HOOKING UP A TACHOMETER IN AN AD WAGON

^^!SPAWN!^^

HOOKING UP A TACHOMETER IN AN AD WAGON

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 9:44 am

Yo guys , need some advice on hooking up a tachometer in my AD Wagon , as you know it doesn't have the RPM gauge on the dash , I was planning to buy a tach but a guy said that I have to buy an adapter which costs around 600 , is that true ? the engine is the QG13DE .

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 9:53 am

you can get the signal from the ecu

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 9:55 am

Serious megadoc ? so why the man tell me I have to get an adapter to work with it then?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 9:56 am

cus he dont know let me go look for it

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 9:58 am

Boy hear what happen , mih padna GAVE me a tach , yes GAVE me , I carry it by the guy , when he see the tach he say na can't work need an adapter especially for my engine type seeing as mine doesn't carry the coil .

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 10:03 am

pin 32 on the ecu is your signal
some need a lil circuit to work i'll have to look for it
good luck
have fun

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 10:06 am

Ok thanks bro ...

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 26th, 2008, 11:02 am

ey how yuh cud jus tell the man a pin number an not show him the diagram..take care he splice the wrong wire.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 26th, 2008, 11:17 am

i have to hear d outcome ah dis one...

RedfireB15

Postby RedfireB15 » July 26th, 2008, 4:08 pm

I have the same Problem with the 2004 B15 Tach it looks like no one knows how to install it. :?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 26th, 2008, 4:15 pm

you jus get the signal fr the ecu an splice the wire an test it to see if it workin gud, then hook up the park lights an stuff an well yuh install in location an boom.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 5:18 pm

BOOM ? I HOPE IS A GOOD BOOM AND NOT A BAD BOOM EH ...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 6:20 pm

turbohead wrote:ey how yuh cud jus tell the man a pin number an not show him the diagram..take care he splice the wrong wire.

sorry sir but someone posted it here already

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/arc ... 326_20.htm
flatline wrote:qg18 ecu is the same pinout as the qg15 qg16 it seems

from the qg18de FSM:

most of the times its a blue wire with an orange stripe

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 26th, 2008, 9:10 pm

yeh spawn is a gud boom not the boom on the forums.... :lol:

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 26th, 2008, 9:17 pm

:D :D :D

eitech

Postby eitech » July 26th, 2008, 9:21 pm

well jus a lil tip, i happen to pull out my ecu and trust me when i say that there is NO BLUE WIRE WITH ORANGE STRIPE..ppl usin dat manual please be wary. I know the engines are very similar..infact some of the wiring is identical in terms of their colour code. ur better off using a tach adapter..and if my memory serves me correct, pin 32 on the b15 ecu is blank..i checked it...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 9:26 pm

when you say blank what do you mean

eitech

Postby eitech » July 26th, 2008, 9:49 pm

blank meanin no wire at dat point. let me explain: the qg18de is for a more luxurious vehicle. havin said that, such a car will have more features installed than say a car with qg15de..the manual is a gr8 guide for referencin. stuff that is common will have the exact color code..trust me, i have hooked up a few stuff. i have counted the ecu terminals on a b15 and it has less than that shown in d diagram above simply because the qg18de ecu has more features added than the qg15de..understand?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 26th, 2008, 10:09 pm

man listen to me the diagram shown above is what i use because i could not upload
mine for the qg13 an they are all the same for that year
the pin 32 i speak about is the tach signal output from the ecu if yours dont
have a wire it is because you dont have a tach on the dash but if you take that same ecu
and put it in a car that have a tach it will work because the pin is there
now most of the time this signal need to be biased before it works on an external tach
sometime you are lucky

but the part where you got less terminals between the qg15 and the one shown above
all i can say is if there is a difference post it up and show me

or take your time and check again

eitech

Postby eitech » July 26th, 2008, 10:21 pm

i doh have no pics to show..i took down my ecu and check. anyways, i made my contribution. already have my tach workin. spawn..best of luck. been there, done that..i really wanna now what u eventually did though.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 27th, 2008, 6:35 am

megadoc1.

Of course you're aware that the 2003+ QG15/16 etc have a DIFFERENT pinout to what you posted, as these cars carry the 'E-throttle' setup?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 27th, 2008, 11:02 am

the car we are dealing with is qg13 and it is not e throttle

RedfireB15

Postby RedfireB15 » July 27th, 2008, 6:21 pm

I just checked my ECU and the cable that comes out of PIN 32 is green with a black strip

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 27th, 2008, 6:43 pm

I'm well aware of that, but IIRC there were "other" posters in this thread also looking to put this tach in a 2003 B15....no?

Hence my post ;)

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 27th, 2008, 7:54 pm

Uhh megadoc my wagon is E Throttle ...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 27th, 2008, 8:30 pm

Knight1 wrote:

I'm well aware of that, but IIRC there were "other" posters in this thread also looking to put this tach in a 2003 B15....no?

Hence my post ;)
sorry sir i understand and i just found out i made a terrible mistake please forgive me

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote:Uhh megadoc my wagon is E Throttle ...
what
lord i based on our past post i swear you car was the normal model
now this means the info given cant work for you i am very sorry
your only choice for now is the converter i think i mistook your post for someone else
eitech,if yours is of this model please forgive me

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 27th, 2008, 8:33 pm

Nah megadoc you have nothing to apologize for , thaz small thing ... we cool like that ..

eitech

Postby eitech » July 27th, 2008, 10:41 pm

WDH...and here i tort it was normal ting as well...lol. anyway folks, we all here to learn..no hard feelings...amm, well spawn, i doh have no e-throttle diagrams and i not in a position to say whether or not that ecu has a tach signal...but i can say definitely a tach adapter will work...may set u back bout $500.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 28th, 2008, 6:07 am

i doh have no e-throttle diagrams and i not in a position to say whether or not that ecu has a tach signal...but i can say definitely a tach adapter will work...may set u back bout $500.

8-)

Knight1 wrote:
Quote:

Hence my post
sorry sir i understand and i just found out i made a terrible mistake please forgive me

For me, an abuse of sarcasm, is worse than none at all :lol: .

RedfireB15

Postby RedfireB15 » July 28th, 2008, 1:05 pm

I have the nissan sentra b15 service manual if yuou like i could mail it to you guys. its the one that the service shop has with part number and tech info.