2Board

Postby X2Board » July 8th, 2004, 2:43 pm

as Ziig said, it's dangerous to drive an unpadded roll cage without a helmet.

i've been driving my mini with a cage in it for years & i've been stopped by police & license officers & nobody ever had a problem with it......except them ricers who see it & pull up lookin for a race .. got tired of wasting my mini fumes on them so i painted it flat black.
it doh show no more unless u lookin for it

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 8th, 2004, 2:46 pm

^^an it looks damn good too....

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 8th, 2004, 2:46 pm

X2board yu diz be in claxton bay an ah evening???

X2Board

Postby X2Board » July 8th, 2004, 2:56 pm

4G63Turbo wrote:X2board yu diz be in claxton bay an ah evening???

nah .. u thinking bout the fella with the yellow mini with a cage ent?
i used to be there a coupla years ago when i used to work down south but thas about 2 yrs ago 8)

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 8th, 2004, 3:06 pm

u serious?

but mini whut kind of car?.....how can they not insure the car if it is made saffer ...that makin no sense

Postby wagon r » July 8th, 2004, 3:11 pm

^^ boy some of the policies insurance companies adopt make no sense and i work in one......

X2Board

Postby X2Board » July 8th, 2004, 3:14 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:u serious?

but mini whut kind of car?.....how can they not insure the car if it is made saffer ...that makin no sense

it was a b12

hon-da-man

Postby hon-da-man » July 8th, 2004, 5:26 pm

so fellas, who installs roll cages and whats the average price for one installed? if u can give contact no. to the person who builds and installs them. that would be great

Postby wagon r » July 8th, 2004, 6:53 pm

^^ lifewear muffler shop makes roll cages. they're in the phonebook. ask for rocky.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 8th, 2004, 6:59 pm

ther is the due in the bambo who i checked he does cages ..on race cars...hmm maybe trac or ziig can give u directions...i can findit but i cant tel u :oops: ..SHORT term memory sorry

Postby X2 » July 8th, 2004, 7:10 pm

Actually it's quite dangerous to run a roll cage in a street car... padded or not.

The fact of the matter is that the padding will not protect you at all in an accident fellas. If your head hits those bars at a rate... you will be in for a world of hurt and very possibly die.

Not trying to be a pessimist here, but roll cages are meant for cars driven by someone wearing a helmet and PARTICULARLY for cars with 4 or 5 point harnesses installed (racing seat belts) These harnesses restrict body movement in the even of a collision. The downside ? racing harnesses are not the best option for a safe street car ... :lol:

Either way, I'd cage my shift... it looks baaad and give you chassis rigidity up the whazoo ! :mrgreen:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » July 8th, 2004, 7:19 pm

^^lol so u cant wear a helmet on the street...hahahahah?...think bout it u pull up in the civic next to one of them big cars an u have on a full face helmet....lol...hahahahahah...both hands on the wheels with drivin gloves on....aaaahahahhahaha...that go be reall kicks...lol

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 8th, 2004, 7:53 pm

^^LOL I NOW TINKING ABOUT DOING THAT!! people go say, mad man racer........GO SPEEDRACER, go!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

Postby wagon r » July 9th, 2004, 8:47 am

^^^hahahahahahaha i goh cry laughin if i see dat......but i just crazy enough to try it though.....