Duralube vs Lube gard Transmission treatments

larafan

Duralube vs Lube gard Transmission treatments

Postby larafan » January 27th, 2007, 11:15 pm

thoughts....

changed transmission oil today....and the transmission man say....duralube is a waste of time....use the lube guard...

wuh allyuh say?...

forget price..they cost the same....
Last edited by larafan on January 28th, 2007, 1:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 28th, 2007, 12:55 am

sorry 2 ask...how much do they cost?? and when u say transmission treatment kinda ting...u mean both automatic and manual??

sorry i jus asking cause i never really used or heard about tranny treatment ...

larafan

Postby larafan » January 28th, 2007, 1:23 am

jasonsjohn16,

the ones i'm asking about cost between 90-100 dollars...

http://www.lubegard.com/automotive/index_trans.html

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 28th, 2007, 1:31 am

hmm okay cool..well price wuda help uh decide buh u say they cost around the same..it looks decent..i will have 2 invest in this for sure when i put in meh next engine next month....

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » January 28th, 2007, 8:01 am

Use all Redline oils and fluids or Mutol products... they take the jamin' a scooby or Evo put on them without the use of additives like duralube and the like...

not that they eh good but it is your choice in the end ay... 8)

Postby X_Factor » January 28th, 2007, 8:54 am

changed transmission oil today

u pumped out all the oil? or jus allowed it to drain and add back the 4quarts or so? how is the tranny responding now?..what kinda car?

i think there are two types of Lubeguard...ah black bottle and ah red bottle..

larafan

Postby larafan » January 28th, 2007, 12:31 pm

i think there are two types of Lubeguard...

boy..they had about 4 or 5 different lube gards for diff applications....look them all on the site....

the tranny wasn't giving any problems...its just..in the 5 years or so we've had the car...the transmission oil was never changed.....so i figure...why wait till it start giving trouble?....its a GA15 transmission....

i just let it drain out...and...the car driving like it always has been driving....with no problems....so...

*shrugs*

JWT

Postby JWT » January 28th, 2007, 9:27 pm

pallo just use any ATF+3 tranny fluid and you good and change it every 40,000
that is what toyota recommends

venum

Postby venum » January 28th, 2007, 11:22 pm

larafan wrote:in the 5 years or so we've had the car...the transmission oil was never changed.....so i figure...why wait till it start giving trouble?....its a GA15 transmission....

WHAAAAAA :!:

5 years b4 you change the fluid?

what kinda mileage you put on that tranny dread?

5 years is long to wait to change the fluid unless it didn't pass the 30,000km recomended change interval in that 5 years

you should have changed all the oil, not just drain and refill

if the car passed significantly more than 30,000km then there would be seriously degraded old oil in there mixing with the new oil.

what you can also do, is put ~ 5000km on the new fluid and change again

Lubeguard additives\treatments are for trannies that are acting up e.g slipping.

I did a lil research on this when i was going to change the fluid in teh CK tranny last year

tranny fellas at Chag Auto Supplies was telling me that it would be good for the tranny if the fluid was not changed regularly or was a long time since the last change,

but since I usually change fluid on time I didn't bother

it is supposed to work wonders on Honda transmissions

if your fluid change was long overdue, then you may want to consider it

or you can just change after ~ 5000 km and be GTG once it working well

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 29th, 2007, 12:22 am

question..so if your clutch burn out or your tranny slippin..and u put this lubeguard ting..wud it like grip and not slip???

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2007, 8:10 am

lubeguard is what most tranny repair men recomment
there is one for prevention and one for quick fixes

larafan

Postby larafan » January 29th, 2007, 9:01 am

JWT,

it look like i does drive ah toyota?

venum,

and allyuh does want to say nissan is not good ting???

so long with out oil change and no problems what so ever :mrgreen:

and one time.....about de same 5 years....lol...axel seal changed..and i beleive the then mechanic used NP transmission fluid....

and allyuh say NP is not good ting... :mrgreen:

(mind u NP transmission fluid is probably the best thing NP does make.. :lol: )

ziig

lube guard

Postby ziig » January 29th, 2007, 9:19 am

jasonsjohn16 wrote:question..so if your clutch burn out or your tranny slippin..and u put this lubeguard ting..wud it like grip and not slip???

Thats a good one.....its a chemical for protection against HEAT not a magic potion....... :lol:

LUBE GUARD is the best of the 2 I think as it drastically reduces heat.../...atypical trans will produce about 195 degrees F at normal operating , 220 - 240 is danger for the tranny, with the LUBE GUARD it is drastically reduced to a safe and effiecent..175 degrees F at normal and heavy laoding....

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2007, 10:01 am

all of laro's straight 6 crew and even the v8 uses np tranny oil eh and those are 13secs and faster machines

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 29th, 2007, 10:18 am

^^Auto tranny in a 13 sec car??... :shock:

Postby Dave » January 29th, 2007, 10:32 am

yup, all the way up to 11's
but wha the arse, mine is a 14's and it auto :wink:
well get this, they also use ultra 20w-50 and none has even had an oil related breakdown

ziig

huh

Postby ziig » January 29th, 2007, 12:27 pm

Rudman wrote:^^Auto tranny in a 13 sec car??... :shock:

so what you thing TOP FUEL cars run? and other big engine low second cars? they run 2 spped auto and 3 speed auto...........some run fancy liberty and lenco but is auto just manual shift...

venum

Postby venum » January 29th, 2007, 9:26 pm

jasonsjohn16 wrote:question..so if your clutch burn out or your tranny slippin..and u put this lubeguard ting..wud it like grip and not slip???

dunno bout the clutch part, i believe not

but as far as the tranny part is concerned, i read on a website where the addition of lubeguard on some honda trannies did cause a slipping tranny to engage

the site was recommending Lubeguard based on this

Postby equipped2ripp » January 29th, 2007, 9:49 pm

once yuh clutch slipping, i don't think any liquid would help :lol:

Postby Dave » January 30th, 2007, 8:17 am

^^ wynn's transgrip would carry u far

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 30th, 2007, 9:48 am

hmm it have fluid for almost everyting yes.

JWT

Postby JWT » January 30th, 2007, 11:13 am

larafan wrote:JWT,

it look like i does drive ah toyota?

venum,

and allyuh does want to say nissan is not good ting???

so long with out oil change and no problems what so ever :mrgreen:

and one time.....about de same 5 years....lol...axel seal changed..and i beleive the then mechanic used NP transmission fluid....

and allyuh say NP is not good ting... :mrgreen:

(mind u NP transmission fluid is probably the best thing NP does make.. :lol: )

lalbeharry just use that as a guide line
change the fluid often and you easy
8-)

ziig

Postby ziig » January 30th, 2007, 9:08 pm

hey listen I raced ULTRA in a 10000 rpm mazda for a few yrs..it was perfect never had any unnatural wear, the NP products are great............but oil changes are supposed to be regular and often no matter what brand you use

Rx

Postby Rx » January 30th, 2007, 9:16 pm

i change tranny oil every 8 - 9 months :)

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 31st, 2007, 1:24 am

hmm well i hadda start doing that...wha bout gearbox..u shud change that how often??

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » January 31st, 2007, 8:50 am

time for tranny change :( bro.... when it slippin' in goin'...no magic potion lubes for that...time to see your tranny mech

ziig

Postby ziig » January 31st, 2007, 10:17 am

tranny oil should be changed often too, as a matter of fact a manual takes more abuse as there are brass washer that if they wear leave silt of bras in the oil and also when they get smooth cause the syncro to hydroplane and miss or grind gears....so depending on your usage change your oils regularly...........i would say about every 30000 mile or so

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 31st, 2007, 4:54 pm

jasonsjohn16 wrote:hmm well i hadda start doing that...wha bout gearbox..u shud change that how often??

I think Neal & Massey's service schedule calls for replacing the gear box oil every 30,000 km. At least that what was they used to do with my Hyundai.

Postby X_Factor » January 31st, 2007, 5:13 pm

allyuh but when u say 30k intervals...would driving habbits not come into play?
either tranny or box...
cause if u drive hard and push ur car wont the parts and oil be under more stress whn compared to an avg. driver?...so it may even make sence to change a bit sooner?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 31st, 2007, 5:33 pm

Okay. Let me put it this way. After 340,000 km of driving over a period of 10 years and changing the gear box oil every 30,000 km, that is 11 gear box oil changes in all, I NEVER had any reason to open the gear box to do any work at all. I used to use Shell Spirax 75W/80 gear box oil. I never added any treatment to the gear box oil. BTW, the car was bought from new and I was basically the only driver.